Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Thread: ODB1 and ODB2 differences

    1. Member
      Join Date
      Nov 21st, 2011
      Location
      716- Buffalo, NY
      Posts
      154
      Vehicles
      03' Gt30r Evo- STM tuned-Sold,, 97' windsor Vr jetta and 2jz 240sx- my life savings
      04-29-2012 02:53 PM #1
      hey fella's i bought a longblock from someone and they told me it was a odb2 longblock converted to ob1. well after looking when i got the motor home its a complete Odb1 motor and it needs to go into a 97(odb2).

      So what am i going to need to do to make it run correctly without check engine lights and whatnot? It appears the Od1 head doesn't have a port for a SAI pump? i suppose i can buy the chip to delete it for my Odb2 computer so i dont have inspection issues. any help would be great. thanks,kyle

    2. Member
      Join Date
      Jul 13th, 2001
      Location
      Oakland, CA
      Posts
      4,505
      04-29-2012 05:38 PM #2
      There's a post in this forum's FAQ thread (ahem) labeled "OBD1 vs OBD2" that might help you. Also, if you search thread titles in this forum (ahem again) for "obd1 difference", you will get dozens of threads, some of which will certainly be helpful.
      Kenji

    3. Member Scotty_2.0's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 13th, 2005
      Location
      Whitby/London, Ont.
      Posts
      4,838
      Vehicles
      Mk2 GTI VR6... .......................Mk5 Rabbit 2.5
      04-29-2012 06:30 PM #3
      Quote Originally Posted by Kenji View Post
      There's a post in this forum's FAQ thread (ahem) labeled "OBD1 vs OBD2" that might help you. Also, if you search thread titles in this forum (ahem again) for "obd1 difference", you will get dozens of threads, some of which will certainly be helpful.
      This. Not trying to be a smart ass, but this has been covered MANY times.
      /// VRSociety Member #298 /// bankrupt ///

    4. 04-29-2012 07:32 PM #4
      Quote Originally Posted by Kadams29 View Post
      hey fella's i bought a longblock from someone and they told me it was a odb2 longblock converted to ob1. well after looking when i got the motor home its a complete Odb1 motor and it needs to go into a 97(odb2).

      So what am i going to need to do to make it run correctly without check engine lights and whatnot? It appears the Od1 head doesn't have a port for a SAI pump? i suppose i can buy the chip to delete it for my Odb2 computer so i dont have inspection issues. any help would be great. thanks,kyle
      If this is a distributor ignition system engine then there will not be a secondary air system. If this OBD 1 engine has a coil pack then it should have a secondary air port and passages ways in the cylinder head.

    5. Member masterqaz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 4th, 2007
      Location
      Oakville Ont
      Posts
      2,758
      Vehicles
      New 04 pd100 Old setup 94 JTI Vrt 60-1 .58ar exh obd2 440 racefile 20psi/meth
      04-29-2012 09:07 PM #5
      Coming soon 4dr pd golf on air dipped blue with hitch racks and skid. Real work horse
      Automatic cause shifting short ratio sucks

    6. Member Scotty_2.0's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 13th, 2005
      Location
      Whitby/London, Ont.
      Posts
      4,838
      Vehicles
      Mk2 GTI VR6... .......................Mk5 Rabbit 2.5
      04-29-2012 10:22 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by Peter Badore View Post
      If this is a distributor ignition system engine then there will not be a secondary air system. If this OBD 1 engine has a coil pack then it should have a secondary air port and passages ways in the cylinder head.
      SAI is just one possible difference, but really has nothing to do with OBD1 vs 2 as SAI can be present on either

      The guy needs to search, so please just stop posting.
      /// VRSociety Member #298 /// bankrupt ///

    7. Member
      Join Date
      Nov 21st, 2011
      Location
      716- Buffalo, NY
      Posts
      154
      Vehicles
      03' Gt30r Evo- STM tuned-Sold,, 97' windsor Vr jetta and 2jz 240sx- my life savings
      04-30-2012 12:13 AM #7
      Yea i did enough research that i think i can make my motor work correctly. Also, the head thats on this motor i purchased DOES not have a SAI port.. So thats why i was so confused because i thought they all had the port in the head. But im going to throw a new set of cams in so i might as well run one of the c2 Files so it'll just delete the SAI so i dont have inspection issues.

      Thanks fella's for the help.

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •