Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Thread: 24V Guru's : Swap 24V using 12V crank + trigger // Camshaft Position Sensor problem

    1. Member
      Join Date
      May 22nd, 2006
      Location
      Trois-Rivieres,Qc
      Posts
      107
      05-02-2012 03:31 PM #1
      Good Afternoon,

      Well long story there, I will do it short, hopefully.

      I rebuilt my 24V with a 12V crank + 12V trigger wheel ( because the 24V trigger wheel cannot fit into the 12V crank I think ) and the availability of the 24V here are rare.

      After reconnect correctly the 24V harness in my mk2, the are few code that piss my off and my engine start and other time didn't.

      I Check every connector in the fuse and in the engine to finally find that, if the camshaft position sensor ( on the side on the intake ) is connect, my engine fault the code of : P0340 camshaft position and I cannot restart the start till I clear the code.

      After few test run, I should start with the CPS and unplugged after few second for avoid the « internal processor code ».

      As you know, CPS is responsible for firing or not the injector and when the ECU dont have a idea what going on there. My car won't restart untill a wait a couple of minute, maybe hour.

      For your information, Immo are defeat.

      MAF is new
      Both camshaft sensor are new
      TB is new
      Coil + spark plug are new
      O2 is new
      Timming is perfect

      When I can start the car and make fews run, the idle is good, no lag or missfire. They pull hard and fast, no stall.

      Because of my 12V Trigger Wheel + CPS make the car unfunctionnable, because the ECU cannot read the right information on the crank ?

      So my questions is :

      Can I Flash the ECU and force them to forget this code ?

      So I should replaced the crank with 24V one + 24V trigger wheel

      So I should go standalone ?

      I would like to keep up my harness and the 12V crank, but I have no choice....

      Thanks you

      Bruno

    2. Junior Member DavidG60's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 20th, 2005
      Location
      Paris
      Posts
      59
      05-03-2012 03:16 AM #2
      You should take a look at this post:

      12V crank in my 24v bottom throwing timing codes. Help please.

      It looks like you'll have to change your 12V crank trigger wheel for the 24V one.

    3. Geriatric Member need_a_VR6's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 19th, 1999
      Location
      Oxford, PA
      Posts
      35,315
      Vehicles
      03 325i
      05-03-2012 11:41 AM #3
      I have run both a 12v and a 3.2L 24v with a 12v sensor and the stock crank/triggers and had to make no changes to get it to work. Trigger angle was the same, etc.

      By CPS in your post do you mean cam sensor or crank sensor?

      Which ECM are you using a 12v one or a 24v one?

      Standalone makes problems like this easy to fix, but can be more work in other ways.
      -Paul
      1995 GTI VR6 - Retired - 12.90@106 R32 power - 12.833@106 12v power
      KPTuned - Official MegaSquirt: Sales - Repair - Installation - Tuning
      MK3 Race Car Partout

    4. Member
      Join Date
      May 22nd, 2006
      Location
      Trois-Rivieres,Qc
      Posts
      107
      05-03-2012 03:16 PM #4
      I mean cam sensor ( the one on the right side of the intake manifold )

      Using 24V ECM

      12V Crank

      12V Trigger

      24V Block

      24V harness

      I will check my timing for sure its not offset a bit,

      Tks
      Last edited by DJSubZero; 05-03-2012 at 03:18 PM.

    5. Geriatric Member need_a_VR6's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 19th, 1999
      Location
      Oxford, PA
      Posts
      35,315
      Vehicles
      03 325i
      05-03-2012 09:46 PM #5
      Make sure you dont have the intake and exhaust cam plugs swapped.
      -Paul
      1995 GTI VR6 - Retired - 12.90@106 R32 power - 12.833@106 12v power
      KPTuned - Official MegaSquirt: Sales - Repair - Installation - Tuning
      MK3 Race Car Partout

    6. Member
      Join Date
      May 22nd, 2006
      Location
      Trois-Rivieres,Qc
      Posts
      107
      05-04-2012 06:58 AM #6
      Tks for your help

      I found something in the fusebox that been disconnected

      Now, start nicely and pull hard

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •