Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Find: Making a VR6 tach signal work with a Mk2 cluster!

Vehicles
      Mk1\Mk2
      09-13-2011 09:18 PM #1
      The best part is that it works I just did mine tonight in 5 minutes. Cost a total of $5.76

A guy from my local car forum Customobsessions.com figured this one out.

Quote Originally Posted by gdt
      [size=18]The Official : “Get Your MK2 VR Tach to Work Without an Expensive Black Box” thread[/size]

First off, I’m not an electronics expert so if I call something by a wrong name don’t shoot me!!!

In fact, I look forward to any experts out there to comment on what I have come up with, that means you Dewie!!! :lol:

I have decided to Nerd out a little bit on the background and my theory for this, if your not interested in reading that and just want the DIY, go down to the second post :lol:

For the rest of you, keep reading.

The Problem:

You built your mk2 VR and you feel pretty proud of yourself, now if you could just get the Tach to work!!! I know you can put in a mk3 dash and cluster or hack the mk3 cluster up to fit into the mk2 dash, but some of us want to keep the mk2 look!!

The problem is how the different generation of cars get the signal to the tachometer.

On MK2 cars, the tachometer gets it’s signal from a wire connected to the negative terminal on the coil, (this is for gas cars, Diesels are another story and won’t be covered here). Normally, this is 0 volts, as the engine runs and each time the a cylinder fires, this changes to 12v then back to 0 volts again, these events are called pulses. These pulses are considered to be an “analog” signal.

On a 4 cylinder engine, every 180 degrees of crankshaft rotation a cylinder fires therefore there would be two cylinders firing per revolution. I made a diagram that illustrates this.