Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Bought a TDI today, clutch question

1. 05-26-2012 07:10 PM #1
      Hey all, first time posting here. Figured it was appropriate because I bought myself a new 2012 Golf TDI this afternoon!

Anyways, I'm just starting out with a job and a new car, so to save some money I opted for a manual transmission. I need a little practice still, but I can do it if I take my time. My question is does anyone have any experience with VW clutches in terms or burning them up or their average life cycle? I want to make sure that while I refresh myself on the art of manual transmission I am not damaging my clutch too much.

Vehicles
      2011 Golf TDI
      05-26-2012 09:35 PM #2
      Quote Originally Posted by TDIPhil View Post
      Hey all, first time posting here. Figured it was appropriate because I bought myself a new 2012 Golf TDI this afternoon!

Anyways, I'm just starting out with a job and a new car, so to save some money I opted for a manual transmission. I need a little practice still, but I can do it if I take my time. My question is does anyone have any experience with VW clutches in terms or burning them up or their average life cycle? I want to make sure that while I refresh myself on the art of manual transmission I am not damaging my clutch too much.
      welcome. congratulations on your correct choice of transmission.

don't worry about your clutch lifetime. not an issue really either way with VWs. just match revs when you downshift, and don't start in 3rd gear or somesuch

3. Member
      Vehicles
      2004 GTI 1.8T
      05-26-2012 10:47 PM #3
      I found that with the TDI and it's massive torque, I rarely, if ever have to down shift, or rev match. It's new to me coming from my 2L Mk4 and a 2.5L rabbit. My GTI i only did for fun