Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Manual to DSG swap

04-02-2011 06:07 PM #1
      Hello,
      I'm investigating for a possible manual gearbox swap to DSG

(my left knee lately isn't very well, and my car it's practically new but has several years the value dropped and the option should be exactly the same car but with DSG)

Anybody has seen any swap of this type? links? something..

I'm starting researching about this to find if it's viable, I can get electrical diagrams and I have some experience doing "things" to the car

One of the important doubts I have it's if any TFSI ECU correctly coded can communicate with any DSG ECU.. also I have more doubts but I'm researching and also will ask here, now I would like find previous experiences

Thanks in advance!
      BERTO / VAGclub.com

Audi S3 TFSI quattro revo, and s-tronic!
      Passat 1.8T K04 revo
      Audi A4 1.8T Avant

2. Member
      Vehicles
      '09 Jetta TDI w/DSG
      04-03-2011 11:52 AM #2
      I'm surprised you haven't had any offers. Most problem DSG owners want to to the exact opposite.

04-03-2011 12:40 PM #3
      why? the DSG isn't "boring" like the old torque converter based automatic transmissions...

I'm in Spain, in the other side of the sea... so would be a little dificult..
      but is somebody wants to send me a DSG from a TFSI quattro (like TT-S)... maybe I can send the manual quattro 6sp box
      BERTO / VAGclub.com

Passat 1.8T K04 revo
      Audi A4 1.8T Avant

Vehicles
      Started NHTSA DSG Campaign/'09WolfieDSG died@623mi. VW took it back.Bought MkVI/GTI Blk 6spMT/SR/Xen
      04-03-2011 02:34 PM #4
      Quote Originally Posted by Berto View Post
      why?

Are you kidding? Haven't you been reading this Forum correctly?
      "There's nothing like a well tuned car on an open road". Paul Newman
      *The New 2011 VW Jetta... At Least You Pay Less To Get Less!*

04-03-2011 02:51 PM #5