Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 2 of 38 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
    Results 26 to 50 of 930

    Thread: The ask a stupid question thread

    1. Geriatric Member absoluteczech's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 12th, 2006
      Location
      The BRO C
      Posts
      38,037
      Vehicles
      2013 VW GTI 2DR DBM
      02-25-2011 12:11 PM #26
      Quote Originally Posted by NUEPIC View Post
      Thank god for this thread, now I can ask, when you guys talk about rolling your fenders I assume you mean the fronts only? because the rears don't have the inner lip that that fronts do.
      I'm sorry
      yup, you can pull the rears slightly though

    2. Member Squirrel Nuts's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 25th, 2010
      Location
      Miami, FL
      Posts
      19,332
      Vehicles
      2015 Autobahn GTI l Bagged 2010 GTI (Totaled) l 2007 GLI (Sold)
      02-25-2011 12:15 PM #27
      What does VW stand for??




    3. Banned .panda.'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 7th, 2007
      Location
      Queens, NY
      Posts
      4,008
      Vehicles
      2011 CW GTI 4-Dr
      02-25-2011 12:25 PM #28
      Quote Originally Posted by oneethree View Post
      What does VW stand for??



      Verizon Wireless.


    4. Member Squirrel Nuts's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 25th, 2010
      Location
      Miami, FL
      Posts
      19,332
      Vehicles
      2015 Autobahn GTI l Bagged 2010 GTI (Totaled) l 2007 GLI (Sold)
      02-25-2011 12:31 PM #29
      Quote Originally Posted by .panda. View Post
      Verizon Wireless.

      Doh.

    5. Banned .panda.'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 7th, 2007
      Location
      Queens, NY
      Posts
      4,008
      Vehicles
      2011 CW GTI 4-Dr
      02-25-2011 01:32 PM #30
      Quote Originally Posted by oneethree View Post
      Doh.
      I had to...

    6. 02-25-2011 01:36 PM #31
      Quote Originally Posted by Aonarch View Post
      No difference. Just make sure that you get the US spec Euroswitch. Weird I know, but it is the one without the auto feature.
      Isn't "US spec Euroswitch" an oxymoron?

    7. Member Squirrel Nuts's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 25th, 2010
      Location
      Miami, FL
      Posts
      19,332
      Vehicles
      2015 Autobahn GTI l Bagged 2010 GTI (Totaled) l 2007 GLI (Sold)
      02-25-2011 01:53 PM #32
      Quote Originally Posted by .panda. View Post
      I had to...

    8. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jan 24th, 2011
      Location
      MD
      Posts
      45
      Vehicles
      2011 GTI Autobahn 2dr DSG in CSG
      02-25-2011 01:54 PM #33
      Here's one i can't seem to find an answer too.

      i have a Motorola Droid and it sync'd with just fine and transfered my phone book with out issues.

      My problem is intermittent. Sometime I can make a call using the phone menu and selecting a contact and other time I can't. When it doesn't work I can still hear the dialing happening, and I see the connection being made, but the person I called or myself can't hear anything. I've tried pushing the mute button to make sure it was the issue. I've turned the volume up on the phone and the RNS-315. Still it doesn't work. Then I'll try to call the same person later that day or the next day and it works fine. I'm stumped and I'm trying to avoid a trip to the dealer if I don't have to make one.

      phone info: Motorola Droid Android ver 2.2.1 kernel ver 2.6.32.9-g68eeef5 (not rooted) build FRG83D

      Car: 2011 GTI Autobahn w/nav rns-315 9w7 bluetooth.

      thanks

    9. Member
      Join Date
      Sep 20th, 2010
      Location
      Austin, TX
      Posts
      231
      Vehicles
      MKVI 2.5
      02-25-2011 02:25 PM #34
      Everyone (it seems) on Vortex talks about lowering, dropping, bagging, etc. etc. etc. in an attempt to get nice and cozy with the ground.

      My stupid question is a two-parter:

      1. Has anyone ever attempted to lift their golf/gti, etc. Esp. an MKVI?

      2. Would I be allowed back to Vortex if I did such a thing?

    10. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 31st, 2001
      Location
      Chambersburg, PA
      Posts
      1,257
      Vehicles
      09 CC (gf's)
      02-25-2011 02:42 PM #35
      Quote Originally Posted by alexkball View Post
      1. Has anyone ever attempted to lift their golf/gti, etc. Esp. an MKVI?
      Yes, lifting is possible. I've seen MKI's, MKII's, and MKIV's lifted. Never a seen a MKV or MKVI done tho.
      "Have you guys SEEN my old lady's pu$$?" --> friend
      "Six"---> Ben G's Build-Up Thread

      Previous VW's: 10 GTI, 81 Caddy 1.6D, 06 GLI (gf's), 98 Jetta TDI, 92 Jetta 1.6TD, 08 R32, 05 GLI, 68 Bug, 02 Jetta TDI, 86 Jetta 1.6TD, 01 GTI

    11. Geriatric Member Aonarch's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 4th, 2006
      Location
      Atlanta, GA
      Posts
      37,391
      02-25-2011 02:44 PM #36
      Quote Originally Posted by alexkball View Post
      Everyone (it seems) on Vortex talks about lowering, dropping, bagging, etc. etc. etc. in an attempt to get nice and cozy with the ground.

      My stupid question is a two-parter:

      1. Has anyone ever attempted to lift their golf/gti, etc. Esp. an MKVI?

      2. Would I be allowed back to Vortex if I did such a thing?
      The question has been asked. I think there is a lift kit for the MKV/MKVI but I can't be sure.
      Butler Tires & Wheels
      HRE | Savini | Lexani | Forgiato | BBS | Rotiform | RBP | Niche | TSW | Lorinser | Fuel | Black Rhino | Dub| Foose | US Mags | American Force | Vossen | Rennen | Beyern | Brambus | OZ | Enkei | Cray | Conventry | Michelin | Pirelli | Toyo | Procomp | H&R | Corsa | Borla | Eibach | Hotchkis | Remus | Akrapovič

    12. Member Squirrel Nuts's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 25th, 2010
      Location
      Miami, FL
      Posts
      19,332
      Vehicles
      2015 Autobahn GTI l Bagged 2010 GTI (Totaled) l 2007 GLI (Sold)
      02-25-2011 02:51 PM #37
      Ok, I can finally use this stupid question thread. What happens if I install this Euroswitch instead of the other one everyone seems to use?? I know the difference is it has the coming home feature but I also notice the auto setting. Does this mean I can switch the DRL's on and off without having to use VAGCOM (they are currently disabled in anticipation of this purchase)? Thanks!


      http://www.ecstuning.com/Volkswagen-...tch/ES1897090/

    13. Member Squirrel Nuts's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 25th, 2010
      Location
      Miami, FL
      Posts
      19,332
      Vehicles
      2015 Autobahn GTI l Bagged 2010 GTI (Totaled) l 2007 GLI (Sold)
      02-25-2011 02:51 PM #38
      Quote Originally Posted by Aonarch View Post
      The question has been asked. I think there is a lift kit for the MKV/MKVI but I can't be sure.
      I think (hope) he was joking.


    14. Member evosky's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 13th, 2010
      Location
      noVA / DE
      Posts
      8,230
      Vehicles
      a van
      02-25-2011 03:01 PM #39
      actually i'd imagine it would be of interest to handicapped folks who need wheelchairs
      twitter x PSN:zerosaint x MUFC x FS: 18" 4x100 TRD Wheels
      Quote Originally Posted by MrSavvy View Post
      I'll break it down for you simple minded people. VWvortex. The VW stands for Volkswagen. And when you create a forum, admins can create sections within the forum. This forum has a section for general car chit-chat. The car lounge. So you see, even though it's a VW forum, you can still discuss other topics.

    15. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 9th, 2007
      Location
      DC
      Posts
      14,061
      Vehicles
      Too many to list here
      02-25-2011 03:08 PM #40
      Quote Originally Posted by oneethree View Post
      Ok, I can finally use this stupid question thread. What happens if I install this Euroswitch instead of the other one everyone seems to use?? I know the difference is it has the coming home feature but I also notice the auto setting. Does this mean I can switch the DRL's on and off without having to use VAGCOM (they are currently disabled in anticipation of this purchase)? Thanks!


      http://www.ecstuning.com/Volkswagen-...tch/ES1897090/

      No, the coming home feature is run through the cecm, not through the switch. The "auto" switch does nothing on that switch. It will act just like a normal euro switch when clicked.
      Follow my Audi 100, (I mean MK1), (I mean MK3) build on Instagram. User name: jkrew or http://ink361.com/#/users/322773/photos

    16. Member Squirrel Nuts's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 25th, 2010
      Location
      Miami, FL
      Posts
      19,332
      Vehicles
      2015 Autobahn GTI l Bagged 2010 GTI (Totaled) l 2007 GLI (Sold)
      02-25-2011 03:11 PM #41
      Quote Originally Posted by Joey Russo View Post
      No, the coming home feature is run through the cecm, not through the switch. The "auto" switch does nothing on that switch. It will act just like a normal euro switch when clicked.
      Okay, and has anyone ACTUALLY found some good LED's for the city lights that won't throw codes and match the stock Bi-Xenons?? I'm told these are the ones but the guy who has em has a TDI so it may be it didn't throw a code for that model but it will for a GTI. I have these same LED's inside in red.

      http://www.ledwholesalers.com/store/...&productId=337


    17. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Apr 24th, 2010
      Location
      Boston, MA
      Posts
      30
      Vehicles
      2010 GOLF 2.5L
      02-27-2011 08:53 PM #42
      nice thread OP
      does gti real valance fit 2.5 golf, i seen a couple of you did a retrofit on the TDIs so im assuming its the same?

    18. Member whitepepper's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 10th, 2009
      Location
      TEXair
      Posts
      4,437
      Vehicles
      switch hitter
      02-27-2011 08:55 PM #43
      Quote Originally Posted by Yugoslavia1988 View Post
      nice thread OP
      does gti real valance fit 2.5 golf, i seen a couple of you did a retrofit on the TDIs so im assuming its the same?
      same
      DorbritzDesigns | DBC | BagRiders

      Quote Originally Posted by LowerThanZimmy View Post
      Texas itself seems to have it all taken care from what i see.....lol

    19. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Apr 24th, 2010
      Location
      Boston, MA
      Posts
      30
      Vehicles
      2010 GOLF 2.5L
      02-27-2011 08:57 PM #44
      Quote Originally Posted by whitepepper View Post
      same

    20. Member Feyd's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 1st, 2002
      Location
      Chicago
      Posts
      2,040
      Vehicles
      (Prev: '97 Golf GL, '05.5 Jetta V, '03 BMW Z4, '08 BMW 135i), Curr: 2011 Golf TDI, 2012 Touareg TDI
      02-28-2011 09:47 AM #45
      Quote Originally Posted by Aonarch View Post
      The question has been asked. I think there is a lift kit for the MKV/MKVI but I can't be sure.

      I know for the mk3/mk4 there was actually a body-lift kit that was available. For the Mk6 the ONLY thing I've seen is a spring kit (I think made by H&R). Essentially the same length springs, but they are stiffer (so they don't droop as much) and only give something like a .5" lift.

      Give it time.. someone will do it. The car is just too new right now.

    21. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 23rd, 2011
      Location
      Ohio
      Posts
      180
      Vehicles
      2011 GTI w/Sunroof - Carbon Steel Gray
      02-28-2011 10:09 AM #46
      Here's my stupid question:

      If I get 17" wheels instead of the stock 18" wheels do I have to worry about recalibrating the speedometer or anything?

      (You said this was for STUPID questions and I'm pretty sure that qualifies. Sorry!)

    22. Member Feyd's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 1st, 2002
      Location
      Chicago
      Posts
      2,040
      Vehicles
      (Prev: '97 Golf GL, '05.5 Jetta V, '03 BMW Z4, '08 BMW 135i), Curr: 2011 Golf TDI, 2012 Touareg TDI
      02-28-2011 10:11 AM #47
      No.... if your new car comes with 17" there is no need to recalibrate. If you are talking about getting some track/winter wheels tires, as long as you stay with the recommended sizes (IE not too tall/too short of a sidewall) you should be fine.

      On my MFI there is an option for snow tires where I can increase/decrease the speeds shown on the spedo to accomodate for slightly taller or shorter tires.

    23. Member Squirrel Nuts's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 25th, 2010
      Location
      Miami, FL
      Posts
      19,332
      Vehicles
      2015 Autobahn GTI l Bagged 2010 GTI (Totaled) l 2007 GLI (Sold)
      02-28-2011 10:11 AM #48
      Quote Originally Posted by LAnderson View Post
      Here's my stupid question:

      If I get 17" wheels instead of the stock 18" wheels do I have to worry about recalibrating the speedometer or anything?

      (You said this was for STUPID questions and I'm pretty sure that qualifies. Sorry!)
      You'll be fine.

    24. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 23rd, 2011
      Location
      Ohio
      Posts
      180
      Vehicles
      2011 GTI w/Sunroof - Carbon Steel Gray
      02-28-2011 10:19 AM #49
      Quote Originally Posted by Feyd View Post
      No.... if your new car comes with 17" there is no need to recalibrate. If you are talking about getting some track/winter wheels tires, as long as you stay with the recommended sizes (IE not too tall/too short of a sidewall) you should be fine.

      On my MFI there is an option for snow tires where I can increase/decrease the speeds shown on the spedo to accomodate for slightly taller or shorter tires.
      No, it came with 18"s. For next winter I think I will buy 17"'s.

    25. 02-28-2011 10:23 AM #50
      Quote Originally Posted by Feyd View Post
      No.... if your new car comes with 17" there is no need to recalibrate. If you are talking about getting some track/winter wheels tires, as long as you stay with the recommended sizes (IE not too tall/too short of a sidewall) you should be fine.

      On my MFI there is an option for snow tires where I can increase/decrease the speeds shown on the spedo to accomodate for slightly taller or shorter tires.
      WRONG

      The only thing that setting does is give you a chime warning when you reach the speed you set it at.

    Page 2 of 38 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •