Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

The Car Lounge

Thread: Dealer charging to update my car's software? WTF

Vehicles
      2002.5 VW Jetta GLS 1.8T
      01-10-2011 11:48 PM #1
      I'm not an expert on this, but it just seems absurd to me.

Over the past month my mom's Jeep Grand Cherokee has been experiencing an intermittent CEL. The second time it came on, I went down to Auto Zone to get it checked out and it showed it was throwing a p0155 code, which is for one of the oxygen sensors. After talking with the guy at Auto Zone and doing a little research, I've found that there is a service bulletin that covers this. According to the service bulletin, this problem is common on her MY (2004) and she just needs new software put on her engine computer.

So this is my beef, which I may or may not be right about, but since this is TCL, of course I'm going to ask for your opinions.

The dealer wants to charge me one hour of labor to hook their computer up and put this new software on her car, which seems absurd to me. First off, I'm sure the entire procedure takes 15 minutes or less, and second, I would think Jeep would be at fault (since it's their faulty software) and should update it for free!

So TCL, am I in the right to be upset with the dealer? Are they trying to screw me over? Maybe someone knows of a cool Jeep dealer in the central NJ area that wouldn't mind helping me out?

Oh, and here is a text copy of what the service bulletin reads:

Bulletin Number: 14 Bulletin Date: 20040401 Category: 103100 POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:CONTROL MODULE (TCM, PCM)
      Summary: THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE (PCM) MAY HAVE BEEN PROGRAMMED WITH SOFTWARE THAT CAN CAUSE THE ON-BOARD DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEM TO MALFUNCTION. EMISSION RECALL NO. D14. *TT

And of course, rule #1 (not hers but what it looks like):

2. 01-10-2011 11:51 PM #2