Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 4 of 212 FirstFirst 123456781454104 ... LastLast
    Results 76 to 100 of 5295

    Thread: The Official Mk.VI Jetta "Ask a Stupid Question" Thread

    1. Member
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2011
      Location
      RVA
      Posts
      657
      Vehicles
      2011 Jetta SE, 1984 Rabbit diesel
      01-15-2012 04:01 PM #76
      Quote Originally Posted by 19onebadzj96 View Post
      Is there a way to buy a remote for cheap off the internet then have the dealer cut it and program it?
      the dealer wouldnt be able to cut you a key. i believe they order it according to your VIN

    2. Member NotLowEnough's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2011
      Location
      Chatham County, NC
      Posts
      5,944
      Vehicles
      Mk.6. 2013 Mondeo Hybrid. 2015 Mondeo Hybrid. Jeep 4x4. Disco II.
      01-15-2012 06:20 PM #77
      Quote Originally Posted by Fendermender View Post
      the dealer wouldnt be able to cut you a key. i believe they order it according to your VIN
      This. They get it from the factory already cut to your VIN and program it at the dealer. BMW has the same process.
      New guys: READ THIS FIRST. | 8V Society: #369 | VW / Audi & BMW Indy Technician (PM for VCDS / GT1 Coding) | Help find Grant's pictures.
      Quote Originally Posted by xombiesarelove View Post
      Seems like it would be pretty self explanatory. Just hand the guy a bomb and an IKEA level instruction sheet and call it day.
      Quote Originally Posted by NotLowEnough View Post
      GirlsLoveIt.

    3. Member Apk_Joe's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 14th, 2009
      Location
      Melbourne, FL
      Posts
      559
      Vehicles
      2012 VW Jetta 2.5 SE
      01-15-2012 06:34 PM #78
      I either want to know if you can convert the front end of a mk6 jetta with a mk6 gti?

    4. Member NotLowEnough's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2011
      Location
      Chatham County, NC
      Posts
      5,944
      Vehicles
      Mk.6. 2013 Mondeo Hybrid. 2015 Mondeo Hybrid. Jeep 4x4. Disco II.
      01-15-2012 06:48 PM #79
      Quote Originally Posted by Apk_Joe View Post
      I either want to know if you can convert the front end of a mk6 jetta with a mk6 gti?
      This has been discussed in the forum before.

      Short answer: No.

      Long answer: Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.
      New guys: READ THIS FIRST. | 8V Society: #369 | VW / Audi & BMW Indy Technician (PM for VCDS / GT1 Coding) | Help find Grant's pictures.
      Quote Originally Posted by xombiesarelove View Post
      Seems like it would be pretty self explanatory. Just hand the guy a bomb and an IKEA level instruction sheet and call it day.
      Quote Originally Posted by NotLowEnough View Post
      GirlsLoveIt.

    5. Member
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2011
      Location
      RVA
      Posts
      657
      Vehicles
      2011 Jetta SE, 1984 Rabbit diesel
      01-15-2012 06:49 PM #80
      Quote Originally Posted by Apk_Joe View Post
      I either want to know if you can convert the front end of a mk6 jetta with a mk6 gti?
      At least this is in the right thread

      there has already been some debate on this and lets just say that its probably not a project that you would take on and the possibility of it has not been confirmed 100%.

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Nov 3rd, 2011
      Location
      RVA
      Posts
      657
      Vehicles
      2011 Jetta SE, 1984 Rabbit diesel
      01-15-2012 06:51 PM #81
      Quote Originally Posted by JohnIBarr01 View Post
      This has been discussed in the forum before.

      Short answer: No.

      Long answer: Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.
      haha i was wondering what your response to this question would be.

    7. Junior Member CWVWJ's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 7th, 2011
      Location
      OH
      Posts
      72
      Vehicles
      2011 VW Jetta SE
      01-15-2012 07:48 PM #82
      OK, here is my stupid question... I want to add the chrome accent strip to the lower grille without replacing it. I've seen a couple people doing this and I wanted to know what millimeter chrome strip I need?
      2011 CW Jetta SE w/ Conv. & Sunroof. OEM lip spoiler. ECS Fog Light Kit/Euro switch. ST Coilovers. VMR v701 Gunmetal, 225/40/18.

    8. Member Apk_Joe's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 14th, 2009
      Location
      Melbourne, FL
      Posts
      559
      Vehicles
      2012 VW Jetta 2.5 SE
      01-15-2012 08:00 PM #83

      lolrg by Mk4_Joe, on Flickr

      don't like?

    9. Member NotLowEnough's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2011
      Location
      Chatham County, NC
      Posts
      5,944
      Vehicles
      Mk.6. 2013 Mondeo Hybrid. 2015 Mondeo Hybrid. Jeep 4x4. Disco II.
      01-15-2012 10:39 PM #84
      Quote Originally Posted by Apk_Joe View Post

      lolrg by Mk4_Joe, on Flickr

      don't like?
      Obvious Photoshop is obvious.

      IB4"I TOLD YOU IT COULD BE DONE!"
      New guys: READ THIS FIRST. | 8V Society: #369 | VW / Audi & BMW Indy Technician (PM for VCDS / GT1 Coding) | Help find Grant's pictures.
      Quote Originally Posted by xombiesarelove View Post
      Seems like it would be pretty self explanatory. Just hand the guy a bomb and an IKEA level instruction sheet and call it day.
      Quote Originally Posted by NotLowEnough View Post
      GirlsLoveIt.

    10. Member EuroTrade's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 24th, 2011
      Location
      Milwaukee wi
      Posts
      588
      Vehicles
      mkvi jetta
      01-16-2012 12:55 PM #85
      Would Mkv jetta coils work on mk vi?

    11. 01-16-2012 01:08 PM #86
      Somebody else already asked, but I didn't see a decent answer.

      Where or what in the hell do you do with the gas cap when putting gas? Just let it hang al over the side of the car? I'm about to cut that dam plastic off the cap and just sit the cap on the pump every time I get fuel.........pics would be nice.. thanks

    12. Member asusc's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 22nd, 2004
      Location
      Phoenix, AZ
      Posts
      799
      Vehicles
      2015 GTI
      01-16-2012 01:25 PM #87
      Quote Originally Posted by SanJoseJetta View Post
      Somebody else already asked, but I didn't see a decent answer.

      Where or what in the hell do you do with the gas cap when putting gas? Just let it hang al over the side of the car? I'm about to cut that dam plastic off the cap and just sit the cap on the pump every time I get fuel.........pics would be nice.. thanks
      Its kind of tough to see in the original pics posted in this thread, so I went ahead and snapped some more. There are 4 slots in the cap. You need to mount two of them on the gas cap door.


      Matt / 2015 Pure GTI / AWE / APR

      Hit me up if you need a VAGCOM in Phoenix.

    13. 01-16-2012 01:35 PM #88
      Quote Originally Posted by asusc View Post
      Its kind of tough to see in the original pics posted in this thread, so I went ahead and snapped some more. There are 4 slots in the cap. You need to mount two of them on the gas cap door.


      Hmmm, I'll try that...thanks

    14. Member NotLowEnough's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2011
      Location
      Chatham County, NC
      Posts
      5,944
      Vehicles
      Mk.6. 2013 Mondeo Hybrid. 2015 Mondeo Hybrid. Jeep 4x4. Disco II.
      01-16-2012 01:38 PM #89
      Quote Originally Posted by EuroTrade View Post
      Would Mkv jetta coils work on mk vi?
      Mk.V front coils work across the model range. Mk.V rear coils only fit the GLI.
      New guys: READ THIS FIRST. | 8V Society: #369 | VW / Audi & BMW Indy Technician (PM for VCDS / GT1 Coding) | Help find Grant's pictures.
      Quote Originally Posted by xombiesarelove View Post
      Seems like it would be pretty self explanatory. Just hand the guy a bomb and an IKEA level instruction sheet and call it day.
      Quote Originally Posted by NotLowEnough View Post
      GirlsLoveIt.

    15. Member EuroTrade's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 24th, 2011
      Location
      Milwaukee wi
      Posts
      588
      Vehicles
      mkvi jetta
      01-16-2012 01:44 PM #90
      What would happen if I used a mkVI strut with a Mkv rear spring?

    16. Member pdt165's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 29th, 2011
      Location
      Fl
      Posts
      502
      Vehicles
      2011 Jetta TDI
      01-16-2012 01:50 PM #91
      Quote Originally Posted by taveraw View Post
      Just tried it. YES! That is it.

      OK now for another stupid one.... When it is cold out, the display will automatically beep and change to the flashing temperature with the snowflake. Irritating...

      But today, I was driving on the freeway, going about 67 in a 65. The display beeped and flashed the mph, like the snoflake. DOES THIS CAR WARN YOU ABOUT SPEED? I will be so irritated if it does!!!
      The temp is warning you that there could be ice on the road. it happend beloew 39 F.
      The speed warning can be set and/or turned off.
      Fuelly info:
      http://mefi.us/images/fuelly/sig-us/84732.png
      LED bulbs in almost all possible locations. Aftermarket OEM Fogs. ESP Off Button. Malone Stage 1.5 Tune.
      Micro-Can, Jupiter FL, PM me.

    17. Member dh71704's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2nd, 2011
      Location
      Washington, Illinois
      Posts
      1,355
      Vehicles
      2012 Jetta SE with Convience and Sunroof____ 2015 Odyssey Touring
      01-16-2012 04:39 PM #92
      I have noticed on the new Passat and a Routan that when they turn a turn signal on. the drl that is on the same side goes off. Is this possible on the Jetta or is it a no go?

    18. Member NotLowEnough's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2011
      Location
      Chatham County, NC
      Posts
      5,944
      Vehicles
      Mk.6. 2013 Mondeo Hybrid. 2015 Mondeo Hybrid. Jeep 4x4. Disco II.
      01-16-2012 04:43 PM #93
      Quote Originally Posted by dh71704 View Post
      I have noticed on the new Passat and a Routan that when they turn a turn signal on. the drl that is on the same side goes off. Is this possible on the Jetta or is it a no go?
      Don't they do this already?

      I've never paid attention to the front of mine with the signals on.
      New guys: READ THIS FIRST. | 8V Society: #369 | VW / Audi & BMW Indy Technician (PM for VCDS / GT1 Coding) | Help find Grant's pictures.
      Quote Originally Posted by xombiesarelove View Post
      Seems like it would be pretty self explanatory. Just hand the guy a bomb and an IKEA level instruction sheet and call it day.
      Quote Originally Posted by NotLowEnough View Post
      GirlsLoveIt.

    19. Member dh71704's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2nd, 2011
      Location
      Washington, Illinois
      Posts
      1,355
      Vehicles
      2012 Jetta SE with Convience and Sunroof____ 2015 Odyssey Touring
      01-16-2012 05:23 PM #94
      Quote Originally Posted by JohnIBarr01 View Post
      Don't they do this already?

      I've never paid attention to the front of mine with the signals on.
      I have a Euro switch and I know my DRL's stay on, never payed attention to them when I had the stock switch in.

    20. Member asusc's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 22nd, 2004
      Location
      Phoenix, AZ
      Posts
      799
      Vehicles
      2015 GTI
      01-16-2012 05:28 PM #95
      Quote Originally Posted by dh71704 View Post
      I have a Euro switch and I know my DRL's stay on, never payed attention to them when I had the stock switch in.
      I just checked, mine do as well in the GLI.
      Matt / 2015 Pure GTI / AWE / APR

      Hit me up if you need a VAGCOM in Phoenix.

    21. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 17th, 2011
      Location
      Trinidad and Tobago
      Posts
      1,266
      Vehicles
      2012 1.4 TSI Jetta Comfortline
      01-17-2012 06:41 AM #96
      What's the weight of a 17 inch OEM Joda wheel which comes with the Jetta?

      This wheel is also known as "Queensland" outside of the US.

    22. Member
      Join Date
      Oct 17th, 2011
      Location
      Trinidad and Tobago
      Posts
      1,266
      Vehicles
      2012 1.4 TSI Jetta Comfortline
      01-20-2012 05:41 AM #97
      My question is too stupid for this thread.

      Sad Rawcpoppa is sad.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    23. Member clutchrider's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 10th, 2010
      Location
      Connecticut
      Posts
      4,899
      Vehicles
      2012 GLI
      01-20-2012 09:24 AM #98
      Would changing bulbs constitute a warranty void? More specifically since I put in LED DRL's on my GLI and have the bulb out warning and plan on adding a set of clip-in resistors, would that void anything? Would the dealer even care?

      I only ask because it's covered for 3/36 and all scheduled maintenance included and I don't want them to tell me they won't do any scheduled work on the car because of this.
      Quote Originally Posted by stagman View Post
      Driving an automatic is like watching porn on your computer...sure you get the same results, but your not really participating, are you?

    24. Member NotLowEnough's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2011
      Location
      Chatham County, NC
      Posts
      5,944
      Vehicles
      Mk.6. 2013 Mondeo Hybrid. 2015 Mondeo Hybrid. Jeep 4x4. Disco II.
      01-20-2012 11:07 AM #99
      Quote Originally Posted by clutchrider View Post
      Would changing bulbs constitute a warranty void? More specifically since I put in LED DRL's on my GLI and have the bulb out warning and plan on adding a set of clip-in resistors, would that void anything? Would the dealer even care?

      I only ask because it's covered for 3/36 and all scheduled maintenance included and I don't want them to tell me they won't do any scheduled work on the car because of this.
      No. Bulbs are a maintenance item. If they ask, just tell them the OE bulb burnt out and you went ahead and replaced the whole set.

      Now if you put the wrong wattage bulb in and it fries the wiring harnesses, then you're up ****'s creek if they see the LED DRL's in there.
      New guys: READ THIS FIRST. | 8V Society: #369 | VW / Audi & BMW Indy Technician (PM for VCDS / GT1 Coding) | Help find Grant's pictures.
      Quote Originally Posted by xombiesarelove View Post
      Seems like it would be pretty self explanatory. Just hand the guy a bomb and an IKEA level instruction sheet and call it day.
      Quote Originally Posted by NotLowEnough View Post
      GirlsLoveIt.

    25. Banned SimpleStaple's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 15th, 2011
      Location
      Villanova, PA
      Posts
      1,913
      Vehicles
      Jetta VI 2.5L
      01-20-2012 04:19 PM #100
      Quote Originally Posted by JohnIBarr01 View Post
      No. Bulbs are a maintenance item. If they ask, just tell them the OE bulb burnt out and you went ahead and replaced the whole set.

      Now if you put the wrong wattage bulb in and it fries the wiring harnesses, then you're up ****'s creek if they see the LED DRL's in there.
      I think it comes down to the dealership. I had LED's in my trunk (194) and they ended up being non-CANBUS. So, short story, I had the dealer fix the burnt out fuse, but since they were LED's and not Halogens, they stuck me with the few bucks for labor and the fuse (a$$h0les).

    Page 4 of 212 FirstFirst 123456781454104 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •