Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: All motor 8v.

04-04-2012 11:27 PM #1
      Ok, I've been reading and reading, here goes.

1.8 RV block

ABA X-Flow head with extensive P&P done by me on my own flowbench.

312degree or possibly higher Camshaft depending on price from TT.

Stronger Valvesprings

CV carbs from a motorcycle.

Custom intake manifold made by me.

4-2-1 factory 8v manifold with TT race downpipe.

MSD-6AL Ignition.

What Im going for here is a mix of high revving power and relatively low cost. Im shooting for 130+WHP and thats conservative. Ive seen a similar combo on a rally car making 160whp and one with a counterflow head making 178whp. Im a machinist, so I have access to the right tools for the job and have some talented welders as friends. Whats everyone's constructive opinion on this setup? It will be mated to a 4K O2O trans so I will be utilizing my high rev range. Wont be daily driven.

Itd be nice to build an 8v that can strike fear in the hearts of chipped 1.8t mk4 kids.
      Quote Originally Posted by HK1980 View Post
      There are people who know precision balance in tuning,and there are others who drive stock 1.8t.

"The Caterpillar cannot understand the butterfly."
      -Timothy Leary

Vehicles
      2002 Forester S, 1987 GTI 16v
      04-05-2012 10:37 AM #2
      All that work...and a factory dual downpipe? I'd go with one of the higher-end 8v headers, like from techtonics.
      Fick Deps?, Get Deb!

Vehicles
      94 GTI 2slow painfully so!
      04-05-2012 06:40 PM #3
      why not use the 2L bottom end as well? I had a 2L ABA with a counterflow head using a tri-y header - It cracked (my fault due to wrap and moisture) so I switched to the dual outlet with the TT race downpipe. By my reckoning it lost a bit o jam. The header was a craigslist find with smaller primary and secondary tubing than the TT. Just my experience.