Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 17 of 17

    Thread: Vr6 turbo problems

    1. 04-22-2012 11:26 AM #1
      I have a 1995 GLX Jetta which I turbo over one year ago.I have a C2motoersport chip,36 pound injectors,a five bar ajustable pressure regulator I had a extra feul pump , C2 mass housing.i did every they said I should do and I can't get the car running.when I start the car it idle rich and when I go on boost I break up at 4000 rpm. It's my first time doing a turbo set up and being in Jamaica west indies every thing we need cost a arm & leg. I really need some help .

    2. Member d15nonvtec's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 18th, 2006
      Location
      PA
      Posts
      1,007
      Vehicles
      00 A4, 06 GTI
      04-22-2012 01:22 PM #2
      Quote Originally Posted by delicate View Post
      I have a 1995 GLX Jetta which I turbo over one year ago.I have a C2motoersport chip,36 pound injectors,a five bar ajustable pressure regulator I had a extra feul pump , C2 mass housing.i did every they said I should do and I can't get the car running.when I start the car it idle rich and when I go on boost I break up at 4000 rpm. It's my first time doing a turbo set up and being in Jamaica west indies every thing we need cost a arm & leg. I really need some help .
      Why do you have a 5bar regulator? Isn't the stock one a 4bar for OBD1?

    3. 04-22-2012 03:18 PM #3
      Quote Originally Posted by d15nonvtec View Post
      Why do you have a 5bar regulator? Isn't the stock one a 4bar for OBD1?
      Yes it is but I was told I need to get the five bar

    4. Member d15nonvtec's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 18th, 2006
      Location
      PA
      Posts
      1,007
      Vehicles
      00 A4, 06 GTI
      04-22-2012 03:21 PM #4
      What turbo and what sort of boost you pushing here?

    5. 04-22-2012 03:29 PM #5
      Quote Originally Posted by d15nonvtec View Post
      What turbo and what sort of boost you pushing here?
      I have a t70 turbo and about 5lb boost

    6. 04-22-2012 03:51 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by delicate View Post
      I have a t70 turbo and about 5lb boost
      If this is ok with you just call my number and hang up and I will call you right and you can help me out wit your information (1876-406-1117).I would apricate it.

    7. Member d15nonvtec's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 18th, 2006
      Location
      PA
      Posts
      1,007
      Vehicles
      00 A4, 06 GTI
      04-22-2012 05:53 PM #7
      You should not need a 5bar reg at that boost level. I will assume you have older c2 software. If you called them recently the answers you get are hit and miss unfortunately. You should not need an inline pump either at 5lbs but it wont hurt to have it. I would swap to a 4bar, reset the ecu to start with.

      Check your o2 sensors, check your MAF, look for issues with your intercooler tubes/couplings (if you have an intercooler)

    8. 04-22-2012 11:48 PM #8
      Ok that I will do in the morning, as for the pluming what I should check for leaks? I have got a big enough inter cooler at the front and I also have a water injection system which I don't used yet.So in other words you are saying I should send the chip back to C2 for reprogram ing. My friend got a chip too for a 2.0 and having similar problem too and because we are so far away it cost a lot to send back the chip.i will try what you say and then see what happen and let you know.Thanks and as BOB MARLEY SAY ONE LOVE

    9. 04-24-2012 09:15 PM #9
      I did ever thing you mention but the same thing is happening

    10. Member BonusParts's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 1st, 2009
      Location
      Pennsylsomewhere
      Posts
      4,388
      Vehicles
      84 Rabbit Westy, 97 Jetta GLX
      04-24-2012 10:12 PM #10
      Okay, so the car still idles rich and breaks up past 4K?

      Is your CEL on? If so what codes does it give you?

      Secondly, is this OBD1? If it is, i'd try this: DELETE your Idle stabilizer valve, and set your idle via the set screw on the throttle body itself. Also, test your TPS with an ohm meter, its called a sweep test. With leads on the pins that give you a resistance, have someone slowly press the pedal down. the reading should be linear between 0-100ohm.

      One other suggestion would be to pull the ecu and remove the C2 chip. clean the board with compressed air, especially the socket and reseat the chip. I've heard AWFUL horror stories about C2 chips doing goofy **** like this and being nothing more than an improperly seated chip.

      Good luck! VR-T


    11. 04-24-2012 11:28 PM #11
      What is your wideband reading when it breaks up?

      What are your fuel trims long term and short term?



      If you don't have a wide band, and can't log fuel trims/knock/ect, then you are guessing in the wind waiting for disaster, and there is no possible way for anyone to help you on here.


      DON'T swap down to a 4bar reg, without knowing where you are sitting A/F wise, and being that the tuner told you the tune was made for 36lb injectors at 5 bar. That is the single worst troubleshooting advice for a FI setup you could give.

    12. 04-25-2012 10:38 AM #12
      I just bought a wide band 02 on line I don't receive it yet but the check light is in the car and I don't have a a scan tool to see what's going on. I am really a hands on person so I am trying by best to follow all instruction.

    13. 04-25-2012 10:48 AM #13
      I will try that but I have to get some help to walk me through it

    14. 04-25-2012 12:29 PM #14
      You ask if my CEL is on what does CEL mean? My car is a obd1

    15. Member VW_MK3_270's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 1st, 2012
      Location
      US
      Posts
      292
      Vehicles
      Slammed&Cammed Golf
      04-25-2012 12:38 PM #15
      Quote Originally Posted by delicate View Post
      You ask if my CEL is on what does CEL mean? My car is a obd1
      Check Engine Light.

    16. 04-29-2012 11:31 AM #16
      Quote Originally Posted by VW_MK3_270 View Post
      Check Engine Light.
      How do you tell the defference between 0bd1 and obd2

    17. Member brandon0808's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 19th, 2009
      Location
      West Bend, WI
      Posts
      1,067
      Vehicles
      2003 jetta 20v. 1991 12v gti.
      05-05-2013 11:09 PM #17
      Where are you at right now with this issue? My vrt also breaks up at 4k

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •