Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: 01M Flare and bang into 3rd

1. n00b
      Vehicles
      1999.5/VW/Golf
      04-24-2012 05:53 AM #1
      Hi All,

I am a newbie so I hope I am not repeating a previous post. I have done much reading but am still unsure how to proceed so please bear with me.

I own a VW Golf MK4 1.8-20V 1999.5 which I bought about a year ago so I do not have the car's history.

There is a delay when changing from gear 2 to 3, the revs flare and then gear 3 engages with a not so slight thunk. Sometimes (usually when cold) it sounds like it does not want to engage 3rd and I have to either ease up on the gas or give it more gas to get gear 3 in. At higher acceleration, gear 3 engages with a noticeable delay but without the thunk (makes me want to race all the time).

I have had it scanned for codes and got a few unrelated codes such as airbag, air-mixture ratio and abs which I have since cleared. I have also had a damaged transmission wiring harness which put me in limp-mode but I have since repaired that. Scans now come up clean

I have had the ATF fluid changed and the pan dropped and there was not much residue. However, I cannot tell if the previous owner had already done the same.

Has anyone resolved this (especially the thunking) with either a solenoid change or valve body rebuild? Or am I looking at a new trans?

Thanks.

2. n00b
      Vehicles
      2005 Jetta GLI
      04-26-2012 08:16 PM #2
      I currently have a 2005 jetta gli with the 5sp tiptronic and the same exact issue.

I recently changed the fluid and filter as well and its not as bad as it was(might be my imagination), but still when shifting from 2nd to 3rd it hesitates and then will jerk when 3rd engages unless i shift up from 2nd and then let off the gas and wait until the rpms go down then if I slowly press on the gas again it will shift smoothly but is obviously an issue.