Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Diesel Exhaust smell coming in from vents on new 2012 TDI

1. Semi-n00b
      Vehicles
      2012 Candy White TDI Premium Nav
      11-21-2011 07:04 PM #1
      I just picked up my new 2012 Candy White TDI this weekend and there is the smell of Diesel exhaust coming in through the vents in the cabin. It is not there all the time but comes and goes. I asked the dealer to look into it but was told its just the undercoating from the burn in. I have been driving diesels for 20 years, I know what it smells like! Besides, the new TDI does not make diesel oder out the tail pipe and its not due to heat because it starts coming through the vents as soon as I start the engine. I traded a 2009 TDI Sportwagon and never smelled any diesel exhaust the entire time I owned it! I've walked around the car when the smell was coming in to see if the vents where pulling it in from outside but outside the car there is no noticeable odor, so I suspect it must be coming from under the hood near the firewall which is where the turbo and exhaust is located.

So my question to people here is has anyone else had this experience with a new 11 or 12 TDI? Will it go away or is a service call required 2 days after delivery?

Vehicles
      12 Jetta TDI Premium 13 Jetta SE with conv.
      11-21-2011 07:16 PM #2
      I haven't smelled any diesel since day 1 and have about 3k on it now. I'd be concerned also. ---Mike

3. Member
      Vehicles
      2012 Jetta TDI
      11-21-2011 08:07 PM #3
      I had an initial smell of what your dealer described but it went away. Every now and again when my car goes into regeneration I sometimes smell diesel when the exhaust is hot.

Vehicles
      Mk.6. 2013 Mondeo Hybrid. 2014 Mondeo Hybrid. Jeep 4x4. 300C HEMI (FS).
      11-21-2011 09:27 PM #4
      Check your injectors. There's a recall out for leaky injectors, and if they're leaking, that could be the cause.