Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: 1988 VW cabriolet starting problem

1. Member
      Vehicles
      1988 VW Cabriolet 1.8 8v
      06-22-2011 07:59 PM #1
      Ok so this is gonna sound dumb from a certified VW mechanic but im completely new to the MK 1's and cabriolets in general. I just bought this car about a week ago and just had the chance to finally dig into it this afternoon. I knew going into it that it had a starting problem. I have checked the basics, timing, spark, air and fuel and all check out for the most part. Is there anything that im missing, or is this a common thing to find in the older cars? It has sit around for about a year or so, so i know the fuel is a little old and i believe that this is contributing to alot of the problem, I just want to make sure there isnt something that im over looking. It has a bigger battery than what came in it stock. I highly doubt this is causing a starting problem. I just thought i'd mention anything i could think of. Any other tech's out there please help a fella out. Thanks guys

Pat

Vehicles
      91 Burgundy Etienne(2), 06 2.5L Jetta, 08 GTI 2.0T
      06-22-2011 08:22 PM #2
      Commit this page to memory and use it often.

http://www.cabby-info.com/Fuel_System.htm#CIS

along with the main page.

http://www.cabby-info.com/

Vehicles
      '95 Ranger, '74 Gitane Pista
      06-22-2011 08:29 PM #3
      Fresh fuel.

Tune with air and fuel filters, Bosch cap, rotor and wires, NGK BP6ET spark plugs.
      I know, you're a dealer guy, dealer parts girl/guy says Bosch W7DSR, (s)he's wrong, it's Bosch W7DTC but those are NLA, use the NGKs, they are perfect.
      While you have the cap off, test the distributor vacuum and centrifugal advances, takes only seconds, repair/replace as needed.
      Check the cam timing, correct if needed.