Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: How to bleed brakes in my cabrio?

1. 06-06-2011 04:27 PM #1
      Hi everybody,

Does someone have a DIY guide on how to bleed the brakes? I've never done it before on any type of car. I have a 92 vw cabriolet.

I believe my rear brakes are not working. I have to push the brake pedal really hard all the way to the floor to come to a complete stop.

I was told to check for leaks in the rear wheels and make sure my calipers move when I hit the brakes. Do I do that with the car on or off?
      Check the master cylinder. How do I check that?

I figured I'd start with flushing the fluid and pouring it back in; in case there is some "air" I guess.

Please don't hesitate to answer. Yes I'm new with cars, but I'm really handy and can figure things out, take them apart and put them back together.

Thank you

Vehicles
      90, 92, 93 Cabriolet
      06-06-2011 04:58 PM #2
      Well if you haven't loosened your nipples on the car be warned that you could be replacing them, that is the calipers and wheel Cylinders. I have had that happen on more than one car I have bought the first time I needed to bleed the system.

If you can remove the bleeder nipples I strongly urge you to wrap the heads with teflon tape. Punch a hole where the bleeder port is.

You will need 2 folks to bleed the system if you don't have a power bleeder, speed nipples, and or a mighty vac.

loosen the bleeder with a box end wrench, or a socket , then you can use the open end to bleed.
      If you haven't had the bleeders done in a while I strongly urge you to spray then carefully with PB-Blaster and let them soak for a bit.

You will need a piece of vinyl tubing that will fit snug over the nipple.
      You will need a bottle to place the free end of the vinyl tubing in.

Fill the bottle with about 1/2 inch Brake fluid so you can suck free air back into the system.

Place your vinyl tube over the nipple.