Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Over mileage on lease.. What to do

1. 08-18-2011 11:35 AM #1
      Hey guys, site newbie here Been a long time follower, but never posted anything. Need some advice on my dilemma.

When i leased my MKVI GTI last July '10 i lived 10 miles from my job, so I figured 10k miles a year would be plenty. Well i went and got myself another job, just couldn't pass it up.. Now i'm driving about 500 miles a week. I am already over my miles on the lease, and am on track to be at least 30k over miles when I am due to turn i tin. It's not that i don't like the GTI, it's been the most reliable car i've ever owned.. so I'm on the fence.

So here is what I was thinking:

End the lease early and take a 5k bath right now and trade it in for something else.

Cars I'm looking at: AWD is a must

G37x coupe only because i get VPP through work.
      Audi S4
      Audi A5
      Or saving up a bit and pick up a Range Rover Evoque.. Like the car but LR reliability is

Another option would just be to keep the GTI and mod the hell out of it with that 5k including some snow tires to cope with the surely impending Snowmageddon part 2

OR pick up a beater for the winter to save on the miles

Your thoughts?

2. Junior Member SoCalVWGuy.com's Avatar
      08-18-2011 07:30 PM #2
      Well, if you're looking at a $5K bath now, 30,000 miles over is $6K bath. It depends on how much pain you're able to take rolled into a new car loan.
      www.SoCalVWGuy.com | www.facebook.com/SoCalVWGuy | danny@socalvwguy.com

(Also not a n00b, just haven't been on in a long long time, new username)

Vehicles
      2011 Volkswagen Jetta SEL Sport (m-t) but looking for a new VW!
      08-19-2011 12:39 AM #3
      If you mod the heck out of it, don't try turning it back in that way. You'll not only be $5k poorer, but you'll also be residual + TTL poorer, too.