Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 106 to 140 of 147

    Thread: Halogen to Bi-Xenon

    1. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Mar 3rd, 2009
      Location
      Quebec city
      Posts
      89
      Vehicles
      Volkswagen Golf R 2012, Audi S4 2011, Ford shelby GT500 Convertible 2011
      01-10-2012 01:59 PM #106
      How it looks now...still in winter mode:

      With DRL only:


      With all the lightning switched on:




    2. n00b
      Join Date
      Jul 14th, 2011
      Location
      Freeport,NY
      Posts
      4
      Vehicles
      2010/CW MKVI
      01-10-2012 08:48 PM #107
      i have a highline CECM with a NA halogen equipped 2010 GTI and im trying to install bixenons without LED are they plug and play ?? i need vag come help

    3. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 4th, 2009
      Location
      San Francisco, CA
      Posts
      1,132
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI DSG CSG
      01-10-2012 09:29 PM #108
      Quote Originally Posted by daone89 View Post
      i have a highline CECM with a NA halogen equipped 2010 GTI and im trying to install bixenons without LED are they plug and play ?? i need vag come help
      Read my posts starting from page 1, everything is detailed in this thread.

    4. Member truetotexas's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2009
      Location
      San Antonio, TX
      Posts
      884
      Vehicles
      lightning red STi
      01-10-2012 09:39 PM #109
      hey Randy i have a question for you.

      I have a golf tdi with fogs and halogens. based on what ive read here, that will give me a midline cecm. basically this is my plan.

      I want to have the 2011 projector (non LED) bixenons but dont really care for auto leveling or any of that. are the motors and such needed or can I just install the projectors and manually aim them and have them work?

      if thats the case will I still need to upgrade to a highline cecm?

      ps. sorry if that was covered in the thread, if it was I didnt catch it.

      thanks for any input
      Quote Originally Posted by eurolicious View Post
      For some reason those wheels just make me want to hump inanimate objects around my room.

    5. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 18th, 2002
      Location
      OH
      Posts
      394
      Vehicles
      2010 JSW
      01-10-2012 10:22 PM #110
      Yes, you can install without the leveling motors - that's what most people have done.

      Yes, you need a high line CECM, the others don't have pins to activate the high beams.

    6. Member truetotexas's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2009
      Location
      San Antonio, TX
      Posts
      884
      Vehicles
      lightning red STi
      01-10-2012 11:28 PM #111
      Quote Originally Posted by aenea View Post
      Yes, you can install without the leveling motors - that's what most people have done.

      Yes, you need a high line CECM, the others don't have pins to activate the high beams.
      ty
      Quote Originally Posted by eurolicious View Post
      For some reason those wheels just make me want to hump inanimate objects around my room.

    7. Member wh4l3salad's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 20th, 2010
      Location
      Great Falls, VA
      Posts
      798
      Vehicles
      Candy White '10 GTI 6M
      01-11-2012 12:00 AM #112
      Damn. Those pix in the snow are great.

      EVE's Build Thread • APR Stage II / BSH RACE / B&B 3" / DG S6 / B&G RS2 / MOTUL / VMR

      facebook twitter wheelflip • PM me for VAGCOM in NoVA

    8. Member phish32786's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 18th, 2011
      Location
      Detroit, MI
      Posts
      254
      Vehicles
      2012 Golf/1988 Cabby
      01-11-2012 12:09 AM #113
      Stop it. I keep trying to talk myself out of them. This makes it so much harder to say no.

    9. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Mar 3rd, 2009
      Location
      Quebec city
      Posts
      89
      Vehicles
      Volkswagen Golf R 2012, Audi S4 2011, Ford shelby GT500 Convertible 2011
      01-11-2012 12:59 AM #114
      Quote Originally Posted by aenea View Post
      Yes, you can install without the leveling motors - that's what most people have done.

      Yes, you need a high line CECM, the others don't have pins to activate the high beams.
      Hi Randy. I found the screw for up/down adjustment, but since they can fit AFS and on mine, AFS is not functioning, is there a way, or is it necessary to adjust them horizontally ? I suspect mine to be slightly offset toward the left side....

      Can you post pictures/trick if you know about it ?

    10. 02-08-2012 03:30 AM #115
      A little FYI on the highline cecm sourcing. Prices at oemplus and ECS, etc. were higher than I'd like, US EBay never has them, so decided to hit eBay Germany. Jackpot! German eBay is flush with highlines and I got mine for under $200 shipped...not bad and it is late enough to support LEDs.

    11. Member red64chevelle's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 20th, 2006
      Location
      Coventry, RI
      Posts
      637
      Vehicles
      02 Golf TDI, 96 Disco 5-Speed, 86 Defender 110
      02-09-2012 12:34 PM #116
      Quote Originally Posted by seaman13 View Post
      Any one can give me a copy of his own coding, for a GTI with HID/LED DRL ? I'm also not sure what to choose for Byte 18 since I also have the rear LED taillight with Rear fog installed. The North american setup doesn't work with this rear arrangement !

      Maybe my kufatec harness is not sending power properly to light up the LED ?

      Any comment/idea is appreciated.
      I just installed the R20 headlights and LED Tails (with rear fog). I am using Hex 43, and ran a trigger lead from terminal 3 on the headlight switch to terminal 19 on the CECM black harness, and the trigger lead listed in the FAQ from the light switch to the CECM. Everything works perfectly now, except the LED DRL's and High Beam Shutters (I still have a "Mid-line" CECM, the new one is on-order).

    12. Member red64chevelle's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 20th, 2006
      Location
      Coventry, RI
      Posts
      637
      Vehicles
      02 Golf TDI, 96 Disco 5-Speed, 86 Defender 110
      03-06-2012 09:42 PM #117
      So, the new CECM is in and programed. Everything works, kinda. I still have the bulb out light and a message about checking my high beams.

      The thing is, they work!

      Any ideas?

    13. 03-21-2012 12:29 PM #118
      I am in the process of installing the Bixenon + LED in my halogen US specs 2010 TDI mk6. I was lucky to have the highline CECM with 576 software flashed by the dealer as a routine update in 2011. I want to note that the car had factory installed this module altough it was a fogs+halogen version. So there are highline CECM out there even without factory xenon.

      As much I understand, the AFS modules need to have a CAN+ and CAN- connection getting into the headlight. The original halogen connector obviously does not carry those lines. However, the Kufatec auto leveling adapter has 2 can lines that go into the headlights. The auto leveling module also connects to the CAN bus on the car side. So as much I understand the steering wheel position data goes from the CECM (?) via CAN into the auto leveling module, mixes up with the leveling sensor data from the rear axle sensor and then from there goes to the Bixenon headlights to the AFS modules to move the lights via the 2 can lines running into each headlight. To make this more complicated the, AFS need an ignition 12V+ on, so they can be active and on-line even with lights off. Maybe you can also connect them to the actual bulb Xenon power, but then they will go on/off with the lights.

      I am still about to install the auto leveling sensor, module and the CAN wires. I have a german step by step guide with pictures. So I have not tried out what I describe above. Please correct me if you know better.

      I also played arround a lot with the halogen 10-pin connector and was not able to find anywhere the correct pin-out. So here is what you have on the halogen 10-pin connector:

      4 - DRL
      5 - GROUND
      6 - low beam
      8 - high beam
      9 - turn signal
      10 - parking light

      In order to get the Xenon HID to work the adapter will have to do the following transformation:

      10 pin halogen ----> 14 pin xenon:

      4 to 12
      5 to fork up to 5 + 7
      6 to 6
      9 to 9
      10 to 10
      direct from BCM wire to 11 for high beam shutter

      Now what is interesting for the LED to work, I found out that you need to supply power to both pin 10 and 12 at the same time. If the power is only to one of these they wont turn on. This is an interesting finding and some people corrected this with just connecting 10 and 12 withing the adapter. This is why you need to recode. Normally the DLR go off anytime you turn on any other light. That is why the LED won't work on the halogen programed setting.

      the pin 1 and 2 on the 14-pin xenon are for CAN high and CAN low from the leveling module. Pin 4 apparently needs a constant 12V ignition to keep the AFS modules on at all times. These wires have to be threated to the headlight. This can be done in conjunction with the shutter wire.
      Last edited by vukymk6; 03-25-2012 at 09:59 PM.

    14. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Dec 26th, 2011
      Location
      SouthEast, Michigan
      Posts
      39
      Vehicles
      2012 VW GTI
      05-15-2012 11:07 PM #119
      Hey guys,

      Sorry for bringing this thread back but I just purchased the OEMplus conversion kit used and wanted to know do I have to reprogram all the addresses or just address 09 in the modules when I swap the CECM.

      Thanks in advanced

    15. Member
      Join Date
      May 30th, 2010
      Location
      Houston, TX
      Posts
      1,630
      Vehicles
      10 JSW TDI, 12 R
      05-16-2012 09:03 AM #120
      Quote Originally Posted by Foozay View Post
      Hey guys,

      Sorry for bringing this thread back but I just purchased the OEMplus conversion kit used and wanted to know do I have to reprogram all the addresses or just address 09 in the modules when I swap the CECM.

      Thanks in advanced
      Not all of them, but definitely more than 9. There are several DIY's available on swapping your CECM.

    16. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 22nd, 2005
      Location
      PoMo
      Posts
      1,833
      Vehicles
      2004 GTI 1.8T
      05-17-2012 01:03 AM #121
      I absolutely love this car. LOVE IT!!!!!!!


      Quote Originally Posted by seaman13 View Post
      How it looks now...still in winter mode:

      With DRL only:


      With all the lightning switched on:



      Stay hungry. Stay foolish.

    17. Member
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2010
      Location
      El Paso, TX
      Posts
      588
      Vehicles
      2010 JSW TDI
      06-12-2012 12:28 AM #122
      Anyone have any luck installing the AFS kit by kufatec?

    18. 06-12-2012 07:19 AM #123
      Hi, i'm planning on installing the autoleveling kit. But to save some money it seams that if you buy all peaces seperate you could save at lease 100€...

      The only problem is that i don't know the part number of the Leveling Sensor needed for my car..
      Can anyone help me with this??

      So i need the controller; 5M0907357C
      The wiring from Kuftech.
      And the leveling sensor ??????PN?????

      Does anyone know if you need one or two leveling sensors?? I think only one on the rear left???

      Installing on a Golf VI GTI (2010 2doors)

      Thx!
      If i get all the parts i'll try to make a DIY!

    19. Member
      Join Date
      Jun 27th, 2007
      Posts
      853
      Vehicles
      2000 Jetta 1.8t..RIP. 2012 GTI 4dr DSG base
      06-12-2012 09:15 AM #124
      [QUOTE=randy915;73143737]Update

      I've placed the order for the R-line housing which is on back-order until Oct. 7th:





      R line housing is the only bi-xenon option that looks good. GTI bi-xenons have too much chrome, imo
      2012 GTI, 4-door, DSG, Deep Black Pearl Metallic, Base Model.
      APR K04 Turbo: APR Downpipe: APR Intake Stg-1: APR FMIC: HPA DSG Stage-2:
      Neuspeed Turbo Outlet & TB Pipes: GoFastBits DV+: R32 Belly Pan: Focal IFVW Speakers
      OEM LED Tinted Tail Lights - no fog: Parts4Euro tinted fender markers: Vag-Com mods

    20. 06-12-2012 09:32 AM #125
      seaman13 , What Rims do you have??

      Love them!

      thx

    21. Member wasim12's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 6th, 2011
      Location
      Chatsworth, CA
      Posts
      1,258
      Vehicles
      2011 MKVI DSG GTI
      06-22-2012 03:16 PM #126
      Quote Originally Posted by Burny101 View Post
      seaman13 , What Rims do you have??

      Love them!

      thx
      They're VW Goals.

      Sexy car btw. Loving that color
      2011 DEEP BLACK 4DR DSG AUTOBAHN GTI
      Quote Originally Posted by BRealistic View Post
      Most chicks that drive Escapes have a rug that needs trimming.
      Check this site out for free stuff!

    22. Member
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2010
      Location
      El Paso, TX
      Posts
      588
      Vehicles
      2010 JSW TDI
      07-10-2012 01:51 AM #127
      Is there another way to get a Auto-Leveling Headlights Harness for a MKVI?

    23. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 4th, 2009
      Location
      San Francisco, CA
      Posts
      1,132
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI DSG CSG
      08-28-2012 09:47 PM #128
      If anyone's interested I have a few parts listed in this thread available for sale, PM me for more info.

    24. Member
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2010
      Location
      El Paso, TX
      Posts
      588
      Vehicles
      2010 JSW TDI
      09-06-2012 10:49 PM #129
      Anyone have any recommendations on where to draw a constant 12v source for the AFS headlight modules; and where to purchase or create the correct wiring? Pin 4 is occupied with the 14 pin kufatec harness--pin 3 is open would that be the pin to connect in order to provide power? Or do I tie power to pin 4?
      Last edited by jackchit; 09-10-2012 at 11:03 PM.

    25. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Nov 8th, 2011
      Location
      orange county, ca
      Posts
      94
      09-10-2012 11:10 PM #130
      Quote Originally Posted by jackchit View Post
      Anyone have any recommendations on where to draw a constant 12v source for the AFS headlight modules; and where to purchase or create the correct wiring? Pin 4 is occupied with the 14 pin kufatec harness--pin 3 is open would that be the pin to connect in order to provide power? Or do I tie power to pin 4?
      sorry i dont have the answer to your question but is the kufatec harness you ordered not compatible with the mk6 models?

    26. Member
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2010
      Location
      El Paso, TX
      Posts
      588
      Vehicles
      2010 JSW TDI
      09-11-2012 10:37 AM #131
      no it works however it is setup to perform autolevel function not AFS; from what I have read and the schematics I have, pin 4 may need a little juice to keep the AFS modules on and able to communicate with the sensor placed behind the steering wheel. However I don't know for certain...

    27. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Nov 8th, 2011
      Location
      orange county, ca
      Posts
      94
      09-11-2012 01:15 PM #132
      isnt autolevel also AFS?

    28. Member
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2010
      Location
      El Paso, TX
      Posts
      588
      Vehicles
      2010 JSW TDI
      09-11-2012 01:49 PM #133
      I wish; autolevel for what I know only deals with the vertical motion of the xenon light in order to accommodate for increased weight in the back. AFS deals with movement of the xenon light in accordance with the steering wheel at a certain speed. The kufatec retrofit is for autolevel, however their harness may only lack on step--power to the AFS modules on either headlight which will allow them to come online and communicate with the range control module which came with the kufatec retrofit. And from the schematics, pin 4 of the 14 pin harness may be the pin that requires a 12v+ connection. (** at least this is what I believe right now)

    29. Member Canthoney's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 5th, 2012
      Posts
      527
      Vehicles
      2006 Chevy Impala, 2007 Mustang V6, 2011 Mustang GT, 2012 VW GTI, 2014 Mazda3 (Wife's car)
      09-11-2012 02:19 PM #134
      Quote Originally Posted by jackchit View Post
      I wish; autolevel for what I know only deals with the vertical motion of the xenon light in order to accommodate for increased weight in the back. AFS deals with movement of the xenon light in accordance with the steering wheel at a certain speed. The kufatec retrofit is for autolevel, however their harness may only lack on step--power to the AFS modules on either headlight which will allow them to come online and communicate with the range control module which came with the kufatec retrofit. And from the schematics, pin 4 of the 14 pin harness may be the pin that requires a 12v+ connection. (** at least this is what I believe right now)
      If you get this figured out I would be very interested to know!!


      "Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated"
      - Mark Twain

    30. 09-11-2012 03:42 PM #135
      Quote Originally Posted by Canthoney View Post
      If you get this figured out I would be very interested to know!!


      "Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated"
      - Mark Twain
      Also interested! I had no idea it was this complicated to get AFS.
      Last edited by dunkavenger; 09-11-2012 at 03:45 PM.

    31. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Nov 8th, 2011
      Location
      orange county, ca
      Posts
      94
      09-11-2012 04:02 PM #136
      Quote Originally Posted by jackchit View Post
      I wish; autolevel for what I know only deals with the vertical motion of the xenon light in order to accommodate for increased weight in the back. AFS deals with movement of the xenon light in accordance with the steering wheel at a certain speed. The kufatec retrofit is for autolevel, however their harness may only lack on step--power to the AFS modules on either headlight which will allow them to come online and communicate with the range control module which came with the kufatec retrofit. And from the schematics, pin 4 of the 14 pin harness may be the pin that requires a 12v+ connection. (** at least this is what I believe right now)
      Hm, i though pins 1, 2 and 4 were for both horizonal and vertical motions? Cause all the other pins are to the ballast, bulbs and shutters arnt they?

      And did the kufatec harness come with connectors for both Front AND rear sensors? I called kufatec and they said the golf 6 only needs the rear sensors

    32. Member
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2010
      Location
      El Paso, TX
      Posts
      588
      Vehicles
      2010 JSW TDI
      09-11-2012 07:30 PM #137
      Quote Originally Posted by snowboardgti View Post
      Hm, i though pins 1, 2 and 4 were for both horizonal and vertical motions? Cause all the other pins are to the ballast, bulbs and shutters arnt they?

      And did the kufatec harness come with connectors for both Front AND rear sensors? I called kufatec and they said the golf 6 only needs the rear sensors
      1 and 2 a Can Hi and Low; the mk6 only requires a rear sensor.

    33. Member
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2010
      Location
      El Paso, TX
      Posts
      588
      Vehicles
      2010 JSW TDI
      09-30-2012 01:39 PM #138
      Pin 1 does not have an input on the stock harness and the kufatec harness runs from pin 1(stock side) to 4 (14 pin side); 4 requires an additional 12 volt continuous power; once hardwired in everything works like a charm; just had to recode the master control module for address 55 to 1446940...

    34. Member MK6GTI's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 1st, 2009
      Location
      The Mitten
      Posts
      5,696
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI
      12-01-2012 09:40 PM #139
      Quick question.... if I get the OEM housings and adapters to go from halogen ---> bi xenon along with the bulbs and balasts... do I absolutely need the auto-leveling kit? Or can I manually adjust the bulbs?

    35. Member MK6GTI's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 1st, 2009
      Location
      The Mitten
      Posts
      5,696
      Vehicles
      2010 GTI
      12-02-2012 04:29 PM #140
      Quote Originally Posted by MK6GTI View Post
      Quick question.... if I get the OEM housings and adapters to go from halogen ---> bi xenon along with the bulbs and balasts... do I absolutely need the auto-leveling kit? Or can I manually adjust the bulbs?
      Bump. I can do without AFS or Auto-Leveling. Just want to make sure that's possible

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •