Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 76 to 100 of 106

    Thread: Well-Done HID kits

    1. Member x SMURF x's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 12th, 2010
      Location
      Long Island, NY
      Posts
      821
      Vehicles
      2008/Audi/A3 2.0T
      02-26-2012 11:53 PM #76
      Quote Originally Posted by youmeill View Post
      Is the H7 kit a 6000K bulb? What is the wattage? I want to upgrade to HIDS for my A3, but it doesn't have the projector housing. Will this work with the reflector housing?
      it WILL work, but you run the risk of blinding everyone on the road with reflector housings...its what stopping me from puttin HID in my headlights until i get projectors
      2008 Lava Grey Audi A3 2.0T FWD: Euro Spec. LED Tails | Stage 1 APR | Front Grill LED Rings | Bilstein Sport Shocks + Struts | Neuspeed Springs

    2. 02-27-2012 09:46 AM #77
      Quote Originally Posted by x SMURF x View Post
      it WILL work, but you run the risk of blinding everyone on the road with reflector housings...its what stopping me from puttin HID in my headlights until i get projectors
      I agree with above (how many times have i been blinded by big trucks or older model Hondas and Toyotas with awful light throw from using HIDs with no projection.
      Having said that, if anyone was daring enough to actual see if this claim from retrosolution that there is no glare on their kits (i use this brand, but i have projections)
      http://www.retrosolutionsllc.com/ser...VERSION/Detail

    3. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2011
      Location
      Mississauga
      Posts
      32
      Vehicles
      2008 Audi A3 2.0T S-Line
      04-28-2012 06:10 PM #78
      I got the H7 Well done kit for my A3, and tried to install them with my FK Angel Eyes, but apparently the H7 bulb provided with the kit is too long, and doesn't fit the Housing.

      Just a warning for anyone else looking to do the same.

    4. 04-28-2012 06:33 PM #79
      Quote Originally Posted by Zain_C View Post
      I got the H7 Well done kit for my A3, and tried to install them with my FK Angel Eyes, but apparently the H7 bulb provided with the kit is too long, and doesn't fit the Housing.

      Just a warning for anyone else looking to do the same.
      hmmn that sux-- Im using RetroSolution's H7 HID bulbs (previously was using VVME) and the HID bulbs were interchangeable with whichever Ballast). I think perhaps they (retro and VVME )are interchangeable (looking at the wires on the OP) with the WellDone kit?
      Last edited by tiptronic; 04-28-2012 at 06:37 PM.

    5. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2011
      Location
      Mississauga
      Posts
      32
      Vehicles
      2008 Audi A3 2.0T S-Line
      04-28-2012 07:26 PM #80
      Quote Originally Posted by tiptronic View Post
      hmmn that sux-- Im using RetroSolution's H7 HID bulbs (previously was using VVME) and the HID bulbs were interchangeable with whichever Ballast). I think perhaps they (retro and VVME )are interchangeable (looking at the wires on the OP) with the WellDone kit?
      Ya I think that might be a possiblity, I'll have to look into it. Pretty bummed though. Got my headlights replaced for the FK Angel Eyes so I could put in the xenons, only they don't fit. And i'm seeing that now with the bumper back on, putting in the xenons is going to be hard.

    6. Member Gryphon001's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 25th, 2008
      Location
      Mississauga
      Posts
      1,423
      Vehicles
      2008 Audi A3 Sportback
      04-28-2012 09:32 PM #81
      You will have to mount the balast on the side of the housing... That's what I had to do.

      Here is the link you asked for BTW... http://retro-solutions.net/product-i...IT-pid663.html

    7. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 12th, 2007
      Location
      SF
      Posts
      1,079
      Vehicles
      2006 A3 2.0T 6sp
      04-30-2012 02:37 AM #82
      retro solutions blew my wipers.

      I am too afraid to every try it again haha. Unless a ton of people can confirm the well done ones work.

    8. Member Gryphon001's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 25th, 2008
      Location
      Mississauga
      Posts
      1,423
      Vehicles
      2008 Audi A3 Sportback
      04-30-2012 03:10 AM #83
      I think the trick is to make sure that you don't turn on your wipers while the HIDs are still warming up.

    9. Junior Member dooky's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 30th, 2010
      Location
      Markham, ON
      Posts
      87
      04-30-2012 11:05 AM #84
      I've been using my Well Done HID it for a year without any issues in the rain. No problem when turning on the wiper first and then lights. You can actually place the ballast within the light housing. No need to mount it outside. The unit doesn't get hot. Dave from Welldone recommended this as they've been doing in Europe.

    10. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2011
      Location
      Mississauga
      Posts
      32
      Vehicles
      2008 Audi A3 2.0T S-Line
      05-05-2012 03:22 PM #85
      Quote Originally Posted by dooky View Post
      I've been using my Well Done HID it for a year without any issues in the rain. No problem when turning on the wiper first and then lights. You can actually place the ballast within the light housing. No need to mount it outside. The unit doesn't get hot. Dave from Welldone recommended this as they've been doing in Europe.
      Do you have the FK Angel Eyes? What headlight housings are you using?

      @Tiptronic and @Gryphon001: I'm noticing one of my headlights (on the passenger side), the low beam is aimed downwards. I think I read somewhere that the two white screws on top of the headlight can adjust the vertical/horizontal alignment. Do either of you guys know which screw it is that adjusts the vertical alignment?

      There's one on the center of the headlight, and there's one on the far side, closer to the fenders.
      Well-Done HID Kit w/ H7 Bulbs Up For Grabs - PM if interested

    11. 05-07-2012 09:50 AM #86
      Quote Originally Posted by Zain_C View Post
      Do you have the FK Angel Eyes? What headlight housings are you using?

      @Tiptronic and @Gryphon001: I'm noticing one of my headlights (on the passenger side), the low beam is aimed downwards. I think I read somewhere that the two white screws on top of the headlight can adjust the vertical/horizontal alignment. Do either of you guys know which screw it is that adjusts the vertical alignment?

      There's one on the center of the headlight, and there's one on the far side, closer to the fenders.
      The adjustor towards the center is the vertical adjustor. Best to park your car face towards a wall about 15ft away so you can see your cutoffs .

      My conclusion/assumption as to why some A3s did not have any issues, perhaps the way the car was grounded from the factory. Unfortunately, the question WHY still remains...

    12. Member A3Performance's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 21st, 2006
      Location
      New Jersey - 201
      Posts
      1,301
      Vehicles
      2006 Audi A3 2.0T
      05-07-2012 10:44 AM #87
      What does the Well-Done kits have that the other kits lack ????
      2006 Audi A3 Brilliant Red: FrankenTurbo, .dotuning, FFE, APR, Forge, SPM, BSH, VF-Engineering, Precision Turbo, ATP, Vogtland, Well-Done Xenons.

    13. 05-10-2012 01:42 PM #88
      I tried emailing Well-Done but received no reply still after 4 days. Just wanted to know if the kit fits a 2012 A3 with OEM halogen bulb housings. Want to convert my halogens to HID, but it needs a special bracket cap.

      Thanks

    14. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 6th, 2012
      Location
      Kissimmee, FL
      Posts
      265
      Vehicles
      08 A3 2.0T FSI FWD
      05-10-2012 11:52 PM #89
      Quote Originally Posted by yonseispeed View Post
      I tried emailing Well-Done but received no reply still after 4 days. Just wanted to know if the kit fits a 2012 A3 with OEM halogen bulb housings. Want to convert my halogens to HID, but it needs a special bracket cap.

      Thanks
      might wanna invest into projectors or else everyone is gonna be blinded

    15. Junior Member Clos's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 11th, 2012
      Location
      323 Los Angeles
      Posts
      35
      Vehicles
      2012 Audi A3 2.0T FWD....Ibis White
      05-11-2012 10:30 PM #90
      Just spoke to daniel from well done. He does say it needs a special metal bracket for the 2010-2012 A3s but? He said it would work with no problems, i asked him about a group buy but still havent received a reply.
      Clos Chavez

    16. Junior Member foundling_rising's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 16th, 2011
      Location
      New England
      Posts
      63
      Vehicles
      2008 Audi A3 2.0T Black
      08-13-2012 09:43 PM #91
      hey guys, I have had these lights for a year now and I am getting tired of how weak they are.



      http://turbometal.com/lighting/proje...hts-black.html

      Can you recommend a working solution to get more powerful lights. I dont want to blind anyone though I just want to be able to see better at night. What is the final word on the HID kit?

    17. Member Greddy87's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 20th, 2010
      Location
      CANADA, ONTARIO
      Posts
      643
      Vehicles
      2010 A3 2.0TSI
      08-13-2012 09:49 PM #92
      Looks good rick..

    18. Member rick89's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2nd, 2008
      Location
      Canada
      Posts
      587
      Vehicles
      2006 audi a3
      08-14-2012 11:20 AM #93
      Quote Originally Posted by Greddy87 View Post
      Looks good rick..
      Thanks, that was my old setup with the cheap leds that die out.

    19. Junior Member foundling_rising's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 16th, 2011
      Location
      New England
      Posts
      63
      Vehicles
      2008 Audi A3 2.0T Black
      08-17-2012 09:21 PM #94
      Quote Originally Posted by rick89 View Post
      Thanks, that was my old setup with the cheap leds that die out.
      Hey Rick, did you convert them to HID?

    20. Member rick89's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2nd, 2008
      Location
      Canada
      Posts
      587
      Vehicles
      2006 audi a3
      08-18-2012 10:57 AM #95
      Quote Originally Posted by a3ressurection View Post
      Hey Rick, did you convert them to HID?
      I got to clear my inbox lol. I had my headlights refitted with new parts inside and i converted it to HID's. I also changed the lens inside the projector because the one that comes with it does not work properly for HID's.

      Check this thread out:

      http://forums.fourtitude.com/showthr...adlights-on-A3

    21. Junior Member foundling_rising's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 16th, 2011
      Location
      New England
      Posts
      63
      Vehicles
      2008 Audi A3 2.0T Black
      08-18-2012 03:46 PM #96
      Quote Originally Posted by rick89 View Post
      I got to clear my inbox lol. I had my headlights refitted with new parts inside and i converted it to HID's. I also changed the lens inside the projector because the one that comes with it does not work properly for HID's.

      Check this thread out:

      http://forums.fourtitude.com/showthr...adlights-on-A3
      THANKS RICK! This is exactly what I was looking for
      I need to start upgrading these asap cuz these lights are really weak out of the box.

    22. Member A3Performance's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 21st, 2006
      Location
      New Jersey - 201
      Posts
      1,301
      Vehicles
      2006 Audi A3 2.0T
      08-19-2012 03:08 PM #97
      Is there any coding that can be done in Vagcom? Retro-solutions claim. if the kit is good quality AC digital with a relay harness, minor coding in vagcom we should be good to go. Anyone out there try this yet, i'm honestly about to bite the bullet, I need HID's on my car!!
      2006 Audi A3 Brilliant Red: FrankenTurbo, .dotuning, FFE, APR, Forge, SPM, BSH, VF-Engineering, Precision Turbo, ATP, Vogtland, Well-Done Xenons.

    23. Banned
      Join Date
      Mar 8th, 2011
      Location
      New York
      Posts
      57
      08-20-2012 10:22 PM #98
      Quote Originally Posted by A3Performance View Post
      Is there any coding that can be done in Vagcom? Retro-solutions claim. if the kit is good quality AC digital with a relay harness, minor coding in vagcom we should be good to go. Anyone out there try this yet, i'm honestly about to bite the bullet, I need HID's on my car!!
      Setting up your car with VAGCOM, adding relays, etc, will be useless.
      The wiper motor will blow away no matter what if you use a regular aftermarket HID.

      You have 2 options:
      - OEM HID from Audi
      - Welldone HID for Audi A3

    24. Member A3Performance's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 21st, 2006
      Location
      New Jersey - 201
      Posts
      1,301
      Vehicles
      2006 Audi A3 2.0T
      08-21-2012 09:03 PM #99
      Dani is a stand up guy, met up with him in NY and got a chance to really see this Well-Done kit in person.. Man, is this thing truly different than any aftermarket kit out there! NOW i truly understand why it's OEM or Well-Done. I'll post a thread sometime late this week after I install them since i'm having some minor fueling issues and car is parked.
      2006 Audi A3 Brilliant Red: FrankenTurbo, .dotuning, FFE, APR, Forge, SPM, BSH, VF-Engineering, Precision Turbo, ATP, Vogtland, Well-Done Xenons.

    25. Banned
      Join Date
      Mar 8th, 2011
      Location
      New York
      Posts
      57
      08-23-2012 05:51 PM #100
      Quote Originally Posted by theblue View Post
      I'm taking the risk and throwing in a set of xentec hids in my low beams. I have yet to find somebody who had the issue with these. I've also pm'd a couple people who have been running them without issue for some time.

      I'll report back. at $32 shipped you can beat xentecs.
      Some people blowed away his wiper motors with Xentec HID.

      You can ask "A3Performance". He is posting in this thread.

      It took five 5 minuts after the installation for the wiper motor to stop working.

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •