Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 345678910 LastLast
    Results 151 to 175 of 230

    Thread: Flapper Switch DIY...nailed it

    1. Member wichoz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 14th, 2011
      Location
      Dominican Republic
      Posts
      640
      Vehicles
      R32 MKV 1432/5000
      10-16-2011 10:38 AM #151
      add me

    2. Member edocdog's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 17th, 2010
      Location
      FL, TPA
      Posts
      1,098
      Vehicles
      97 2.0 GTI, 90/Corrado G60 w/VR6 sold- current R32 08' #1112/Corrado 93 2.9L
      10-17-2011 03:05 PM #152
      Great DIY.

      Count me in. Thanks.

    3. 12-04-2011 01:22 AM #153
      Any word on these Kits?

      I would like to have one too

    4. Member -2000VWGOLF1.8T-'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 20th, 2011
      Location
      Western,MA
      Posts
      223
      Vehicles
      2000 Vw Golf 1.8t(Sold), TR bagged 08 R32 #2147(sold), 00 A4 Avant(R.I.P).....Dont know whats next.
      12-04-2011 09:29 AM #154
      Nice tutorial will come in handy in the future.

    5. Member
      Join Date
      May 18th, 2003
      Location
      Buffalo, NY
      Posts
      4,163
      12-04-2011 11:37 AM #155
      Quote Originally Posted by Stylist07 View Post
      Any word on these Kits?

      I would like to have one too
      Getting the switches and custom relays is pretty much dead in the water. Carstyle4you will not email me back. I've sent numerous emails over the last few months with no word back from the guy.

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 7th, 2008
      Location
      San Mateo, CA
      Posts
      1,418
      Vehicles
      2012 VW Golf-R - CW - 4 Door
      02-17-2012 06:36 PM #156
      Rdurty,

      As I am planning on returning to stock exhaust, I am considering a flapper mod. I do have a few questions about things I read in this thread:

      1- What is this TampaVW mod everyone talks about?
      2- Why can we not use an OEM switch instead of the custom built switch?
      3- Can the two way switch be wired to Stock/Always Open, or does it have to be Always Open/Always Closed?

      Thanks for your hard work on this topic!

    7. Member wichoz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 14th, 2011
      Location
      Dominican Republic
      Posts
      640
      Vehicles
      R32 MKV 1432/5000
      02-17-2012 06:57 PM #157
      I wish someone make a tutorial video showing how to install the flapper mod
      1432/5000

    8. Member Mr_Peach's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 18th, 2007
      Location
      Woodinville, WA
      Posts
      4,048
      Vehicles
      2008 VW R32 :: 2000 MBZ ML55 AMG :: 2006 Mini Cooper S :: 2003 Aprilia Atlantic 500 :: Yam. Morphous
      02-17-2012 07:06 PM #158
      Quote Originally Posted by LoyalSage View Post
      1- What is this TampaVW mod everyone talks about?
      'TampaVW' is a user name. The mod in question should give it up in a search, but here's the gist of it:

      • remove stock resonator
      • replace with Magnaflow 12" resonator
      • remove the Magnaflow 12" resonator, cut 6" out of the middle of it, weld it all back together and re-install
      • circle the car with a dead chicken.....



      For reasons I've never got to the bottom of, you're not supposed to start with a Magnaflow 6" resonator....
      "If the car feels like it's on rails, you are probably driving too slowly." - Ross Bentley, Ultimate Speed Secrets

    9. Member Mr_Peach's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 18th, 2007
      Location
      Woodinville, WA
      Posts
      4,048
      Vehicles
      2008 VW R32 :: 2000 MBZ ML55 AMG :: 2006 Mini Cooper S :: 2003 Aprilia Atlantic 500 :: Yam. Morphous
      02-17-2012 07:09 PM #159
      Quote Originally Posted by wichoz View Post
      I wish someone make a tutorial video showing how to install the flapper mod
      Basic flapper mod isn't really even video worthy.

      • start with a 'cold' car
      • lay under car, look up at where exhaust tips meet muffler
      • ease the 1/4" pneumatic hose off of the pneumatic servo that's attached to the right tip/pipe.
      • put an appropriate sized screw in the loose hose end



      that's it.
      "If the car feels like it's on rails, you are probably driving too slowly." - Ross Bentley, Ultimate Speed Secrets

    10. Member wichoz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 14th, 2011
      Location
      Dominican Republic
      Posts
      640
      Vehicles
      R32 MKV 1432/5000
      02-17-2012 07:40 PM #160
      Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Peach View Post
      Basic flapper mod isn't really even video worthy.

      • start with a 'cold' car
      • lay under car, look up at where exhaust tips meet muffler
      • ease the 1/4" pneumatic hose off of the pneumatic servo that's attached to the right tip/pipe.
      • put an appropriate sized screw in the loose hose end



      that's it.
      Thank you but I like the dificult way :p
      1432/5000

    11. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 7th, 2008
      Location
      San Mateo, CA
      Posts
      1,418
      Vehicles
      2012 VW Golf-R - CW - 4 Door
      02-17-2012 08:12 PM #161
      Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Peach View Post
      Basic flapper mod isn't really even video worthy.

      • start with a 'cold' car
      • lay under car, look up at where exhaust tips meet muffler
      • ease the 1/4" pneumatic hose off of the pneumatic servo that's attached to the right tip/pipe.
      • put an appropriate sized screw in the loose hose end



      that's it.
      Mr. Peach,

      So by detaching hose from the flapper and plugging up the hose the flapper is in an always OPEN position?

      Also why exactly are we plugging up the vaccum hose? Is that to ensure we are not throwing codes?

    12. Member Mr_Peach's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 18th, 2007
      Location
      Woodinville, WA
      Posts
      4,048
      Vehicles
      2008 VW R32 :: 2000 MBZ ML55 AMG :: 2006 Mini Cooper S :: 2003 Aprilia Atlantic 500 :: Yam. Morphous
      02-17-2012 10:10 PM #162
      Quote Originally Posted by LoyalSage View Post
      Mr. Peach,

      So by detaching hose from the flapper and plugging up the hose the flapper is in an always OPEN position?

      Also why exactly are we plugging up the vaccum hose? Is that to ensure we are not throwing codes?
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...ht=Flapper+mod

      It's open for me. I think I've heard of a few folks whose flapper wasn't open, and needed to be jiggered somehow.

      I plugged it to avoid codes, but it might not be necessary.
      "If the car feels like it's on rails, you are probably driving too slowly." - Ross Bentley, Ultimate Speed Secrets

    13. Member
      Join Date
      May 18th, 2003
      Location
      Buffalo, NY
      Posts
      4,163
      02-18-2012 01:42 PM #163
      You plug the hose so nothing can get into the vacuum line.

      As far as having Stock/Always open vs my current setup of Always Closed/Always Open I have looked into it a bit and it should be doable. I will be redoing the wiring once it warms up. I plan on tearing apart some of the interior paneling and tracing where the wires are going so everything can be wired under the dash instead of running wires into the hatch.

      This won't happen for probably a month or two. When I do that I will research some more how to wire a switch to be Stock Mode/Always Open.

      A custom switch isn't necessary to do this, but a custom relay is. If I can find an electrical engineer to look at the relay maybe it could be easily made by someone with the knowledge.

    14. Member Ripdubski's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 12th, 2004
      Location
      G-Vegas, SC
      Posts
      2,143
      Vehicles
      08 .:R32 DBP, 01 Jetta GLS GB
      02-18-2012 10:17 PM #164
      Quote Originally Posted by Rdurty2 View Post
      You plug the hose so nothing can get into the vacuum line.

      As far as having Stock/Always open vs my current setup of Always Closed/Always Open I have looked into it a bit and it should be doable. I will be redoing the wiring once it warms up. I plan on tearing apart some of the interior paneling and tracing where the wires are going so everything can be wired under the dash instead of running wires into the hatch.

      This won't happen for probably a month or two. When I do that I will research some more how to wire a switch to be Stock Mode/Always Open.

      A custom switch isn't necessary to do this, but a custom relay is. If I can find an electrical engineer to look at the relay maybe it could be easily made by someone with the knowledge.
      Yay. Happen to be ordering the switch at the first of the month.
      Thx!
      Ripdubski
      08 .:R32 DBP, 01 Jetta GLS 2.Slow AutoTragic GB

    15. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 7th, 2008
      Location
      San Mateo, CA
      Posts
      1,418
      Vehicles
      2012 VW Golf-R - CW - 4 Door
      02-18-2012 10:50 PM #165
      Quote Originally Posted by Rdurty2 View Post
      You plug the hose so nothing can get into the vacuum line.

      As far as having Stock/Always open vs my current setup of Always Closed/Always Open I have looked into it a bit and it should be doable. I will be redoing the wiring once it warms up. I plan on tearing apart some of the interior paneling and tracing where the wires are going so everything can be wired under the dash instead of running wires into the hatch.

      This won't happen for probably a month or two. When I do that I will research some more how to wire a switch to be Stock Mode/Always Open.

      A custom switch isn't necessary to do this, but a custom relay is. If I can find an electrical engineer to look at the relay maybe it could be easily made by someone with the knowledge.
      This is fantastic stuff. I will wait patiently and I thank you in advance for such a great contribution to the community.


    16. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 7th, 2011
      Location
      Sweden
      Posts
      22
      Vehicles
      Mk5 R32 2007
      02-19-2012 05:09 PM #166
      Quote Originally Posted by LoyalSage View Post
      As I am planning on returning to stock exhaust, I am considering a flapper mod. I do have a few questions about things I read in this thread:

      3- Can the two way switch be wired to Stock/Always Open, or does it have to be Always Open/Always Closed?
      This can be done easily.
      When control wire to vaccum solenoid is floating, flapper is open, so all you need to do is put a switch between ECU and solenoid.
      When switch is closed, stock behavior.
      When switch is open, flapper is always open.
      You should also add the 1k pullup resistor to avoid triggering error codes.
      (I have not tried without resistor though)

    17. Member Ripdubski's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 12th, 2004
      Location
      G-Vegas, SC
      Posts
      2,143
      Vehicles
      08 .:R32 DBP, 01 Jetta GLS GB
      03-25-2012 04:33 PM #167
      Quote Originally Posted by viggen32x View Post
      This can be done easily.
      When control wire to vaccum solenoid is floating, flapper is open, so all you need to do is put a switch between ECU and solenoid.
      When switch is closed, stock behavior.
      When switch is open, flapper is always open.
      You should also add the 1k pullup resistor to avoid triggering error codes.
      (I have not tried without resistor though)
      Got my switch. Just need the above, stock/always open, in a diagram fashion showing which wires. Anyone?
      Thx!
      Ripdubski
      08 .:R32 DBP, 01 Jetta GLS 2.Slow AutoTragic GB

    18. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 7th, 2011
      Location
      Sweden
      Posts
      22
      Vehicles
      Mk5 R32 2007
      03-26-2012 06:29 AM #168
      Stock/always open flapper mod



      (Created from Rdurty2:s original image, thanks.)

    19. Member
      Join Date
      May 18th, 2003
      Location
      Buffalo, NY
      Posts
      4,163
      03-26-2012 06:48 AM #169
      Quote Originally Posted by viggen32x View Post
      Stock/always open flapper mod



      (Created from Rdurty2:s original image, thanks.)
      That will not give you open/stock operations. It will give you either always closed or always open.

    20. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 7th, 2011
      Location
      Sweden
      Posts
      22
      Vehicles
      Mk5 R32 2007
      03-26-2012 09:23 AM #170
      Quote Originally Posted by Rdurty2 View Post
      That will not give you open/stock operations. It will give you either always closed or always open.
      Please elaborate. How could it become "always closed" with this modification?

    21. Member
      Join Date
      May 18th, 2003
      Location
      Buffalo, NY
      Posts
      4,163
      03-26-2012 10:35 AM #171
      Maybe I interpreted your diagram wrong.

      So you are saying to run a diode from 12v to ecu line and have the switch inline with the ecu line?

      I'm also trying to find out if UM software disables the flapper via ECU because mine with wiring back to stock no longer does anything and is open 100%.

    22. Senior Member abeR's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 13th, 2002
      Location
      Joe's Garage / Chicago
      Posts
      24,448
      Vehicles
      3.2 electric boogaloo bitches
      03-26-2012 10:45 AM #172
      UM tune will leave flapper open
      WITW

    23. Member
      Join Date
      May 18th, 2003
      Location
      Buffalo, NY
      Posts
      4,163
      03-26-2012 10:58 AM #173
      Quote Originally Posted by abeR View Post
      UM tune will leave flapper open
      Yeah just found that out from infiniteecho

      So if you have UM ECU software you CANNOT have a stock setting with a switch. It won't work.

    24. Senior Member abeR's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 13th, 2002
      Location
      Joe's Garage / Chicago
      Posts
      24,448
      Vehicles
      3.2 electric boogaloo bitches
      03-26-2012 10:59 AM #174
      Quote Originally Posted by Rdurty2 View Post
      Yeah just found that out from infiniteecho

      So if you have UM ECU software you CANNOT have a stock setting with a switch. It won't work.
      yep
      WITW

    25. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Oct 7th, 2011
      Location
      Sweden
      Posts
      22
      Vehicles
      Mk5 R32 2007
      03-26-2012 11:42 AM #175
      Quote Originally Posted by Rdurty2 View Post
      Maybe I interpreted your diagram wrong.

      So you are saying to run a diode from 12v to ecu line and have the switch inline with the ecu line?
      No. Perhaps I created confusion by adding the text "12V" on red/blue wire. This was simply to point out that an unmodified R32 has permanent 12V on this wire.

      The fix consists of two parts only:
      1) Put a switch inline on ECU control wire (brown/lilac)
      When switch is open, flapper is disabled/open/loud.
      When switch is closed, control signal is passed through and we get "stock mode"

      2) To avoid throwing error codes when we open switch, connect a 1k resistor from ECU control wire to 12V. The 12V can be taken from anywhere, but the red/blue cable is close and has 12V.

    Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 345678910 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •