Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: ignition lock cylinder how to?

Vehicles
      '98 Jetta GL 2.slow
      05-08-2011 07:56 PM #1
      does anyone know how to change the lock cylinder on a mk3 jetta? mines bad and im new to the vw game so all help is appreciated. thanks in advance everyone.

Vehicles
      97 LG5R Jetta GLS
      05-08-2011 09:14 PM #2
      Bentley manual has some pretty good instructions for it.
      We need a series like this state-side. I'm in if there is one, or will be one. VW Cup 2014/5, anyone?

Odometer: 157221mi | 246 full tanks | 77,150.0mi | 2,688.512gal | 28.69617mpg | US$0.10280/mi

Vehicles
      96 Golf Harlequin
      05-08-2011 09:34 PM #3
      unplug negative batt terminal, take steering wheel off, take wiper/turn stalks off. attempt to use a puller of some sort to pull the metal housing that the ignition lock cyl is in off of the steering column. give up like i did, go ahead and grab your drill with a small bit, drill a hole, push locking pin back into ignition lock cyl, pull it out.

shove new one back in, put turn/signal stalks back on, put steering wheel back on, plug everything back up.

vague instructions which will get you through. just try to find the measurements of where to drill the hole, i think bentley has measurements for location; if not - i know somewhere online has it. lol
      '96 Golf Harlequin VR6, Chagal Blue base

Vehicles
      '98 Jetta GL 2.slow
      05-08-2011 10:09 PM #4
      ahahhh! nice thank you im waiting on the part to come in and once it does im putting it on cause im tired of mine shorting out and having to cycle the switch on an off over an over to start it haha
      once its done i'll post again to let you know how it went!

Vehicles
      97 LG5R Jetta GLS
      05-08-2011 10:42 PM #5