Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 36 to 70 of 125

    Thread: obd1 vr boost options.. help appreciated

    1. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      10-23-2011 09:13 PM #36
      Quote Originally Posted by djsheijkdfj View Post
      If you're going to OBD2, then no, there's no ISV - its function is replaced by the stepper motor in the throttle body.

      Are you talk about the plugs into the back of the fuse block? Just hold down the tabs and wiggle, they can be pretty stuck in there. You can use a small flathead to pry them out.
      Ok cool. I will try the screw driver again lol

      thanks

    2. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-07-2011 09:44 AM #37



    3. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-08-2011 10:35 AM #38
      I tried posting a pic of my parts but it didnt work, ill post it soon...

      On another note, i need some tips for fueling. I have a custom sri and it came with a fuel rail. I will need bigger fuel lines (assuming the size of feed and return) and a way to hook up an fpr, I heard it was a bitch..

      Can someone please show me some pics or just give me some general info about how i can set all this **** up? I also would like to install a fuel pump, so any directions on the install for that would be GREAT!

      I am getting really close to start this build and would like to cover everything before I get stuck.


    4. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-08-2011 10:41 AM #39
      Last edited by kushdubber; 11-26-2011 at 11:09 PM.

    5. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-26-2011 02:30 PM #40
      Any fueling pictures of your setups would be great
      Thanks
      Last edited by kushdubber; 11-27-2011 at 09:27 AM. Reason: fpr adapter

    6. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-26-2011 11:10 PM #41

    7. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-27-2011 10:04 AM #42
      If I run steel braided fuel lines do i run them to where the stock ones attatch near the shock tower? or do you guys run them all the way back?

    8. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-27-2011 03:56 PM #43
      Another fueling question. I am looking at this fpr adapter..

      http://www.bahnbrenner.com/vw_audi/p..._12V_Fuel_Rail

      It looks like the fpr would mount on the oposite side of stock. If this is the case, would i plug the far side of my fuel rail(driver side)? feed like goes in the top, return is in the bottom correct me if im wrong

      OR

      Would I be good running stock fuel lines to this adapter? I am running #42 injectors

      http://www.atpturbo.com/mm5/merchant...ory_Code=VVWFE
      Last edited by kushdubber; 11-27-2011 at 04:17 PM.

    9. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-27-2011 06:42 PM #44
      After doing some more reading, i can ditch the whole fpr adapter idea and use an ajustable one. I am thinking it will be better for the long run and tuning?

      This way I can hood up the feed and return fuel lines to each end of my rail and hook those up to my adj fpr.

      still my question is, should I upgrade all my lines to braided ones? I plan on installing an inline fuel pump as well.. so whatever help on that would be great.

      Correct me if any of that is wrong

      THanks!

    10. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-28-2011 12:29 PM #45

    11. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 26th, 2001
      Location
      PA
      Posts
      4,406
      Vehicles
      93 Passat VEEARRRRRRRRR
      11-28-2011 10:36 PM #46
      Just a helpful hint (before breaking the locating tabls off of your engine harness copnnectors) - there is a plastic "locking bar" that slides over about 1/2", this must be moved before attempting to remove the connectors from your CE2 panel.

      If you don't want to remove your OBD1 harness, you do have other engine management options.
      Lugtronic.com
      Eurodyne Maestro Tuning, Stand-Alone ECU Install/Tuning/Wiring Harnesses

    12. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      11-29-2011 04:01 PM #47
      Quote Originally Posted by lugnuts View Post
      Just a helpful hint (before breaking the locating tabls off of your engine harness copnnectors) - there is a plastic "locking bar" that slides over about 1/2", this must be moved before attempting to remove the connectors from your CE2 panel.

      If you don't want to remove your OBD1 harness, you do have other engine management options.
      At the time this seemed to be my best option price wise. Im way over my budget now anyways.

      But hat would make sense why they wont come out. Thanks for the tip i will give it a try

    13. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-04-2011 12:25 PM #48
      This gasket came with my kit but i gets in the way of the 4 outer holes as you can see. Is this the wrong gasket? What is the point of the inner holes?

      thanks


    14. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-04-2011 04:51 PM #49
      Quote Originally Posted by lugnuts View Post
      Just a helpful hint (before breaking the locating tabls off of your engine harness copnnectors) - there is a plastic "locking bar" that slides over about 1/2", this must be moved before attempting to remove the connectors from your CE2 panel.

      If you don't want to remove your OBD1 harness, you do have other engine management options.
      thanks man all the necessary plugs came out. 3/4 of the way done the harness swap

    15. Member
      Join Date
      Mar 15th, 2003
      Location
      London Ontario Canada
      Posts
      3,686
      12-04-2011 07:46 PM #50
      haha im running this exact turbo on my VRT , you whole setup is pretty much the same and i also converted from obd1 to obd2 hit me up if you have any q's

    16. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-04-2011 08:53 PM #51
      Quote Originally Posted by optiks View Post
      haha im running this exact turbo on my VRT , you whole setup is pretty much the same and i also converted from obd1 to obd2 hit me up if you have any q's
      thanks man!

    17. Member SVTDanny's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 7th, 2005
      Location
      Winchester, VA
      Posts
      16,850
      12-04-2011 09:18 PM #52
      That gasket is for a T3 inlet.

    18. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-04-2011 09:32 PM #53
      ****ty.. time to order the right one.

      so i can bolt the turbo up without filling in those inner holes then? I just dont understand why my manifold would have both. i guess it can be used for both applications..

      thanks!

    19. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-15-2011 12:39 PM #54
      hi guys, i have a question on fueling and setup with an adjustable fpr

      I have all my lines and fittings as well as an aeromotive fpr.. there are 3 in/out ports on my fpr and I have read through the setup manual which is telling me 2 ways to hook this up.

      #1 Block of the far end of my fuel rail. Run the feed line from the fuel pump into the fpr, and the other side (feed) into my rail. then i would run my return line from the bottom port on the fpr to my return line to tank

      #2 on the digram is running feed from my fuel pump to the far end (driver side) of my rail, then connecting the other side (passenger) of the rail to the port on the fpr. and then connecting my return from the bottom of the fpr to my return line to tank

      sry if it sounds confusing. hope someone can shed some light from a past experience.

      thanks

    20. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 22nd, 2002
      Location
      CT
      Posts
      4,988
      12-15-2011 02:42 PM #55
      Fuel feed line from the pump goes directly to the fuel rail inlet closes to pass. Side fender...

      Outlet is the far side n that goes to the side of the adj fpr...

      The bottom of the fpr is for the return and that goes to the tank...

      Post pics when ut done
      1988 Jetta Carat Vr6 powered by www.LugTronic.com (99.9% done!!! )

    21. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-15-2011 05:53 PM #56
      Quote Originally Posted by PjS860ct View Post
      Fuel feed line from the pump goes directly to the fuel rail inlet closes to pass. Side fender...

      Outlet is the far side n that goes to the side of the adj fpr...

      The bottom of the fpr is for the return and that goes to the tank...

      Post pics when ut done

      Thanks! I will!

    22. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-15-2011 06:08 PM #57
      my bad. can i cap off the un used port on the fpr? (2 out of 3 will be occupied)

    23. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 22nd, 2002
      Location
      CT
      Posts
      4,988
      12-15-2011 07:20 PM #58
      Yes u can cap off the un used port
      1988 Jetta Carat Vr6 powered by www.LugTronic.com (99.9% done!!! )

    24. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-18-2011 10:04 PM #59
      THanks!


      Another question I have been thinking about. I am wondering how to mount the dv.. i know it goes on the charge piping but I have seen it installed 2 different ways. 1) the bottom port is attached to the charge pipe and the side connects to the intake to recirculate. 2) or the opposite. side attached to charge pipe and bottom to intake.

      the second option imo would look a lot cleaner, i can install it upright.

      whats the difference and why are people running two different ways? can this be changed by switching the vac line to a boost line to reverse when the valve opens and closes? or vice verca...

      a good picture for a reference to option 2 would be Dm Motorsports Red Rocket with x2 dv's

      thnx

    25. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 22nd, 2002
      Location
      CT
      Posts
      4,988
      12-18-2011 10:40 PM #60
      Install it the normal way or option 1 look into the tial dv if u havent bought 1 yet...
      1988 Jetta Carat Vr6 powered by www.LugTronic.com (99.9% done!!! )

    26. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-19-2011 08:36 AM #61
      I have the forge super dv. i hope its not too big..

    27. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 22nd, 2002
      Location
      CT
      Posts
      4,988
      12-19-2011 01:41 PM #62
      Super dv is fine/perfect... my friend had it in his old vrt
      1988 Jetta Carat Vr6 powered by www.LugTronic.com (99.9% done!!! )

    28. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-19-2011 02:39 PM #63
      sick thanks. it looks dope

    29. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 22nd, 2002
      Location
      CT
      Posts
      4,988
      12-19-2011 02:50 PM #64
      blurry pic but you get the idea


      found a better pic
      1988 Jetta Carat Vr6 powered by www.LugTronic.com (99.9% done!!! )

    30. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-19-2011 06:24 PM #65
      great shot thanks man

    31. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-24-2011 02:22 PM #66
      finaly i got all the nuts tight on the exhaust mani, that was a bitch.

      i went to bolt up the turbo and realized that one of the nuts is too big to turn onto the threads. does anyone use a smaller nut? see below pic for reference..

      also, i clocked the compressor side of the turbo, pretty easy. but looking at the picture, it seems i am going to have to clock the exhaust side now too? the oil drain should be at the bottom, am i able to rotate the hot side? if so, is it the same deal as the cool side?

      thanks,


    32. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 22nd, 2002
      Location
      CT
      Posts
      4,988
      12-25-2011 12:00 AM #67
      put that nut on first... dont put the turbo all the way down the stud when you put the nut on...

      also loosen both the compressor bolts and the turbine bolts to clock the center housing... you can do this while the turbo is on the manifold or take the turbo off and clock it which is easier as you have more room to get access to the bolts...

      also install the return flange and return line on before you put the turbo back on the manifold...
      1988 Jetta Carat Vr6 powered by www.LugTronic.com (99.9% done!!! )

    33. Member CorradoFuhrer's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 21st, 2002
      Location
      Allentown, Pa
      Posts
      5,533
      Vehicles
      1997 GTI VR6T DE
      12-25-2011 01:03 AM #68
      Quote Originally Posted by kushdubber View Post
      finaly i got all the nuts tight on the exhaust mani, that was a bitch.

      i went to bolt up the turbo and realized that one of the nuts is too big to turn onto the threads. does anyone use a smaller nut? see below pic for reference..

      also, i clocked the compressor side of the turbo, pretty easy. but looking at the picture, it seems i am going to have to clock the exhaust side now too? the oil drain should be at the bottom, am i able to rotate the hot side? if so, is it the same deal as the cool side?

      thanks,

      just ran int this with my install. I wound up cutting studs on the bottom. Like stated, put the turbon on the edge of the bottom studs so just the first few threads are showing, then start the nut.

      GAP vs OEM nuts - This is why I had such a problem with mine.



      I bent up my studs a but my mani didn't leak, got lucky. I still ordered replacement studs which ill be installing sooner than expected

      both sides will turn, just loosen up those bolts. and for your DV - if your not running a boost controller leave the top port OPEN and nipple off turbo to the sideport. If your turbo doesnt have a vac port then mani + DV + EVAP (with check valve) if no check valve I left the evap open and alone, didn't seem to hurt anything.
      Last edited by CorradoFuhrer; 12-25-2011 at 01:06 AM.

    34. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 22nd, 2002
      Location
      CT
      Posts
      4,988
      12-25-2011 01:25 AM #69
      [QUOTE=Corrado******;75078437
      and for your DV - if your not running a boost controller leave the top port OPEN and nipple off turbo to the sideport. If your turbo doesnt have a vac port then mani + DV + EVAP (with check valve) if no check valve I left the evap open and alone, didn't seem to hurt anything.[/QUOTE]

      you mean wastegate? and not DV= diverter valve...
      1988 Jetta Carat Vr6 powered by www.LugTronic.com (99.9% done!!! )

    35. Member kushdubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 8th, 2010
      Location
      Btown
      Posts
      533
      Vehicles
      ching chong
      12-25-2011 02:20 AM #70
      Quote Originally Posted by PjS860ct View Post
      you mean wastegate? and not DV= diverter valve...
      I think he means that.

      I am hooking up boost line from compressor to wg. And dv vac line to intake mani.

      Thanks pj I'll try that. Corrado thanks but I didn't have to cut any studds, you have a kinetic mani?

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •