Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to get someone to look at your resume, without a degree

1. Member
      Vehicles
      2006 A4 Avant
      02-17-2012 02:40 PM #1
      After a somewhat crappy week at work, I have decided its time to move on. Crappy pay rise, and work that I get nothing out of, leaves me just bored and feeling unhappy. So, I start looking for work, I find a job that lists a bunch of criteria that I fit. Then the bottom line says:

"Bachelor's degree preferred, or equivalent, plus 3-5 years related experience. Candidates who hold degrees will be given first consideration."

I don't have a degree (UK citizen, went to college for 2 years, but spent it doing anything but study). I have 5+ years experience, tick all the other boxes for their requirements, yet if someone comes along with a degree, they get first consideration regardless. What do I have to do in order to get considered?

One interview I had a while back was going really well, right up until the guy who would have been my managers manager asked me if I was planning to get my degree. I felt like it's an impossible question to answer. On the one hand, sure I would love to get one, but I am 33, and I can't afford not to be working. Also, I feel that to a potential employer, if I tell them I would like to get my degree, it would raise a red flag as I am going to likely either not be in it for the long term, or looking for days out to study etc. But, if I say no, then it seems like I don't care. What really sucks is that these are jobs where I have plenty of experience.

Any ideas? or is it simply luck?
      Twitter/Instagram: idfront
      Xbox Live: DaDa5069

2. 02-17-2012 03:07 PM #2