Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Results 1 to 35 of 140

    Thread: Vw Jetta Backup Camera

    1. Member Mo_Focus's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 9th, 2005
      Posts
      796
      Vehicles
      2010 Golf Highline TDI DSG, 2011 Jetta Highline TDI
      10-15-2011 04:34 PM #1
      I took a chance and ordered the JSW/Tiguan back-up camera and was hoping it will fit on the Jetta as well. Guess what???? it does

      Part number for the trunk handle on the Jetta is 5N0 827 566
      Part number for the JSW handle with camera is 5N0 827 566J so its the same part and it fits great.

      As for the rest of the install i haven't done it but looks very similar to what has been done on JSW.

      http://www.myturbodiesel.com/forum/f...ortwagen-5930/

      Few changes on the harness side. The harness that i ordered from Poland Ebay does come with Yellow/Black/Red wires. Black/Red wires are really long and go all the way. Yellow wire is short and should be used as "Signal" wire and get connected to the back up lights, no need to run it to CECM on the Jetta.

      Just before everyone starts asking me where i got it from, it was purchased from ebay under the seller www*carsystems*pl
      http://www.ebay.ca/itm/TIGUAN-5N-VW-...ht_3649wt_1185

      Here are the camera pictures.






      Install went really easy.

      Took radio out and connected the plug in the back of the RNS-315.

      I just followed the radio harness and followed the same path.







      then decided to follow another harness that went all the way to the back. took the door sills out and tucked the wire harness under. I've also decided to take 2 more wires and attach to the harness as well. These wires will be used later on for the rear fog and maybe something else as well, mind as well do all the leg work now.

      used the electrical wire and re-wrapped the length of the cable.

      once i got to the trunk, then just followed the same harness that goes into the trunk lid. Rest was easy!

      Sorry, i didnt take too many pictures, rain was on and off and i was trying to finish this ASAP.







      Here is the final product. Overall it was easy to do, lot of thanks goes to others that have finished this task in the past.
      10 VW Golf Highline DSG TDI- wife's , 11 VW Jetta Highline 6spd TDI mine!

    2. Member antwan30184's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 21st, 2011
      Location
      NE-METRO-ATL, GA
      Posts
      200
      Vehicles
      2012 GLI Autobahn Candy White
      10-15-2011 06:34 PM #2
      Does anybody know if this has been done with the rcd-510 / GLI fender system.
      Pride in the Simple Stuff.

    3. 10-15-2011 06:36 PM #3

      If I want to setup a backup camera I have to get RSD-310 or 510 first.

      But now I have RCD-510..

    4. Member panzer 2.3's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 24th, 2008
      Location
      pa
      Posts
      3,626
      Vehicles
      1979 rabbit VR6T, 2007 B6 passat 3.6L 4mo wagon (dd)
      10-15-2011 09:38 PM #4
      Sweet very nice. I may have to do this, great write up
      DCIVW Eastside

    5. Member MAXecutive's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 26th, 2011
      Posts
      242
      Vehicles
      2012 VW Jetta TDI, 1997 Nissan Maxima SE
      10-16-2011 02:11 PM #5
      Very nice, how much did it run you in parts? I see that you have a TDI 6spd also . I assume the harness has everything needed for the reverse gear switch. The link you posted doesn't work.
      2012 Volkswagon Jetta TDI - 6spd - Navi - 17" SELs - Votex Lip Kit
      1997 Nissan Maxima SE - V2 Supercharged w/ 11psi
      1986 Nissan 300ZX 2+2 GLL - 5spd

    6. Member Mo_Focus's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 9th, 2005
      Posts
      796
      Vehicles
      2010 Golf Highline TDI DSG, 2011 Jetta Highline TDI
      10-16-2011 03:45 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by MAXecutive View Post
      Very nice, how much did it run you in parts? I see that you have a TDI 6spd also . I assume the harness has everything needed for the reverse gear switch. The link you posted doesn't work.
      yeah the harness that i got from "www*carsystems*pl", just on ebay search for the seller. It was around 450$ canadian by the time it came to my door.

      As for the harness, its got everything, you just need to connect the 3 wires.
      Yellow- connects to the + signal wire of back-up lights.
      Black- connects to ground, wires are long enough that will allow you to connect to ground near fuse box.
      Red- its connected to a ACC+ in the fuse, but i need to buy the proper connetion to connect to the back of the fuse box. currently its just connected with "add a fuse"

      Hope this helps. Not sure what happened to myturbodiesel site, but if you just google vw back up camera you will get tons of hits.
      10 VW Golf Highline DSG TDI- wife's , 11 VW Jetta Highline 6spd TDI mine!

    7. Member MAXecutive's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 26th, 2011
      Posts
      242
      Vehicles
      2012 VW Jetta TDI, 1997 Nissan Maxima SE
      10-16-2011 10:01 PM #7
      Thanks, that's not a bad deal. Good idea on running a spare wire to the back for future use.
      2012 Volkswagon Jetta TDI - 6spd - Navi - 17" SELs - Votex Lip Kit
      1997 Nissan Maxima SE - V2 Supercharged w/ 11psi
      1986 Nissan 300ZX 2+2 GLL - 5spd

    8. Member
      Join Date
      May 16th, 2011
      Location
      Vancouver
      Posts
      244
      Vehicles
      2011 Jetta 2.5
      10-17-2011 03:29 AM #8
      Quote Originally Posted by antwan30184 View Post
      Does anybody know if this has been done with the rcd-510 / GLI fender system.
      shouldnt, the rcd units have no video input iirc
      2011 Jetta 2.5 Highline PGM
      - Autotech Engine Mount Insert - Full Interior LED Conversion + DRL

    9. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 26th, 2011
      Location
      Colorado Springs
      Posts
      174
      Vehicles
      '14 GLI
      11-29-2011 06:36 PM #9
      Has anyone talked to the dealership about any warranty issues with doing this?

    10. 11-30-2011 01:31 AM #10
      I've done some searching but couldn't find it anywhere but how do I find out what model radio I have to see if I can do this? I have a 2012 jetta 2.5 SE with convenience and sunroof. I would love to add this feature to my wife's car since she has a horrible time backing up. She backed into several things in her last car.

    11. 11-30-2011 12:49 PM #11
      According to VW's Website the SE with conv & moonroof comes with the Touchscreen VIII radio, the SEL would have provided you with the RNS-315 to hook up the back up camera.

      http://www.vw.com/en/models/jetta/tr...e88b943fe0e53c

    12. Member Mo_Focus's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 9th, 2005
      Posts
      796
      Vehicles
      2010 Golf Highline TDI DSG, 2011 Jetta Highline TDI
      11-30-2011 09:47 PM #12
      Quote Originally Posted by DEEEJ View Post
      Has anyone talked to the dealership about any warranty issues with doing this?
      why would you want to do that?
      10 VW Golf Highline DSG TDI- wife's , 11 VW Jetta Highline 6spd TDI mine!

    13. Member EuRoGTI86's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 27th, 2008
      Location
      LongIsland, NY
      Posts
      5,261
      Vehicles
      12' Jetta S, 93' Corrado SLC
      12-01-2011 04:00 AM #13
      will this work on an aftermarket gps unit?
      R.I.P. Allen A.K.A. vr6inside98. 89'-11' I LOVE YOU MAN
      Tri state area. VAG-COM (VCDS) Scans/Mods available (HEX+CAN)/Suspension install available/Fender rolling available. Send me a PM for pricing!
      Instagram- @mr_toffee

    14. 12-01-2011 04:16 AM #14
      Quote Originally Posted by Chpwaman View Post
      According to VW's Website the SE with conv & moonroof comes with the Touchscreen VIII radio, the SEL would have provided you with the RNS-315 to hook up the back up camera.

      http://www.vw.com/en/models/jetta/tr...e88b943fe0e53c
      Dang, so basically I'm out of luck and just have to pray she doesn't back into anything.

    15. 12-01-2011 12:09 PM #15

    16. 12-01-2011 12:25 PM #16

    17. 12-01-2011 12:37 PM #17
      That looks like the touchscreen VIII radio unit...did you install that aftermarket?

    18. 12-01-2011 12:39 PM #18
      It's a circuit board that goes inside the factory rcd 510

    19. 12-01-2011 02:13 PM #19
      Where can one find the card? I can find the external box for sale, but no card.

    20. 12-01-2011 09:53 PM #20
      Any shop that deals with directs. My boss might be down to do deals of you ship the radio I can do the mod and ship it back.

    21. 01-08-2012 12:23 AM #21
      I successfully completed the install today. Thanks Mo_Focus for your help on getting this done!! It wasn't that difficult of an install. I ended up ordering the part off of some guy on ebay. He ordered the JSW latch release / camera combo from VW Japan and the wire from VW Poland. I believe the total price was about $380'ish shipped to my door for both parts and it took about 2 1/2 hours for the install. Would have been done sooner, but my camera lead wasn't connected properly so it took a bit to diagnose.

      Let me know if anyone wants the contact information for this guy.

    22. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2011
      Location
      Southern California
      Posts
      346
      01-08-2012 01:37 AM #22
      I am very intrigued about getting the backup camera on the Premium VIII system. How difficult is it to install the circuit board as a DIY for the Premium VIII system? This is very, very interesting

    23. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jan 8th, 2012
      Posts
      83
      Vehicles
      Jetta MK6
      01-11-2012 05:05 PM #23
      Hi there!

      I bought the same camera from an eBay seller and originally intended to have a VW mechanic install but but having a look at this thread I may have a got at it myself.

      Are you able to give me some pointers on how to start pulling apart the trims and how to take the radio out? Or at least point me to a thread that shows how to do these? It seems straightforward but I don't want to start yanking out parts of the car and break them

      Thanks.

    24. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jan 8th, 2012
      Posts
      83
      Vehicles
      Jetta MK6
      01-11-2012 06:15 PM #24
      Ok this is just FYI for people thinking of getting a new head unit to install a camera.

      There are 3 RCD510's used by VW worldwide. One of them have definitely got a video input interface at the back, the other 2 may or may not. As I understand it, the head units of Jettas in the US all don't have video inputs. Can someone identify which of the following are used in the US?

      For those with non-touchscreen head units and would like to get one with a video input, I suggest looking for a BOSCH model shipped from overseas (US may only sell those without the input). You can identify the models based on the buttons on the screen.

      BOSCH - this one supposedly all have video input


      BLAUPUNKT - not sure?


      DELPHI - not sure?

    25. 01-11-2012 08:38 PM #25
      Quote Originally Posted by kickapoo View Post
      I am very intrigued about getting the backup camera on the Premium VIII system. How difficult is it to install the circuit board as a DIY for the Premium VIII system? This is very, very interesting
      Pm me and I can help you out if your in so cal then I could do it at my shop.

    26. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2011
      Location
      Southern California
      Posts
      346
      01-12-2012 12:32 AM #26
      ziggyboy,

      none of the ones you posted is the US-spec RCD-510 Premium VIII system. See picture below for what we have in the United States.



      Just because I haven't taken it out of the dash I can't confirm video input or manufacturer.

    27. Member antwan30184's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 21st, 2011
      Location
      NE-METRO-ATL, GA
      Posts
      200
      Vehicles
      2012 GLI Autobahn Candy White
      01-12-2012 12:39 AM #27
      I'm really interested in completing this on my 2012 GLI with Rcd 510 fender. Can u help an east coast guy out with parts and directions?

      Im the process now of collecting a bunch of parts for my massive diy install of hardwire radar detector with mute button hardwired in a custom button, esp button, and built in garage door opener, I figure while its all apart I can add this to the list.
      Pride in the Simple Stuff.

    28. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jan 8th, 2012
      Posts
      83
      Vehicles
      Jetta MK6
      01-12-2012 05:51 PM #28
      Quote Originally Posted by kickapoo View Post
      ziggyboy,

      none of the ones you posted is the US-spec RCD-510 Premium VIII system. See picture below for what we have in the United States.

      Just because I haven't taken it out of the dash I can't confirm video input or manufacturer.
      Interesting. So there are now at least 4 models of the RCD510! Confusing on VW's part. Why would they all call them RCD510, why not RCD510A, B, etc? Wonder who makes the US spec RCD510's...

    29. Member
      Join Date
      Dec 11th, 2011
      Location
      Austria - Wörthersee
      Posts
      101
      Vehicles
      Jetta MK4 + MK6
      01-12-2012 06:17 PM #29
      It would be simply, if u take your radio out --> take a look at the back --> finished

    30. Member JUANE DSG TDI's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 13th, 2007
      Location
      MEXICO
      Posts
      178
      Vehicles
      JETTA 2011 TDI DSG
      01-16-2012 10:55 PM #30
      I'll do as soon I'll get my stuff👏. 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍did you have to make a lot with the vag com? To make it work?

    31. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Jan 8th, 2012
      Posts
      83
      Vehicles
      Jetta MK6
      01-18-2012 10:26 AM #31
      Quote Originally Posted by JUANE DSG TDI View Post
      I'll do as soon I'll get my stuff👏. 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍did you have to make a lot with the vag com? To make it work?
      I had mine done by a mechanic. Radio has to be coded to let it know you've got a camera. If you've never used vagcom/vcds before then I suggest you let someone else do it.

    32. Member clutchrider's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 10th, 2010
      Location
      Connecticut
      Posts
      4,701
      Vehicles
      2012 GLI
      01-18-2012 11:17 AM #32
      So wait, if you have a 2012 GLI Autobahn with the Fender (no Phone button). Then how would you go about hooking it up. This thread seems to have gone in several directions with only limited part #'s and install directions or pointers.
      Quote Originally Posted by stagman View Post
      Driving an automatic is like watching porn on your computer...sure you get the same results, but your not really participating, are you?

    33. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Apr 17th, 2009
      Location
      Buffalo, NY
      Posts
      54
      Vehicles
      2012 GLI Autobahn w/Nav 6MT
      01-19-2012 10:12 AM #33
      For anyone who has done this, were you able to fish the wire across the dash (from the radio to the opening by the driver door) without taking the dash apart? From this thread it looked like that was possible, but I know over in the JSW thread they detail pulling the instrument cluster and everything to accomplish this. I'm hoping that's not necessary!

      Also, it was no problem to get the wire through the wire loom that goes into the trunk lid? Looking at mine it seems like it's pretty tight, especially with the video connector on the end of the cable.

      Thanks!

    34. 01-19-2012 10:23 AM #34
      Quote Originally Posted by skunkiechris View Post
      For anyone who has done this, were you able to fish the wire across the dash (from the radio to the opening by the driver door) without taking the dash apart? From this thread it looked like that was possible, but I know over in the JSW thread they detail pulling the instrument cluster and everything to accomplish this. I'm hoping that's not necessary!

      Also, it was no problem to get the wire through the wire loom that goes into the trunk lid? Looking at mine it seems like it's pretty tight, especially with the video connector on the end of the cable.

      Thanks!
      I took the cluster out its not that hard at all

    35. 01-19-2012 06:26 PM #35
      I didn't take my dash apart. All I did was take the radio out and fished the wire through a small hole which allowed me to get into the spot above the footwell. We didn't even take panels out. The only panel we took off was the footrest (which we still can't get back on). We ran the wires along the doorsill panels and tucked them under. They fell right into place and don't show at all. We then fished the wire into the trunk through a gap from the backseat area into the trunk (again you can't see anything). Lastly, we ran the wire in the plastic wire loom on the trunk and through the existing hole in the grommet. You can't tell this was installed aftermarket at all. Best of all...no need to take apart any panels. The entire install took 3 hours. 1 hour 30min of it was trying to figure out why the camera didn't switch over ( bad connection).

    Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •