Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

The Car Lounge
    Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Kids driving less? Low car passion? Time for a TCL roundtable discussion

Vehicles
      2006 Volvo XC90 2.5T, current demo: 2015.5 XC60 T5 AWD
      04-25-2012 10:35 AM #1
      http://www.dailyfinance.com/2012/04/...ewer-licenses/

Cliff Notes:

•Fewer than half of eligible teens 19 or younger have driver's licenses, down from almost two-thirds in 1998.
      •Annual vehicle miles driven by Americans ages 16 to 34 have dropped 23% from 2001 to 2009.
      •Biking and walking as alternative forms of transportation have increased by 24% and 16%, respectively, among the same age group.

Is the next generation of drivers really this out of touch/un-interested with an automotive culture? discuss...

What I do for a living? This is a small part of it www.lehmanvolvo.blogspot.com ...and now, so is this: www.infinitiofmechanicsburg.blogspot.com

Vehicles
      '15 STi & '13 GTI
      04-25-2012 10:37 AM #2
      A buddy has a teenage son who is graduating high school this spring. The kid had to be pushed to get a license and didn't even want the car his dad was going to give him, for free. Sure it is a Dodge Caliber but still, I would have taken it at 18! His reasoning? His girlfriend will drive him anywhere he needs to go. The kid has no desire to drive.

Vehicles
      2013 VW GTI
      04-25-2012 10:38 AM #3
      Quote Originally Posted by Volvo_D View Post
      http://www.dailyfinance.com/2012/04/...ewer-licenses/

Cliff Notes:

•Fewer than half of eligible teens 19 or younger have driver's licenses, down from almost two-thirds in 1998.
      •Annual vehicle miles driven by Americans ages 16 to 34 have dropped 23% from 2001 to 2009.
      •Biking and walking as alternative forms of transportation have increased by 24% and 16%, respectively, among the same age group.