Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 75 of 381

    Thread: Navigation firmware update for RNS-510

    1. Member greek bandit's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 29th, 2004
      Location
      springfield pa
      Posts
      358
      Vehicles
      09 CC VR6 4MOTION
      11-19-2011 09:33 PM #51
      to assist seki, this is how i successfully updated my rns and did vim as you saw in the pictures seki and i posted..... first i started and ran the car for five mins to make sure my cars battery had a full charge being the rns will be on for an extended period of time ( you can also put a battery charger or jump box on car) any drop of voltage under 10v will cause problems,i did not have to change my clock to 24hr setup but some of you may have to. i inserted disc (rns software update) no key in igniton and drivers door open (dome lights set to off to prevent battery drain) and as in pics in previous posts the set up ran from the disc(rns software update first), once completed i removed the disc and started the car once again for a min or two to recharge battery.now for vim.... once again key not in ignition and drivers door open with dome set to off, turned on rns and pressed and held the (eject),screen dim(button right next to eject) and the (guide) button until unit shut off and restarted, once unit was back on i inserted the vim disc and as stated above process took all of about 2-3 mins. if you are going to do the bootscreen change then follow the process for vim and you shouldnt have any problems...

    2. Member CC FROM CC's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 9th, 2011
      Location
      Santa Clarita California
      Posts
      127
      Vehicles
      2009 GTI DSG X2 ...........
      11-20-2011 03:12 AM #52
      great info and well detailed :thumb up:
      so far it looks like I got the vim to work but can I do the software update now or must I do the software update and then reinstall the vim?
      what does the software update actually do for my unit ? I do not have a back up camera , basically just curious if its even worth it to try and mess with the software update if it is not gonna really do anything ! thanks again to all for the help in this crazy procedure
      Stage3..... yes please!

    3. Member greek bandit's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 29th, 2004
      Location
      springfield pa
      Posts
      358
      Vehicles
      09 CC VR6 4MOTION
      11-20-2011 12:43 PM #53
      Quote Originally Posted by CC FROM CC View Post
      great info and well detailed :thumb up:
      so far it looks like I got the vim to work but can I do the software update now or must I do the software update and then reinstall the vim?
      what does the software update actually do for my unit ? I do not have a back up camera , basically just curious if its even worth it to try and mess with the software update if it is not gonna really do anything ! thanks again to all for the help in this crazy procedure
      even though you do not have a camera the update as ive noticed speeds up the units responce i.e when you push a button it doesnt take as long to respond, and the voice for the navi system is alot more clear and understandable, as for your first question you must do the update first the do vim after because the update will clear everything out and is not coded/made to have the vim coding

    4. Member travelguy_73's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 5th, 2008
      Location
      Houston, TX
      Posts
      216
      Vehicles
      2009 VW CC VR6
      11-20-2011 04:29 PM #54
      Quote Originally Posted by Seki View Post
      You should be good.
      Worked like a charm. Thanks to everyone for the screen shots and detailed information. Appears to working perfectly.
      2009 CC VR6 with navi (black on black)
      2007 Volvo XC70 (soccer dad car)

    5. Member ebi718's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 15th, 2011
      Location
      Brooklyn
      Posts
      687
      Vehicles
      2010 A6 Avant, 2009 A8 L
      11-20-2011 06:04 PM #55
      Thanks Seki I was able to apply the update. I didn't need to use the VIM iso; mine was coded with the tool, not software so it remained enabled. The other settings I had to re-enable were the secret menu for unit (via VCDS), and the POIs, speed camera/trap locations on the rns map: for some weird reason, the firmware update cleared these settings.
      2010 A6 3.0T Avant
      2009 A8 L

    6. Member Seki's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2009
      Location
      New York
      Posts
      3,001
      Vehicles
      2012 A6
      11-21-2011 09:24 AM #56
      Quote Originally Posted by de_bklyn View Post
      Thanks Seki I was able to apply the update. I didn't need to use the VIM iso; mine was coded with the tool, not software so it remained enabled. The other settings I had to re-enable were the secret menu for unit (via VCDS), and the POIs, speed camera/trap locations on the rns map: for some weird reason, the firmware update cleared these settings.
      Glad to help.

      How do you enable the speed camera/trap? Can you elaborate a bit on that topic?
      2012 A6
      Need VAG-COM/VCDS PM me

    7. Member greek bandit's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 29th, 2004
      Location
      springfield pa
      Posts
      358
      Vehicles
      09 CC VR6 4MOTION
      11-21-2011 10:02 AM #57
      Quote Originally Posted by Seki View Post
      Glad to help.

      How do you enable the speed camera/trap? Can you elaborate a bit on that topic?

      yes please elaborate......love to try this one

    8. 11-21-2011 12:28 PM #58
      Hi All,

      I've updated the firmware on my RNS-510 as instructured. I've noticed the changed featuers for the back-up camera (great).. Issue i have is the Nav doesnt seem to work. I cant enter an address, intersection, etc. The nav will take me home and thats it. Also, when i reboot my RNS-510 the loading screen says cant shut down syste, "please insert swl disk", this error is in red bars, both on top and bottom of my screen. But then my unit comes up. So my questions is what do i do?? lol. Should i try to flash the firware again?

      Also, i cant seem to get the VIM iso to work. Noticed two files in the zip and put both of them on a cd, any ideas?

      Thanks!

    9. Member Seki's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2009
      Location
      New York
      Posts
      3,001
      Vehicles
      2012 A6
      11-21-2011 12:49 PM #59
      Give it a shot with reinstalling the SW again.

      VIM I see you did not do your home work. Yes there are two files one is to enable VIM and the second one is to revert it back to factory. Only one should be on the CD and that one is VIM_Berto89.iso
      2012 A6
      Need VAG-COM/VCDS PM me

    10. Member ebi718's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 15th, 2011
      Location
      Brooklyn
      Posts
      687
      Vehicles
      2010 A6 Avant, 2009 A8 L
      11-21-2011 08:41 PM #60
      Thanks Seki I was able to apply the update. I didn't need to use the VIM iso; mine was coded with the tool, not software so it remained enabled. The other settings I had to re-enable were the secret menu for unit (via VCDS), and the POIs, speed camera/trap locations on the rns map: for some weird reason, the firmware update cleared these settings.
      Glad to help.

      How do you enable the speed camera/trap? Can you elaborate a bit on that topic?
      I used the option Extras > Places in Map and then selected from the list as shown below.



      Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk
      2010 A6 3.0T Avant
      2009 A8 L

    11. Member
      Join Date
      Jan 12th, 2011
      Location
      DMV
      Posts
      271
      Vehicles
      BMW M3
      11-21-2011 08:48 PM #61
      Quote Originally Posted by de_bklyn View Post
      I used the option Extras > Places in Map and then selected from the list as shown below.

      Sent from my PG86100 using Tapatalk
      I'm not sure what you mean here? Please explain

    12. Member ebi718's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 15th, 2011
      Location
      Brooklyn
      Posts
      687
      Vehicles
      2010 A6 Avant, 2009 A8 L
      11-21-2011 09:08 PM #62
      Quote Originally Posted by Beastmobile View Post
      I'm not sure what you mean here? Please explain
      I meant you have to (while on the Map display screen on your RNS unit), press the Extras button at the bottom of the screen. Then you can go ahead to add options (Places Of Interest, etc).
      By the way, if you have the stock Navteq 3M maps you may be able to select the additional POIs, speed cameras - not sure. I know the 4M map update has this - which a friend was kind enough to update for me. Hope this helps.
      2010 A6 3.0T Avant
      2009 A8 L

    13. Member Seki's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2009
      Location
      New York
      Posts
      3,001
      Vehicles
      2012 A6
      11-21-2011 10:20 PM #63
      I got the 4M maps installed a few days ago. Need to look in to it.
      Thanks
      2012 A6
      Need VAG-COM/VCDS PM me

    14. 11-22-2011 01:53 AM #64
      Thanks Seki! The re-install worked as did VIM_berto89

      Quote Originally Posted by Seki View Post
      Give it a shot with reinstalling the SW again.

      VIM I see you did not do your home work. Yes there are two files one is to enable VIM and the second one is to revert it back to factory. Only one should be on the CD and that one is VIM_Berto89.iso

    15. Member Seki's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2009
      Location
      New York
      Posts
      3,001
      Vehicles
      2012 A6
      11-22-2011 09:28 AM #65
      ^^^^
      Thanks for keeping us updated.
      2012 A6
      Need VAG-COM/VCDS PM me

    16. Junior Member Stuart Little's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 26th, 2011
      Location
      Denver, CO, USA
      Posts
      79
      Vehicles
      2010 Jetta TDI Cup Edition - 6 Speed Manual
      11-22-2011 03:40 PM #66
      I have a question about the SW1140, I have a 2010 TDI Cup, as I'm under warranty and had a speaker replaced today, I had the dealer check if there were any updates, they said there weren't any/I had the most up to date when they plugged it in.

      Does this mean this update will not help me/I already have it? I couldn't get them to tell me the version # I had (typical dealer BS, probably didn't really look) though.

      VIM worked for me, I just left the unit on (i.e. I didn't need a reset), key out, put in the disk and let it do its work.
      -08' S5 | 6MT | Meteor Gray Pearl Effect | Magma Red Interior | Nav + | Tech Package | Bang & Olufsen | CF Inlays
      -10' VW TDI Cup Edition | 6MT | Laser Blue | RNS-510 SatNav/DVD | Sunroof | ThunderBunny Bodykit | MDI
      -02' VW TDI Beetle | 5MT | Blue | 270k+ miles. -03' Suzuki SV1000N

    17. Member Seki's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2009
      Location
      New York
      Posts
      3,001
      Vehicles
      2012 A6
      11-22-2011 03:45 PM #67
      Do you have access to VCDS? If so you can look at what version you have.
      2012 A6
      Need VAG-COM/VCDS PM me

    18. Junior Member Stuart Little's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 26th, 2011
      Location
      Denver, CO, USA
      Posts
      79
      Vehicles
      2010 Jetta TDI Cup Edition - 6 Speed Manual
      11-22-2011 03:54 PM #68
      Yeah, I saw that, I don't have a vag-com but have friends with them/have done some changes myself before.

      I also just read that the VIM script enables the secret menu so I'll go take a quick look.
      -08' S5 | 6MT | Meteor Gray Pearl Effect | Magma Red Interior | Nav + | Tech Package | Bang & Olufsen | CF Inlays
      -10' VW TDI Cup Edition | 6MT | Laser Blue | RNS-510 SatNav/DVD | Sunroof | ThunderBunny Bodykit | MDI
      -02' VW TDI Beetle | 5MT | Blue | 270k+ miles. -03' Suzuki SV1000N

    19. 11-22-2011 03:56 PM #69
      Just did the upgrade of both firmware and VIM. worked with no issues!! however, i dont see any difference from the upgrade. either way, thank you for these files!!

    20. Junior Member Stuart Little's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 26th, 2011
      Location
      Denver, CO, USA
      Posts
      79
      Vehicles
      2010 Jetta TDI Cup Edition - 6 Speed Manual
      11-22-2011 04:11 PM #70
      Looks like the HW version is H08 and SW version is 1040 - specifically C_NAR_9.442_t925 so I think that means I'm eligible for upgrade to 1140 right?
      -08' S5 | 6MT | Meteor Gray Pearl Effect | Magma Red Interior | Nav + | Tech Package | Bang & Olufsen | CF Inlays
      -10' VW TDI Cup Edition | 6MT | Laser Blue | RNS-510 SatNav/DVD | Sunroof | ThunderBunny Bodykit | MDI
      -02' VW TDI Beetle | 5MT | Blue | 270k+ miles. -03' Suzuki SV1000N

    21. Member Seki's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2009
      Location
      New York
      Posts
      3,001
      Vehicles
      2012 A6
      11-22-2011 04:19 PM #71
      Quote Originally Posted by JoeRoke View Post
      Just did the upgrade of both firmware and VIM. worked with no issues!! however, i dont see any difference from the upgrade. either way, thank you for these files!!
      It responds a bit faster.
      2012 A6
      Need VAG-COM/VCDS PM me

    22. Member Seki's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2009
      Location
      New York
      Posts
      3,001
      Vehicles
      2012 A6
      11-22-2011 04:19 PM #72
      Quote Originally Posted by Stuart Little View Post
      Looks like the HW version is H08 and SW version is 1040 - specifically C_NAR_9.442_t925 so I think that means I'm eligible for upgrade to 1140 right?
      Yes you are.
      2012 A6
      Need VAG-COM/VCDS PM me

    23. Junior Member Stuart Little's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 26th, 2011
      Location
      Denver, CO, USA
      Posts
      79
      Vehicles
      2010 Jetta TDI Cup Edition - 6 Speed Manual
      11-22-2011 05:12 PM #73
      FYI, the VIM also adds in the "Secret Menu" without the need for a vagcom which was quite helpful, almost as handy as the MKV (2010 at least) trick for turning of the DRL's with the indicator stalk.
      -08' S5 | 6MT | Meteor Gray Pearl Effect | Magma Red Interior | Nav + | Tech Package | Bang & Olufsen | CF Inlays
      -10' VW TDI Cup Edition | 6MT | Laser Blue | RNS-510 SatNav/DVD | Sunroof | ThunderBunny Bodykit | MDI
      -02' VW TDI Beetle | 5MT | Blue | 270k+ miles. -03' Suzuki SV1000N

    24. Member Seki's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 19th, 2009
      Location
      New York
      Posts
      3,001
      Vehicles
      2012 A6
      11-22-2011 05:48 PM #74
      Yes that is correct forgot to bring that up. Thanks’ for the reminder.
      2012 A6
      Need VAG-COM/VCDS PM me

    25. Junior Member Stuart Little's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 26th, 2011
      Location
      Denver, CO, USA
      Posts
      79
      Vehicles
      2010 Jetta TDI Cup Edition - 6 Speed Manual
      11-22-2011 05:57 PM #75
      SideNote:
      Installed from 1040 to 1140, everything seems a bit faster indeed, no problems with Nav.

      I didn't have to redo the VIM hack, however I realized that I am missing the secret menu so that probably go removed, I guess redoing the VIM will get me back that secret menu in 45 seconds so I don't have to VagCom it.
      -08' S5 | 6MT | Meteor Gray Pearl Effect | Magma Red Interior | Nav + | Tech Package | Bang & Olufsen | CF Inlays
      -10' VW TDI Cup Edition | 6MT | Laser Blue | RNS-510 SatNav/DVD | Sunroof | ThunderBunny Bodykit | MDI
      -02' VW TDI Beetle | 5MT | Blue | 270k+ miles. -03' Suzuki SV1000N

    Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •