Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
    Results 76 to 100 of 130

    Thread: What did you do to your computer today?

    1. Member efrie's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 19th, 2008
      Location
      Arkansas
      Posts
      4,034
      Vehicles
      2000 7.3PSD, 99.5 7.3PSD, 2003 F150 FX4
      04-22-2012 02:30 PM #76
      Best video card for ~ $150, what's your vote?

    2. Geriatric Member BRealistic's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2005
      Location
      Tennessee
      Posts
      66,506
      Vehicles
      88 F150, 04 RX8
      04-22-2012 02:43 PM #77
      Quote Originally Posted by efrie View Post
      Best video card for ~ $150, what's your vote?
      http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ew,3107-3.html

      AMD Radeon HD 6850 or GeForce GTX 460- whichever is cheaper.

      (tho you might score a rebate on an HD 6870)

      If your PSU is weak, you might go for an HD 7750 since it runs off the PCI-e slot power.
      Last edited by BRealistic; 04-22-2012 at 02:45 PM.
      “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.”

    3. Member efrie's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 19th, 2008
      Location
      Arkansas
      Posts
      4,034
      Vehicles
      2000 7.3PSD, 99.5 7.3PSD, 2003 F150 FX4
      04-22-2012 05:39 PM #78
      I'm thinking of upgrading one of my systems a little bit, don't want to go crazy, but I've got the itch.

      Anyways, here's what it's running now:

      Athlon II X4 620 @ 3Ghz
      4GB DDR3 (2GB x 2)
      Asus M4A77TD Motherboard
      Radeon HD5670

      I think I'm gonna throw these things into the mix:

      Antec P280 Case
      http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129179

      Cooler Master 700W PSU
      http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817171054

      XFX Radeon 6850 1GB 256bit
      http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150573

      Should give it quite the boost. Do I really need more than 4GB of RAM? I never use all of it (W7 64bit) as it is right now. Doesn't seem like it'd make that big of a difference.

    4. Senior Member A.Wilder's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 1st, 2003
      Location
      Raleigh, NC
      Posts
      23,613
      Vehicles
      Ferrari La Ferrari
      04-22-2012 07:39 PM #79
      I turned my PC on this weekend. First time in a few weeks. Compared to my step son's, it's a POS!
      Quote Originally Posted by koidragon1980 View Post
      If Jesus is your pilot, then irony is your vehicle.

    5. Senior Member Hostile's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 29th, 2002
      Location
      NoVA
      Posts
      30,656
      Vehicles
      '15 STi & '13 GTI
      04-26-2012 10:04 AM #80
      My new keyboard came yesterday, a Logitech G510.

    6. 04-28-2012 10:28 PM #81
      Built a test ESXi box to replace the 4 old Optiplexes I had at home:

      i7 3930K
      32GB RAM
      2x 256GB Samsung 830 SSD in RAID 0

      The best part is that work paid for it so I basically got whatever the **** I wanted.

    7. Member theuean's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 11th, 2000
      Location
      Vancouver, BC
      Posts
      7,270
      Vehicles
      13 Rabbits, 92 GTI 16v, Passat 1.8t
      05-01-2012 12:18 AM #82
      Nice. What RAID card did you go with? I'm in a position where we're rolling out esxi to clients who bought servers just for data redundancy purposes (OS hooped? *blink* there I restored the image, you're good to go) but, most clients opted in for the cheapest HP ML350 G6 they could get which has software RAID which is a no go with vsphere.
      Sean
      formerly Speedemon


    8. 05-01-2012 10:57 PM #84
      What did the clients say/do when they discovered that ESXi (at least with working RAID underneath it) was a no-go?

      I'm very lucky to have a salaried 9-5 and not deal with the BS that comes along with consulting or working for an MSP. I still have to do a little bit of nagging to get anything purchased, but I love coming to work with friendly coworkers and not irritating customers.

    9. Junior Member Westylifestyle's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 1st, 2012
      Location
      Studio City, Ca. (SoCal)
      Posts
      34
      Vehicles
      82 Vw Vanagon *Donor* 82 Westfalia, 83 w123 300d turbo diesel, 1989 325ic
      05-06-2012 09:35 AM #85
      Just enjoyed my new hackintosh rig...woot!
      German auto freak!!

      Truth is treason in the empire of lies...

    10. Member theBOYER's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 10th, 2008
      Location
      Miami, FL
      Posts
      882
      Vehicles
      2014 F56 S, 2013 R55 JCW
      05-13-2012 06:09 PM #86
      Upgraded my wife's intel core 2 duo Black 13" Macbook (2006 model). doubled the ram to 2gb (Kingston oc2-5300 667MHz). Replaced the 128gb HDD with a Crucial M4 128gb SSD and installed OS X 10.6 (she was still running 10.4.11 on the previous HDD). Replaced the cracked/broken keyboard (upper cover). Macbook is running fantastic now.
      ...remember, short controlled bursts

      Steam VTMTK_Vendetta
      Origin: VTMTK_Vendetta
      Youtube: InsertCoinToBegin

    11. Member efrie's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 19th, 2008
      Location
      Arkansas
      Posts
      4,034
      Vehicles
      2000 7.3PSD, 99.5 7.3PSD, 2003 F150 FX4
      03-06-2013 11:51 PM #87
      This thread is old, so I thought I'd give it a boost. Doesn't have to be today.

      In the last month I got a 6950, gave it the BIOS of a 6970. Got a new PSU and a new case. Here's the outcome:





      AMD II X4 620 @3Ghz
      ASUS M4A77-TD
      4GB DDR3 @... It's been a while
      Gigabyte 6950 @ 6970
      Rosewill 700W PSU (bite me)
      Antec 300 case

      Big upgrade for me, I'm loving it.

    12. Member morbs_gt's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 21st, 2008
      Location
      Behind you, looking over your shoulder
      Posts
      3,487
      03-07-2013 03:32 PM #88
      I picked up an aspire one to carry around while backpacking in latin america, almost got mint 14 setup with all my favorite goodies.

      2, well 3 important things left:
      -figure how to get it to boot from sdcard
      -mousepad not active by default, i have to fn+F7 at every boot, no way to simulate fn keypress on boot
      -display brightness always on max and draining battery life. Can't script anything to edit wmi classes, while the values change the screen remains on max setting :S

      Getting googlesketchup to run under wine at the moment.
      Sent from my vwvortex account.

    13. 03-09-2013 07:54 PM #89
      Replaced the stock cooler with a water cooler.




      I accidentally yanked the processor out of the socket while trying to remove the heatsink. The old thermal paste was like glue.



      Everything still worked after putting the processor back into the socket.

    14. Member efrie's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 19th, 2008
      Location
      Arkansas
      Posts
      4,034
      Vehicles
      2000 7.3PSD, 99.5 7.3PSD, 2003 F150 FX4
      03-09-2013 08:32 PM #90
      I'm flying from San Fran to Denver in FSX because I feel like looking at mountains... Does this count?

    15. Senior Member Hostile's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 29th, 2002
      Location
      NoVA
      Posts
      30,656
      Vehicles
      '15 STi & '13 GTI
      03-10-2013 08:12 PM #91
      Ordered one of these, should be here in a few days.



      It's replacing my 6870s in CrossFire, one of which I'm giving to me dad to upgrade the GTX 260 in his Dell XPS.

    16. Geriatric Member BRealistic's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2005
      Location
      Tennessee
      Posts
      66,506
      Vehicles
      88 F150, 04 RX8
      03-10-2013 11:42 PM #92
      Man, ram has been kicking my ass.
      I took all four four gig sticks of ram out of my new pc, then added just one and made sure it popped into the slot fully... rinse, repeat.
      Finally got it to boot up with all 16 GB of ram.
      Wow... make sure you really seat your ram.
      “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.”

    17. Member efrie's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 19th, 2008
      Location
      Arkansas
      Posts
      4,034
      Vehicles
      2000 7.3PSD, 99.5 7.3PSD, 2003 F150 FX4
      03-10-2013 11:57 PM #93
      You know, I've been curious about ram as well, but honestly, I'm running 4GB of some good stuff (2GBx2) and I haven't had a hitch.

      I got that 6950 and updated the BIOS to a 6970. I'm running a smooth 80-120FPS in BF3 which is fine for me.

      I thought about more ram, but until I start bottle necking I don't see me buying it.

      This is W7 64

    18. Geriatric Member BRealistic's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2005
      Location
      Tennessee
      Posts
      66,506
      Vehicles
      88 F150, 04 RX8
      03-11-2013 12:08 AM #94
      Quote Originally Posted by efrie View Post
      You know, I've been curious about ram as well, but honestly, I'm running 4GB of some good stuff (2GBx2) and I haven't had a hitch.

      I got that 6950 and updated the BIOS to a 6970. I'm running a smooth 80-120FPS in BF3 which is fine for me.

      I thought about more ram, but until I start bottle necking I don't see me buying it.

      This is W7 64
      I got good ram! Muskin Enhanced Blackline!

      And I also have an HD 6950.... you must have a very early one if you were able to flash the bios to a 6970.
      Most retail HD 6950s can't be changed to a full 6970 with a bios flash.. but you can unlock the extra shaders.. (per what I read googling this a while back)
      “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.”

    19. 03-11-2013 06:46 AM #95
      I have a 3.2 GHz with 1Gb ram and 500Gb Hard disk. I do some work of graphic designs using the software's like Photoshop, coreldraw, 3Ds Max, some videos making software's. Whenever I render a Model in 3ds max my computer temperatures have got 75 C to 80 C I am very afraid of it please help me what can I do with my computer to make it cooler.

    20. 03-11-2013 06:47 AM #96
      I have a 3.2 GHz with 1Gb ram and 500Gb Hard disk. I do some work of graphic designs using the software's like Photoshop, Coreldraw, 3Ds Max, some videos making software's. Whenever I render a Model in 3ds max my computer temperatures have got 75 C to 80 C I am very afraid of it please help me what can I do with my computer to make it cooler.

    21. Member efrie's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 19th, 2008
      Location
      Arkansas
      Posts
      4,034
      Vehicles
      2000 7.3PSD, 99.5 7.3PSD, 2003 F150 FX4
      03-11-2013 08:29 AM #97
      Simple answer? Better thermal paste and more fans.

    22. 03-11-2013 07:10 PM #98
      Quote Originally Posted by nathanjohnz View Post
      I have a 3.2 GHz with 1Gb ram and 500Gb Hard disk. I do some work of graphic designs using the software's like Photoshop, coreldraw, 3Ds Max, some videos making software's. Whenever I render a Model in 3ds max my computer temperatures have got 75 C to 80 C I am very afraid of it please help me what can I do with my computer to make it cooler.
      Where are you seeing the 75 to 80 deg C? Processor, system board, graphic processor card?

      My ATI Radeon HD4850 runs at almost 100 deg C under gaming load.

    23. Geriatric Member BRealistic's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2005
      Location
      Tennessee
      Posts
      66,506
      Vehicles
      88 F150, 04 RX8
      03-11-2013 07:34 PM #99
      Quote Originally Posted by nathanjohnz View Post
      I have a 3.2 GHz with 1Gb ram and 500Gb Hard disk. I do some work of graphic designs using the software's like Photoshop, Coreldraw, 3Ds Max, some videos making software's. Whenever I render a Model in 3ds max my computer temperatures have got 75 C to 80 C I am very afraid of it please help me what can I do with my computer to make it cooler.
      Give us more specific specs.

      CPU
      GPU (graphics)

      IF Windows PC, go to control panel-system to get system info.

      The programs you mention usually push the ram well past 1 GB... and the OS uses the harddrive as ram when that happens, which slows the PC way down.
      “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one's lifetime.”

    24. Member PhReE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 16th, 2004
      Location
      Taylorsville, UT
      Posts
      9,040
      Vehicles
      2004 Turbo VR6
      03-12-2013 12:04 AM #100
      Clean the fans. Also note that 75 to 80c is well within specs and not really an issue. Many people don't like their systems running that hot but honestly it is not even close to where it would cause damage.
      -James
      04 GTI Silverstone 24vT :: GT35r - TT 264/260 - Unitronic 630cc - Bosch 044 - Area51 SRI - Full 3" TB :: More in progress
      >> http://zingledot.myminicity.com/ | http://sourceforge.net/projects/imagizer2 <<

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •