Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 26 to 50 of 125

    Thread: obd1 vr boost options.. help appreciated

    1. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      10-12-2011 12:53 PM #26
      Awesome thanks

      Will the dv be moutned to my ic piping? and recirculated to the maf intake pipe? ( and mounted after maf sensor?)
      Last edited by kushdubber; 10-12-2011 at 01:04 PM.

    2. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 27th, 2010
      Location
      Albuquerque, New Mexico
      Posts
      494
      Vehicles
      B5 S4, 04 STi, 87 Jetta coupe (current)
      10-15-2011 11:38 PM #27
      Don't mean to intrude on your thread but you seem to be getting some good responses from people who know what they are talking about.

      Question:

      what are the limitations for a stock 12v vr6 head, say running a 263 cam. i have a fully built short block on the way...

      I plan on running at least a gt30r

    3. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      10-17-2011 09:36 AM #28
      Can someone please help me identify the two following parts? I have looked through my bentley, but I might be looking at something wrong.



      &



      Thanks!

    4. Banned SVTDanny's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2005
      Location
      Winchester, VA
      Posts
      16,875
      10-17-2011 10:12 AM #29
      1. Idle stabilizer valve

      2. Auxiliary water pump

    5. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      10-17-2011 11:57 AM #30
      Do I have to route the isv tube to my intake that mounts to the turbo?
      Also, the pvc pipe that runs off the valve cover goes into my intake as well correct?

    6. Banned SVTDanny's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2005
      Location
      Winchester, VA
      Posts
      16,875
      10-17-2011 12:54 PM #31
      One side of the ISV goes to the intake, the other side goes into your charge piping. The ISV won't hold boost, so both sides need to be post-compressor.

      Yes , PCV goes to the intake pre-compressor.

    7. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      10-17-2011 01:20 PM #32
      Quote Originally Posted by djsheijkdfj View Post
      One side of the ISV goes to the intake, the other side goes into your charge piping. The ISV won't hold boost, so both sides need to be post-compressor.

      Yes , PCV goes to the intake pre-compressor.
      Thanks

    8. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      10-22-2011 09:59 AM #33
      Can I delete the isv? Its looking like the obd2 harness does not have a plug for it and I dont know how I would add one in there. I have seen people delete this part.


      Thanks for any help
      Last edited by kushdubber; 10-22-2011 at 10:32 AM.

    9. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      10-23-2011 07:33 PM #34
      did that ^^


      Another q, is there a specific way to remove the clips into the fuse box?????

    10. Banned SVTDanny's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2005
      Location
      Winchester, VA
      Posts
      16,875
      10-23-2011 07:37 PM #35
      If you're going to OBD2, then no, there's no ISV - its function is replaced by the stepper motor in the throttle body.

      Are you talk about the plugs into the back of the fuse block? Just hold down the tabs and wiggle, they can be pretty stuck in there. You can use a small flathead to pry them out.

    11. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      10-23-2011 09:13 PM #36
      Quote Originally Posted by djsheijkdfj View Post
      If you're going to OBD2, then no, there's no ISV - its function is replaced by the stepper motor in the throttle body.

      Are you talk about the plugs into the back of the fuse block? Just hold down the tabs and wiggle, they can be pretty stuck in there. You can use a small flathead to pry them out.
      Ok cool. I will try the screw driver again lol

      thanks

    12. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-07-2011 09:44 AM #37



    13. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-08-2011 10:35 AM #38
      I tried posting a pic of my parts but it didnt work, ill post it soon...

      On another note, i need some tips for fueling. I have a custom sri and it came with a fuel rail. I will need bigger fuel lines (assuming the size of feed and return) and a way to hook up an fpr, I heard it was a bitch..

      Can someone please show me some pics or just give me some general info about how i can set all this **** up? I also would like to install a fuel pump, so any directions on the install for that would be GREAT!

      I am getting really close to start this build and would like to cover everything before I get stuck.


    14. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-08-2011 10:41 AM #39
      Last edited by kushdubber; 11-26-2011 at 11:09 PM.

    15. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-26-2011 02:30 PM #40
      Any fueling pictures of your setups would be great
      Thanks
      Last edited by kushdubber; 11-27-2011 at 09:27 AM. Reason: fpr adapter

    16. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-26-2011 11:10 PM #41

    17. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-27-2011 10:04 AM #42
      If I run steel braided fuel lines do i run them to where the stock ones attatch near the shock tower? or do you guys run them all the way back?

    18. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-27-2011 03:56 PM #43
      Another fueling question. I am looking at this fpr adapter..

      http://www.bahnbrenner.com/vw_audi/p..._12V_Fuel_Rail

      It looks like the fpr would mount on the oposite side of stock. If this is the case, would i plug the far side of my fuel rail(driver side)? feed like goes in the top, return is in the bottom correct me if im wrong

      OR

      Would I be good running stock fuel lines to this adapter? I am running #42 injectors

      http://www.atpturbo.com/mm5/merchant...ory_Code=VVWFE
      Last edited by kushdubber; 11-27-2011 at 04:17 PM.

    19. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-27-2011 06:42 PM #44
      After doing some more reading, i can ditch the whole fpr adapter idea and use an ajustable one. I am thinking it will be better for the long run and tuning?

      This way I can hood up the feed and return fuel lines to each end of my rail and hook those up to my adj fpr.

      still my question is, should I upgrade all my lines to braided ones? I plan on installing an inline fuel pump as well.. so whatever help on that would be great.

      Correct me if any of that is wrong

      THanks!

    20. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-28-2011 12:29 PM #45

    21. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 26th, 2001
      Location
      PA
      Posts
      4,428
      Vehicles
      93 Passat VEEARRRRRRRRR
      11-28-2011 10:36 PM #46
      Just a helpful hint (before breaking the locating tabls off of your engine harness copnnectors) - there is a plastic "locking bar" that slides over about 1/2", this must be moved before attempting to remove the connectors from your CE2 panel.

      If you don't want to remove your OBD1 harness, you do have other engine management options.
      Lugtronic.com
      Eurodyne Maestro Tuning, Stand-Alone ECU Install/Tuning/Wiring Harnesses

    22. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-29-2011 04:01 PM #47
      Quote Originally Posted by lugnuts View Post
      Just a helpful hint (before breaking the locating tabls off of your engine harness copnnectors) - there is a plastic "locking bar" that slides over about 1/2", this must be moved before attempting to remove the connectors from your CE2 panel.

      If you don't want to remove your OBD1 harness, you do have other engine management options.
      At the time this seemed to be my best option price wise. Im way over my budget now anyways.

      But hat would make sense why they wont come out. Thanks for the tip i will give it a try

    23. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-04-2011 12:25 PM #48
      This gasket came with my kit but i gets in the way of the 4 outer holes as you can see. Is this the wrong gasket? What is the point of the inner holes?

      thanks


    24. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-04-2011 04:51 PM #49
      Quote Originally Posted by lugnuts View Post
      Just a helpful hint (before breaking the locating tabls off of your engine harness copnnectors) - there is a plastic "locking bar" that slides over about 1/2", this must be moved before attempting to remove the connectors from your CE2 panel.

      If you don't want to remove your OBD1 harness, you do have other engine management options.
      thanks man all the necessary plugs came out. 3/4 of the way done the harness swap

    25. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 15th, 2003
      Location
      London Ontario Canada
      Posts
      3,687
      12-04-2011 07:46 PM #50
      haha im running this exact turbo on my VRT , you whole setup is pretty much the same and i also converted from obd1 to obd2 hit me up if you have any q's

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •