Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 21 of 21

    Thread: Dual Monitor Setup

    1. Member natedogg799's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 29th, 2008
      Location
      Orem, Ut
      Posts
      668
      Vehicles
      1987 BMW 325i
      04-18-2012 04:26 PM #1
      I have a gateway sx2801-07e desktop. I want to run 2 monitors. My wife uses this computer for work. I don't need a crazy graphics card just want the most affordable option to make it dual monitor compatible.

    2. Member Power5's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 19th, 2001
      Location
      Cincy, Ohio
      Posts
      6,050
      Vehicles
      '14 Chevy Volt- ALL black ---- '99 XJ 6"-Aussied d44-35" TSL-XRC8
      04-18-2012 06:55 PM #2
      Any cheap card with 2 ports that work on your monitors. So just about any at newegg.com
      Aaron
      PSN: RealPower5

    3. Member
      Join Date
      May 28th, 2000
      Location
      Maple Grove, MN
      Posts
      6,973
      Vehicles
      8V, 16V, 20V, 30V
      04-18-2012 08:46 PM #3
      Like he said or you can get a $30 USB to DVI or HDMI adapter for 2nd display.
      Last edited by Shawn O; 04-19-2012 at 01:58 PM.

    4. 04-19-2012 09:28 AM #4
      Cheap and it works as I used it for my parents home computer - http://www.bestbuy.com/site/EVGA+-+G...&skuId=1700586

    5. Member Minker17's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 1st, 2004
      Location
      Franklin, TN
      Posts
      14,650
      Vehicles
      1994 Ford Temp GL
      04-19-2012 02:24 PM #5
      You'll need a half height card I think. Unless they offered that PC in 2 sizes.
      Rick
      1994 Ford Tempo GL

    6. Member izzo's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 19th, 2004
      Location
      ɐᴉɹɐƃlnq
      Posts
      17,735
      Vehicles
      '96 Fiat Puntamera diesel
      04-28-2012 11:46 AM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by Power5 View Post
      Any cheap card with 2 ports that work on your monitors. So just about any at newegg.com
      Not necessarily.



      Just an example.

    7. Member Power5's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 19th, 2001
      Location
      Cincy, Ohio
      Posts
      6,050
      Vehicles
      '14 Chevy Volt- ALL black ---- '99 XJ 6"-Aussied d44-35" TSL-XRC8
      04-28-2012 01:11 PM #7
      True, didnt even think of that for some reason. Hell you may just be able to plug one monitor into the hdmi and one into the VGA on back and not need anything else. Not sure if the intel 4500 IGP can support both ports or not. Plug in and find out. You can take your computer to your tv and plug it into the hdmi and then plug your monitor into the vga and see if it works. If it does you will just need adapters to work with your monitors.
      Aaron
      PSN: RealPower5

    8. Senior Member ROCKnRLR's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 30th, 2000
      Location
      Your mom's bed!
      Posts
      33,970
      Vehicles
      2010 CC Sport
      05-03-2012 09:58 AM #8
      Quote Originally Posted by izzo View Post
      Not necessarily.



      Just an example.
      Isn't this adapter to duplicate the image in two monitors? In my case, this adapter won't work for me.

    9. 05-03-2012 10:13 AM #9
      I had that adapter on my old workstation at work. I used it for dual monitors where I had monitor 1 on the left and extended the desktop to monitor 2 to the right. It didn't duplicate the desktop.

    10. Member Minker17's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 1st, 2004
      Location
      Franklin, TN
      Posts
      14,650
      Vehicles
      1994 Ford Temp GL
      05-03-2012 10:16 AM #10
      In that case, you just have to be sure it's a dual link DVI port, no?
      Rick
      1994 Ford Tempo GL

    11. 05-03-2012 10:38 AM #11
      I believe so.

    12. Member twerked's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 25th, 2005
      Location
      a big sand dune
      Posts
      5,411
      Vehicles
      2000 Maxima GLE/1987 300TD
      05-04-2012 12:15 AM #12
      if your video card doesn't support it, you could get something like this:

      http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ls_o01_s00_i00

      i'm using it on my laptop to run a 3rd monitor it works pretty darn well. sometimes it struggles with video, but it really depends on what else i'm doing on the computer and the quality of the video. streamed video playback (if it's all that you're watching) is nearly perfect..even fullscreen vimeo/youtube hd. raw avchd 1080p/24fps files...not so great. there is an 'optimize for video' option, but it seems to just cut the resolution and makes it look like crap.

    13. Member Power5's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 19th, 2001
      Location
      Cincy, Ohio
      Posts
      6,050
      Vehicles
      '14 Chevy Volt- ALL black ---- '99 XJ 6"-Aussied d44-35" TSL-XRC8
      05-04-2012 04:45 PM #13
      I used a cheap USB to VGA adapter from microcenter ($19) and returned it the same day. Just moving my mouse around was jumpy. When I grabbed a window to move it around the blinking was extremely obvious. Maybe newer ones using USB3.0 are better or maybe more expensive ones work better but my experience with a USB video adapter was terrible.
      Aaron
      PSN: RealPower5

    14. Geriatric Member BRealistic's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2005
      Location
      Tennessee
      Posts
      64,468
      Vehicles
      88 F150, 04 RX8
      05-04-2012 10:17 PM #14
      Quote Originally Posted by Power5 View Post
      Any cheap card with 2 ports that work on your monitors. So just about any at newegg.com
      Yes. This one has the low profile bracket included, is fan-less, and is just 35 bucks with free shipping. Definitely better than all the older onboard graphics. And this card consumes only 25 watts at full load, so it shouldn't work the oem psu significantly harder than the over-taxed onboard.

      http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127613

      Why pay 30 for just an adapter when you can get a performance boosted multi-monitor output GPU for 5 bucks more?
      |˙˙ʇǝuɹǝʇuı ǝɥʇ uo ʇxǝʇ uʍop ǝpısdn ɯopuɐɹ pɐǝɹ noʎ :ǝɯıʇ ǝǝɹɟ ɥɔnɯ ooʇ ʎɐʍ ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ןןǝʇ oʇ ʍoɥ˙˙˙|http://hotlinktest.com/

    15. Geriatric Member BRealistic's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2005
      Location
      Tennessee
      Posts
      64,468
      Vehicles
      88 F150, 04 RX8
      05-05-2012 12:05 PM #15
      What happens to the other plugs when you change to the low profile bracket?

      |˙˙ʇǝuɹǝʇuı ǝɥʇ uo ʇxǝʇ uʍop ǝpısdn ɯopuɐɹ pɐǝɹ noʎ :ǝɯıʇ ǝǝɹɟ ɥɔnɯ ooʇ ʎɐʍ ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ןןǝʇ oʇ ʍoɥ˙˙˙|http://hotlinktest.com/

    16. Member Power5's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 19th, 2001
      Location
      Cincy, Ohio
      Posts
      6,050
      Vehicles
      '14 Chevy Volt- ALL black ---- '99 XJ 6"-Aussied d44-35" TSL-XRC8
      05-05-2012 01:11 PM #16
      The VGA is unplugged from the card and it looks like you get DVI and HDMI.
      Aaron
      PSN: RealPower5

    17. Member twerked's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 25th, 2005
      Location
      a big sand dune
      Posts
      5,411
      Vehicles
      2000 Maxima GLE/1987 300TD
      05-06-2012 09:15 AM #17
      Quote Originally Posted by Power5 View Post
      The VGA is unplugged from the card and it looks like you get DVI and HDMI.
      if it's anything like a low profile card i used to have, you can then run the vga to another empty slot if you need it

    18. Member Minker17's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 1st, 2004
      Location
      Franklin, TN
      Posts
      14,650
      Vehicles
      1994 Ford Temp GL
      05-07-2012 09:09 AM #18
      Quote Originally Posted by Power5 View Post
      The VGA is unplugged from the card and it looks like you get DVI and HDMI.
      Quote Originally Posted by twerked View Post
      if it's anything like a low profile card i used to have, you can then run the vga to another empty slot if you need it
      Both are true.
      Rick
      1994 Ford Tempo GL

    19. Member thescirocco.com's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 15th, 2002
      Location
      Bear, Delaware 19701
      Posts
      7,303
      Vehicles
      Current lineup: 1981 Scirocco S 1984 Rabbit GTI 2006 ZX10
      05-08-2012 11:28 AM #19
      DEid you get this sorted out yet?

      I'm not sure if it has the ur PCI-e X16, or the 2.0/2.1...

      Here's a pretty good deal on a PCI-e X16, $27.50:

      "DUAL MONITOR VIDEO CARD HP ATI RADEON HD 2400 256MB PCI-e x16 ATX DELL"

      http://www.ebay.com/itm/DUAL-MONITOR...item2314f769fe
      The Original Discount Techtonics and Peloquin dealer After 11AM to 11PM 3O2.832.8989, Text anytime 3O2.8989.O51
      Hit me up on Facebook: Peter Leif Lindvall, and my back-up email is peterthescirocco@gQQgle mail

    20. Member morbs_gt's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 21st, 2008
      Location
      Behind you, looking over your shoulder
      Posts
      3,479
      05-09-2012 02:48 AM #20
      Quote Originally Posted by izzo View Post
      Not necessarily.



      Just an example.
      Some collegues use that at work. I'm glad I don't, I need the extra power of a second isht workstation in the morning. But it is a really nice option.
      Sent from my vwvortex account.

    21. Member Power5's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 19th, 2001
      Location
      Cincy, Ohio
      Posts
      6,050
      Vehicles
      '14 Chevy Volt- ALL black ---- '99 XJ 6"-Aussied d44-35" TSL-XRC8
      05-09-2012 08:10 AM #21
      Quote Originally Posted by thescirocco.com View Post
      DEid you get this sorted out yet?

      I'm not sure if it has the ur PCI-e X16, or the 2.0/2.1...

      Here's a pretty good deal on a PCI-e X16, $27.50:

      "DUAL MONITOR VIDEO CARD HP ATI RADEON HD 2400 256MB PCI-e x16 ATX DELL"

      http://www.ebay.com/itm/DUAL-MONITOR...item2314f769fe
      Post #14 has a much better deal for $8 more. Lower power and better performance and BNIB. Also has low profile brackets.
      Aaron
      PSN: RealPower5

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •