Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Thread: Help. Trying to set cyl 1 to tdc

    1. Member BOUDAH's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 15th, 2008
      Location
      Frederick, Maryland
      Posts
      11,459
      Vehicles
      BMP .:R32 Supercharged , '13 CC (POS)
      05-30-2012 08:37 PM #1
      So I don't understand why the heck my crank won't line up with the block. The crank is about 1/4 inch or so clockwise past the block marking. The cam plate fits in the slots. Is this due to the hydraulics on cams. Cause I know they move when adj timing etc.

      Instagram- @eboudah

    2. Senior Member PowerDubs's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 22nd, 2001
      Location
      NWNJ
      Posts
      23,016
      05-30-2012 09:14 PM #2
      That's normal..and yes, documented in the workshop manual procedure.

      No worries.

      Pay attention to 'preloading' the sprockets on the cams.. that is what screws everyone up.
      -Josh
      06 Phaeton 4-seater 6.0 W12 | 04 VW R32 | 03 Gti 24v VR6 | 12 Kia Soul 1.6 stick
      01 ZRX1200

    3. Member BOUDAH's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 15th, 2008
      Location
      Frederick, Maryland
      Posts
      11,459
      Vehicles
      BMP .:R32 Supercharged , '13 CC (POS)
      05-30-2012 09:23 PM #3
      The Bentley doesnt show certain things in the step by steps for the cam job and then say the cylinder head removal. Ohwell
      Instagram- @eboudah

    4. Member BOUDAH's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 15th, 2008
      Location
      Frederick, Maryland
      Posts
      11,459
      Vehicles
      BMP .:R32 Supercharged , '13 CC (POS)
      05-30-2012 09:23 PM #4
      Well thanks josh.
      Instagram- @eboudah

    5. Member GLI_DRIVER's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 26th, 2002
      Location
      OR.WA.
      Posts
      12,336
      Vehicles
      04 R 06 A3
      05-30-2012 09:26 PM #5
      As Josh said thats normal. Every vr6 I've ever had apart does that. If you want to find true #1 TDC pull plug #1 and use a wooden dowel and when you come up on TDC mark its highest point with a sharpie.
      .:R

      Build your car for yourself, not what an internet forum tells you.

    6. Member BOUDAH's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 15th, 2008
      Location
      Frederick, Maryland
      Posts
      11,459
      Vehicles
      BMP .:R32 Supercharged , '13 CC (POS)
      05-30-2012 11:49 PM #6
      thanks, yeah my buddy recommended gently placing a socket extension in there as well.

      I got it though, thanks guys.
      Instagram- @eboudah

    7. Member vwgeorge2's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 23rd, 2008
      Location
      Cumberland Md (Ridgeley WV)
      Posts
      1,992
      Vehicles
      MK4 S/C R32, MK1 Phaeton V8, MK6 TDI Jetta...Totaled
      05-31-2012 02:57 AM #7
      Quote Originally Posted by PowerDubs View Post
      That's normal..and yes, documented in the workshop manual procedure.

      No worries.

      Pay attention to 'preloading' the sprockets on the cams.. that is what screws everyone up.

      X2

      Cams are easy unless the sprockets get ya...

      Half way down my build page is how mine looked, are they all off just a bit?



      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...tasy..../page8
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...-final-fantasy....

      Stage 7= VF, HPA= V7-ysi, A/W Intake, Dual Jet Water/Meth, UM E-85 Flex 870cc, ProMAF, 268 Cams, SS Header, SS Mid pipe, Custom intake, Brisk plugs, Lambo flapper

    8. 05-31-2012 03:42 AM #8
      Get the bottom end on TDC forget about the top for a moment. Once you have the crack pulley on TDC you can now look at the head.

      With the inlet cam wind the adjuster fully clockwise while making sure the slot in the cam stays level. Then count 16 rollers on the chain from the inlet cam timing mark to the exhaust cam, there must be 16 inbetween both timing marks for the cams.

      IF you cannot get the marks to line up your bottom end to head is 180 degrees out. You will then need to carefully shuffle the cams around gently with the bottom end so you can get them both on the same orientation.

      PM me your email address and I will send over a PDF from ELSA
      Last edited by Slapbladder; 05-31-2012 at 05:56 AM.
      MK4 R36 x Precision 6776 Turbo = Large Grin

    9. Member BOUDAH's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 15th, 2008
      Location
      Frederick, Maryland
      Posts
      11,459
      Vehicles
      BMP .:R32 Supercharged , '13 CC (POS)
      05-31-2012 09:14 AM #9
      well i got the cams to line up with the head the only thing that was off was the crank to block by like 1/4 of an inch. However, the VVT hydraulics looked to be off around that same distance. So i think when i Preload the Sprockets, I should be good? Well see

      -Ellery
      Instagram- @eboudah

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •