Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Replacing Crank Sensor on '95 Jetta MK3

1. 12-29-2010 07:00 PM #1
      So there seems to be like 20 half finished threads on this particular topic. Some of them show guys removing the whole front end of the car and others just say "loosen the front motor mount and jack the motor up"

I'm in the middle of this project right now, I've got the motor up on a jack by the oil pan, removed the 17mm from the mount, and every other bolt on the thing except the bottom starter bolt which seems to have the nut welded to it? no amount of adjusting the jack is allowing the bracket to move at all in relation to the sensor I'm trying to uncover, and that last bolt is NOT coming loose. Can someone give a step by step on this? I know it's a simple job but I'm totally new to the MK3 and somewhat limited on tools, what's the stupid little thing that I'm missing here?

This is on a 2.0 btw
      Last edited by Vdubpusher; 12-29-2010 at 07:01 PM. Reason: to specify motor

2. Member
      Vehicles
      '74 Bug (yard), '96 Jetta 255K (yard), '02 Cabrio 104K (yard), '06 Rabbit 107K BGP, '08 Jetta 30K
      12-29-2010 11:50 PM #2
      Quote Originally Posted by Vdubpusher View Post
      So there seems to be like 20 half finished threads on this particular topic. Some of them show guys removing the whole front end of the car and others just say "loosen the front motor mount and jack the motor up"