Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 16 of 16

    Thread: 3500RPM limiter

    1. Member ALLGORIMSHOW's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 1st, 2002
      Location
      AB
      Posts
      7,690
      Vehicles
      CAR
      02-05-2012 08:38 PM #1
      Hey guys, been doing some searching but nothing solid as to why this 24v in a MK3 I'm looking at wont rev past 3500rpm. Is it in limp mode or some sort of valet mode? I don't know if the ECU is stock or if it has a tune but that could be found out I'm sure. I would appreciate any wisdom.

    2. Geriatric Member need_a_VR6's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 19th, 1999
      Location
      Oxford, PA
      Posts
      35,403
      Vehicles
      03 325i
      02-05-2012 09:57 PM #2
      What ecu/tune is in it?
      -Paul
      1995 GTI VR6 - Retired - 12.90@106 R32 power - 12.833@106 12v power
      KPTuned - Official MegaSquirt: Sales - Repair - Installation - Tuning
      MK3 Race Car Partout

    3. Member ALLGORIMSHOW's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 1st, 2002
      Location
      AB
      Posts
      7,690
      Vehicles
      CAR
      02-05-2012 10:16 PM #3
      Quote Originally Posted by need_a_VR6 View Post
      What ecu/tune is in it?
      I don't know if it has a tune but it starts and drives so I'm assuming it has the IMMO defeat. I will post up the ECU numbers asap.

      Thanks

    4. Member Wolfschnee's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 14th, 2009
      Location
      North Jersey
      Posts
      353
      Vehicles
      RIP: 2004 VW vr6 gti : 2003 vw vr6 gti almost as good as the last one
      02-05-2012 10:24 PM #4
      Does it idle rough? when you hit 3500 what happens? Does it just bounce off or does it stutter?

    5. Member ALLGORIMSHOW's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 1st, 2002
      Location
      AB
      Posts
      7,690
      Vehicles
      CAR
      02-05-2012 10:41 PM #5
      Quote Originally Posted by Wolfschnee View Post
      Does it idle rough? when you hit 3500 what happens? Does it just bounce off or does it stutter?
      Idle is good, only hunts 100-200 when really cold out but smooth out quickly. Ill get back to you on what happens at 3500rpm.

      Thanks.

    6. Member GTIVRon's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 24th, 2009
      Location
      Keller, Texas
      Posts
      4,149
      Vehicles
      92 Corrado SLC, '12 Golf R
      02-05-2012 11:56 PM #6
      Is the the dash also swapped? OBDII port in tact? In other words, does it have a check engine light on? Or can you hook up a VAG-COM and check for faults?

      Was it like this immediately after the swap? Or was it running fine and then went into limp mode?
      2002.5 Jetta 1.8T - TOTALED (dodging deer)
      2002.5 24v GTI - TOTALED (rear-ended by a Jeep)
      1992 Corrado SLC - Dead. Will be back.. stronger.
      2012 Golf R - Daily Driver Status

    7. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 30th, 2007
      Location
      Quebec, Canada
      Posts
      703
      Vehicles
      Jetta TDI 03, Corrado 24v 90.
      02-06-2012 09:59 AM #7
      I believe the ECU is expecting signal from ABS sensor. The ECU needs to be chipped for this particular issue.

    8. Member ALLGORIMSHOW's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 1st, 2002
      Location
      AB
      Posts
      7,690
      Vehicles
      CAR
      02-06-2012 10:17 AM #8
      Quote Originally Posted by GTIVRon View Post
      Is the the dash also swapped? OBDII port in tact? In other words, does it have a check engine light on? Or can you hook up a VAG-COM and check for faults?

      Was it like this immediately after the swap? Or was it running fine and then went into limp mode?
      No dash swap and Ill have to see if the port is working. Its was limited from the get go.

      Its limits just like a normal limiter.

      Thanks for the input guys

    9. Member ALLGORIMSHOW's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 1st, 2002
      Location
      AB
      Posts
      7,690
      Vehicles
      CAR
      02-06-2012 06:07 PM #9
      Quote Originally Posted by madonion View Post
      I believe the ECU is expecting signal from ABS sensor. The ECU needs to be chipped for this particular issue.
      ABS braking system? I didn't think the two were related...

    10. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 30th, 2007
      Location
      Quebec, Canada
      Posts
      703
      Vehicles
      Jetta TDI 03, Corrado 24v 90.
      02-06-2012 08:23 PM #10
      You need a patch for the VSS I just looked at my bill. Ask any chip tuner they will know what you need. If you clear the ecu you should be able to rev to the normal limiter a few times than it will engage the soft limiter at 3500 or 4000 RPM because the ecu is not receiving the signal from the VSS and it's expecting it. I believe the ECU get's the vss signal from the ABS on mkIV MK5.

      http://the-corrado.net/archive/index...0610-p-2.html?
      Last edited by madonion; 02-06-2012 at 08:35 PM.

    11. Member ALLGORIMSHOW's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 1st, 2002
      Location
      AB
      Posts
      7,690
      Vehicles
      CAR
      02-06-2012 08:35 PM #11
      Thanks for the advice, Ill get in touch with my guy tomorrow.

    12. Member PhReE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 16th, 2004
      Location
      Taylorsville, UT
      Posts
      9,037
      Vehicles
      2004 Turbo VR6
      02-07-2012 11:51 AM #12
      Quote Originally Posted by madonion View Post
      I believe the ECU is expecting signal from ABS sensor. The ECU needs to be chipped for this particular issue.
      I have heard of this one before, I agree, I think this is the problem.
      -James
      04 GTI Silverstone 24vT :: GT35r - TT 264/260 - Unitronic 630cc - Bosch 044 - Area51 SRI - Full 3" TB :: More in progress
      >> http://zingledot.myminicity.com/ | http://sourceforge.net/projects/imagizer2 <<

    13. Member ALLGORIMSHOW's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 1st, 2002
      Location
      AB
      Posts
      7,690
      Vehicles
      CAR
      02-07-2012 10:22 PM #13
      Quote Originally Posted by PhReE View Post
      I have heard of this one before, I agree, I think this is the problem.
      After some researching it does seem to be the same problem as others have had. Now I just need to find a tuner in my area that can clear this up.

      Thanks for all help fellas.

    14. Member Filthydubber's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 6th, 2007
      Location
      CT
      Posts
      3,369
      Vehicles
      A few cars
      02-09-2012 04:10 PM #14
      Give Jeff at United Motorsport a call, he just put software on my buddies swap car, that takes care of all the abs and immo codes.

      He will help you out.

    15. Member ALLGORIMSHOW's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 1st, 2002
      Location
      AB
      Posts
      7,690
      Vehicles
      CAR
      02-09-2012 04:30 PM #15
      Quote Originally Posted by Filthydubber View Post
      Give Jeff at United Motorsport a call, he just put software on my buddies swap car, that takes care of all the abs and immo codes.

      He will help you out.
      What software does he use?

      I have a local guy looking into it for me but this is helpful info. Thanks

    16. Member PhReE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 16th, 2004
      Location
      Taylorsville, UT
      Posts
      9,037
      Vehicles
      2004 Turbo VR6
      02-10-2012 12:54 PM #16
      Quote Originally Posted by ALLGORIMSHOW View Post
      What software does he use?

      I have a local guy looking into it for me but this is helpful info. Thanks
      He uses United Motorsports software (heh yeah, he is the author, and it is the best stuff out there)
      -James
      04 GTI Silverstone 24vT :: GT35r - TT 264/260 - Unitronic 630cc - Bosch 044 - Area51 SRI - Full 3" TB :: More in progress
      >> http://zingledot.myminicity.com/ | http://sourceforge.net/projects/imagizer2 <<

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •