Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Replacing, changing alternator or thermostat jetta 1.8t---WITH PICTURES

1. 11-18-2011 03:21 PM #1
      There is a post on here written by "JDriver1.8T", (Alternator DIY-1.8T). His post was very helpful in getting me to change my wife's thermostat that the VW dealership wanted 700$ for!
      I made this post for guys like me who are a far cry from being a gear head. I am no mechanic, so bear that in mind for this thread.
      I am using some of JDriver1.8T's photos, I hope he doesn't mind. Rather than making two threads, one for the alternator, and one for thermostat, I am going to save myself some time, and just make one.

Time--- It took me the better part of 4 hours---, with good directions, I think you could beat that.

Step # 1-- Remove all the plastic covers shown below. To remove the battery cover, there are two indent tabs on the R and L side. Push them in and the cover will slide off. The srews on the other covers are 1/4 turn and release.
      [IMG]Cover removal[/IMG]

Step #2-- DC the battery red side (Positive)

Step #2.1--- You may find it easier to get at the wires on the back of the alternator and most definately easier to access the thermostat if you unscrew this manifold that is attached to the yellow oil dipstick tube (Sorry the picture below doesn't show it real well). This manifold is easily detached by unscrewing the 2 allen heads holding it in place. You do not need to disconnect any of the wires or hoses attached to it. You are just detaching it so you can tie it off out of your way. USE CAUTION when removing this manifold--- it has a tab recessed into the yellow oil dipstick tube--- that tube can become very brittle and will break VERY easily, like I found out the hard way (I had to replace it--15$ fix). Just be very gentle around that tube and when sliding the manifold tab out of it.