Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Thread: computer novice needs help

    1. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Nov 18th, 2007
      Location
      Victor, NY
      Posts
      77
      Vehicles
      02 Passat, 10 CC, 06 Pathfinder, & 14 Forester
      02-19-2012 11:55 AM #1
      Every time I start up my computer, I get the following message:

      there was a problem starting
      C:\Users\Jim\AppData\Local\Temp\cmdkover.dll
      The specific module could not be found

      Any ideas on how I can keep this from happening? Currently running Windows 7 Home Premium, on HP Laptop.

      Thanks.

    2. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 11th, 2009
      Location
      Lewiston, Maine
      Posts
      4,638
      Vehicles
      2001 Wolfsburg Jetta
      02-19-2012 02:20 PM #2
      Quote Originally Posted by 02reflex1.8t View Post
      Every time I start up my computer, I get the following message:

      there was a problem starting
      C:\Users\Jim\AppData\Local\Temp\cmdkover.dll
      The specific module could not be found

      Any ideas on how I can keep this from happening? Currently running Windows 7 Home Premium, on HP Laptop.

      Thanks.
      Try reinstalling firefox
      Quote Originally Posted by winstonsmith84 View Post
      Tax? I don't mind paying state sales tax. Every time a see a pothole, a school that is falling down or a canceled essential state program, I remind myself why.
      Quote Originally Posted by Tornado2dr View Post
      535 members of congress plus 1 pres screwing us all the time...that's dirty pirate hooker level gang rape.

    3. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Nov 18th, 2007
      Location
      Victor, NY
      Posts
      77
      Vehicles
      02 Passat, 10 CC, 06 Pathfinder, & 14 Forester
      02-19-2012 03:15 PM #3
      Tried reinstalling Firefox as suggested, no luck, but thanks for replying

    4. Geriatric Member BRealistic's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2005
      Location
      Tennessee
      Posts
      64,208
      Vehicles
      88 F150, 04 RX8
      02-19-2012 03:22 PM #4
      Quote Originally Posted by Egilbe View Post
      Try reinstalling firefox
      Does firefox open on bootup? That's odd.

      OP- try starting in safemode

      http://www.computerhope.com/issues/chsafe.htm

      and running Microsoft essentials antivirus and malwarebytes anti-malware... just to make sure you don't have something bad causing file errors.
      |˙˙ʇǝuɹǝʇuı ǝɥʇ uo ʇxǝʇ uʍop ǝpısdn ɯopuɐɹ pɐǝɹ noʎ :ǝɯıʇ ǝǝɹɟ ɥɔnɯ ooʇ ʎɐʍ ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ןןǝʇ oʇ ʍoɥ˙˙˙|http://hotlinktest.com/

    5. Member
      Join Date
      Feb 11th, 2009
      Location
      Lewiston, Maine
      Posts
      4,638
      Vehicles
      2001 Wolfsburg Jetta
      02-19-2012 03:47 PM #5
      I tried googling the .dll and it seems to be connected to a firefox plugin. If you are comfortable using regedit, you can search for that .dll in the registry and delete all the instances of it.

      Try downloading CCleaner. It has a registry cleaner built into the program.
      Last edited by Egilbe; 02-19-2012 at 03:52 PM.
      Quote Originally Posted by winstonsmith84 View Post
      Tax? I don't mind paying state sales tax. Every time a see a pothole, a school that is falling down or a canceled essential state program, I remind myself why.
      Quote Originally Posted by Tornado2dr View Post
      535 members of congress plus 1 pres screwing us all the time...that's dirty pirate hooker level gang rape.

    6. Junior Member
      Join Date
      Nov 18th, 2007
      Location
      Victor, NY
      Posts
      77
      Vehicles
      02 Passat, 10 CC, 06 Pathfinder, & 14 Forester
      02-19-2012 05:03 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by BRealistic View Post
      Does firefox open on bootup? That's odd.

      OP- try starting in safemode

      http://www.computerhope.com/issues/chsafe.htm

      and running Microsoft essentials antivirus and malwarebytes anti-malware... just to make sure you don't have something bad causing file errors.
      That worked Thanks!

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •