Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: DTC P0042 - HO2S Heater Control Circuit Bank 1 Sensor 3 **IMPORTANT READ THIS!!**

1. 07-29-2011 01:20 PM #1
      I don't normally go to the forums for repair information but, after the I've run into this code I felt it necessary to post this so no one else gets burned by the incorrect information printed by Bentley in the factory repair manual.

I was asked to take a look at a vehicle for a family friend since I'm a former Vw tech and do some work on the side out of my garage at home. The vehicle was a 2004 Jetta 2.0L with a BBW engine code.

For those who aren't aware, the BBW is a odd ball code which was only produced for 2004-2005 years which utilizes 3 oxygen sensors (upstream, center in cat, and downstream).

The vehicle had several codes to start but, reoccurring was a P0042 aka Heater Circuit Malfunction for Bank 1 Sensor 3. http://engine-codes.com/p0042_volkswagen.htmlWith that being said I started to diagnose the heater circuit according to the Bentley repair information.

According to Bentley, Bank 1 Sensor 3 is sensor # G465 is located in the center of the catalytic converter. OEM part # 06A906262CB.

(I know a lot of this information is above and beyond but, I figure for future reference someone may like to have it on hand)

-I followed the procedure to test the heater circuit on the center 02 sensor. Measuring resistance with a DVOM I get a reading of 9 ohms. This is within spec. (1-20 Ohms)

-Next I checked for voltage according to the Bentley. Oddly there was no key on voltage as suggested in the repair manual but, there was 13v on start up so I presumed that was correct.

At this point I decided that it was possible the sensor was faulty, perhaps intermittently. Seeing as it had voltage and it was only throwing the heater circuit code.