Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 21 of 21

    Thread: battery drain in my jetta

    1. Member MrDubberDad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 8th, 2010
      Location
      LV PA
      Posts
      818
      Vehicles
      02 1.8t
      04-17-2011 11:23 AM #1
      please delete
      Last edited by MrDubberDad; 07-13-2013 at 07:30 PM.
      ( )=====\X/=====( )

      For sale....or trade
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...8#post81818358

    2. Member mAyZa b 3 a t s's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 4th, 2009
      Location
      Canadensis, PA Shippensburg, PA
      Posts
      1,254
      Vehicles
      A Yugo and a mule
      04-17-2011 01:37 PM #2
      Ignition switch? I have a bad one and it gives accessory power to some of the stuff in my car when it's in the off position. It can kill my battery in a about 12 hours. I'm just too lazy to replace it at the moment.
      Quote Originally Posted by Sodomythical Frostgoat View Post
      **** off Timmy, I'm trying to break someone's spirit here, jesus.
      If you use the term "hater," I'm just going to assume you came out with the cord wrapped around your neck.

    3. Member MrDubberDad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 8th, 2010
      Location
      LV PA
      Posts
      818
      Vehicles
      02 1.8t
      04-17-2011 02:11 PM #3
      thank you, how do i check/test for that?
      ( )=====\X/=====( )

      For sale....or trade
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...8#post81818358

    4. Member mAyZa b 3 a t s's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 4th, 2009
      Location
      Canadensis, PA Shippensburg, PA
      Posts
      1,254
      Vehicles
      A Yugo and a mule
      04-17-2011 06:37 PM #4
      Borrow a known good one and plug it in and see if the issue goes away. I would just grab a new one. They're like 11 bucks or something and they're prone to go, so even if that doesn't solve it, you'll have a new one when yours does go bad.
      Quote Originally Posted by Sodomythical Frostgoat View Post
      **** off Timmy, I'm trying to break someone's spirit here, jesus.
      If you use the term "hater," I'm just going to assume you came out with the cord wrapped around your neck.

    5. Member MrDubberDad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 8th, 2010
      Location
      LV PA
      Posts
      818
      Vehicles
      02 1.8t
      04-17-2011 08:30 PM #5
      awesome!! thank you so much for the advice
      ( )=====\X/=====( )

      For sale....or trade
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...8#post81818358

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Sep 25th, 2006
      Posts
      283
      Vehicles
      MKIII Museum
      04-17-2011 10:15 PM #6
      If you have no drain from the Positive terminal, then you could have an internal battery drain between positive and negative plates.
      Disconnect the battery and see what happens.

    7. Member MrDubberDad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 8th, 2010
      Location
      LV PA
      Posts
      818
      Vehicles
      02 1.8t
      04-21-2011 08:01 PM #7
      i disconnected the negative terminal, but left the the multimeter still hooked up between positive post n positive terminal, it went from 12.60v with negative hooked up, to a bunch of numbers goin back n forth after i disconnected the negative. any ideas?
      ( )=====\X/=====( )

      For sale....or trade
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...8#post81818358

    8. Member
      Join Date
      Sep 25th, 2006
      Posts
      283
      Vehicles
      MKIII Museum
      04-21-2011 09:22 PM #8
      Did it still discharge while it was disconnected? If so, you have a bad battery. If not... report back.

    9. Member MrDubberDad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 8th, 2010
      Location
      LV PA
      Posts
      818
      Vehicles
      02 1.8t
      04-22-2011 04:34 PM #9
      nope, does not discharge when disconnected.
      ( )=====\X/=====( )

      For sale....or trade
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...8#post81818358

    10. Member mrbatavus's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 29th, 2008
      Location
      Pennington NJ
      Posts
      1,097
      Vehicles
      2001 Audi TT Quattro
      04-22-2011 06:09 PM #10
      after driving your car for a while let it sit, then place one lead from your multimeter, that is set on amps to the positive terminal of the battery, place it in such a way so that when you disconnect the positive terminal that the first lead u placed on the battery doesn't have to loose connection and place the second lead from your multimeter on the cable from the battery you just took off

      let me know what it says, if theres under .5 amps (500 milliamps) theres no problem with your car, just replace the battery

      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFCT-...eature=related

      basically this but do it while the battery is disconnected and then remove the battery cable without breaking the connection wit the multimeter

    11. Member
      Join Date
      Sep 25th, 2006
      Posts
      283
      Vehicles
      MKIII Museum
      04-22-2011 06:23 PM #11
      Quote Originally Posted by dubbed21 View Post
      nope, does not discharge when disconnected.
      Well then, the battery is good.
      First try disconnecting your alternator wire and testing it for current. Sometimes the diode trio fails.
      Next... remove fuses one at a time and connect your leads to each slot. You can then read what current is flowing in each circuit.

    12. Member jorge r's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 27th, 2006
      Location
      Los Angeles, 5&110
      Posts
      2,068
      Vehicles
      vw
      04-23-2011 11:31 AM #12
      With the engine running, the battery bolts measured from the battery terminal posts should be 1-2 volts more than with the engine no running, then you know the alternator is doing its job.

      With the engine off properly connect the meter (in series), set for 10 amps, between the battery terminal post and the battery cable connector clamp, all doors closed and everything off. If there is a current leak, you will see its value in the meter.

    13. Member mrbatavus's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 29th, 2008
      Location
      Pennington NJ
      Posts
      1,097
      Vehicles
      2001 Audi TT Quattro
      04-23-2011 04:51 PM #13
      quick way to check the alternator diode trio (rectafier bridge) is to hook up your miltimeter to red ac voltage and then just hook it to the battery, there should be nothing if u get anything the alt is bad

    14. Member MrDubberDad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 8th, 2010
      Location
      LV PA
      Posts
      818
      Vehicles
      02 1.8t
      04-23-2011 06:12 PM #14
      thank you everybody soooo much, i am going to work on it when weather gets better.
      ( )=====\X/=====( )

      For sale....or trade
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...8#post81818358

    15. Member MrDubberDad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 8th, 2010
      Location
      LV PA
      Posts
      818
      Vehicles
      02 1.8t
      04-24-2011 09:25 AM #15
      Quote Originally Posted by mrbatavus View Post
      quick way to check the alternator diode trio (rectafier bridge) is to hook up your miltimeter to red ac voltage and then just hook it to the battery, there should be nothing if u get anything the alt is bad
      i dont have red ac voltage on my meter, i have red dcv, blue ac ma, blue dc ma, green acv, yellow dc10a, and battery load test section with 1.5v, 6v, 9v, and 12v. which one do i set it to
      ( )=====\X/=====( )

      For sale....or trade
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...8#post81818358

    16. Member MrDubberDad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 8th, 2010
      Location
      LV PA
      Posts
      818
      Vehicles
      02 1.8t
      04-24-2011 09:30 AM #16
      Quote Originally Posted by mrbatavus View Post
      after driving your car for a while let it sit, then place one lead from your multimeter, that is set on amps to the positive terminal of the battery, place it in such a way so that when you disconnect the positive terminal that the first lead u placed on the battery doesn't have to loose connection and place the second lead from your multimeter on the cable from the battery you just took off

      let me know what it says, if theres under .5 amps (500 milliamps) theres no problem with your car, just replace the battery

      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFCT-...eature=related

      basically this but do it while the battery is disconnected and then remove the battery cable without breaking the connection wit the multimeter
      ive done this and it is under .5 amps, but the battery doesnt loose charge when disconnected
      ( )=====\X/=====( )

      For sale....or trade
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...8#post81818358

    17. Member jorge r's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 27th, 2006
      Location
      Los Angeles, 5&110
      Posts
      2,068
      Vehicles
      vw
      04-24-2011 11:24 AM #17
      How long before it drains the battery and how old is your battery?
      It doesn't make sense that you have a drain and yet, there is no drain measured. The only thing left is that you lock the car and hold down (prope it down to hold it down) the engine compartment alarm button switch before measuring in case the alarm once engaged is causing a drain.

      At .5 amp drain, a 60 AH (ampere hours) battery would last 120 hours, but cranking power may be gone at 60 hours, and you say it's cold so even sooner when cold.

      What dubbed21 says is to measure volts with the a-c scale, not the d-c scale. There shouldn't be more than 0.5 volts on the reading or the diode set is bad and this may cause a misfire trouble code.

    18. Member MrDubberDad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 8th, 2010
      Location
      LV PA
      Posts
      818
      Vehicles
      02 1.8t
      05-15-2011 11:27 AM #18
      it drains over night. battery is 2 months old, and this problem has been happening before and after i got the new battery. altenator is like 3yrs old and autozone tested it and said its good, which i believe because the battery stays charged until i let it sit overnight. weather sucks again, i will try the alarm thing asap.
      ( )=====\X/=====( )

      For sale....or trade
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...8#post81818358

    19. Member FATANG!!'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 21st, 2007
      Location
      South Jersey
      Posts
      605
      Vehicles
      1995 Jetta GL
      05-15-2011 11:34 AM #19
      Quote Originally Posted by dubbed21 View Post
      it drains over night. battery is 2 months old, and this problem has been happening before and after i got the new battery. altenator is like 3yrs old and autozone tested it and said its good, which i believe because the battery stays charged until i let it sit overnight. weather sucks again, i will try the alarm thing asap.
      Did you put an aftermarket head unit in? If you accidentally crossed the Constant and the Alternate lines of voltage (red and yellow wires), you'll drain over night, every night.
      Quote Originally Posted by PKstrategy View Post
      easy+mk3= does not always compute
      Quote Originally Posted by sk8too View Post
      It's the car's way of saying I hate what you've done to me and take them out
      -Not quite a Fink, but still a rat. -MK3 OBD1 Issues? Start Here!

    20. Member MrDubberDad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 8th, 2010
      Location
      LV PA
      Posts
      818
      Vehicles
      02 1.8t
      05-15-2011 05:28 PM #20
      it did have an aftermarket head unit in it, but i took it out. i bought that harness so it would be hooked up right, i dont think i crossed wires. would those wires be crossed somewhere in the dash at all??
      ( )=====\X/=====( )

      For sale....or trade
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...8#post81818358

    21. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Sep 14th, 2011
      Location
      new holland pa
      Posts
      25
      Vehicles
      98 mk3 glx jetta
      09-15-2011 08:22 PM #21
      i'm having this same problem. i have a full bose sound system in my jetta but that runs through an amp. so i unplugged that amp about a half hour ago. i just hope thts the only problem

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •