Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 19 of 19

    Thread: temp gauge not working

    1. Member VWKYLE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 14th, 2007
      Location
      Burien WA
      Posts
      560
      Vehicles
      89 jetta coupe
      06-19-2012 09:27 PM #1
      my temp gauge is not working but the light keeps flashing. I put in a different cluster and it still doesnt work.

    2. Member
      Join Date
      May 24th, 2008
      Location
      New Hampshire
      Posts
      2,884
      Vehicles
      1991 la6u golf, 2013 6 Speed Tiguan, 2013 hipster scooter
      06-19-2012 10:06 PM #2
      wild concept, replace the sensors? check for the correct resistance on them? why would you assume it was the cluster?

      Quote Originally Posted by thelumpya2 View Post
      hate if you want, no need to change the car as I enjoy it the way it is.
      Build your car for you and no one else.
      SDS | TGC | LOWLIFE | NH

    3. Member VWKYLE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 14th, 2007
      Location
      Burien WA
      Posts
      560
      Vehicles
      89 jetta coupe
      06-19-2012 10:17 PM #3
      i didnt assume it was the cluster i was just saying for info. but yeah ill check them

    4. Member
      Join Date
      May 24th, 2008
      Location
      New Hampshire
      Posts
      2,884
      Vehicles
      1991 la6u golf, 2013 6 Speed Tiguan, 2013 hipster scooter
      06-19-2012 10:24 PM #4
      Just replace both, with new o rings and sensors it'll set you back maybe 25 bucks
      Quote Originally Posted by thelumpya2 View Post
      hate if you want, no need to change the car as I enjoy it the way it is.
      Build your car for you and no one else.
      SDS | TGC | LOWLIFE | NH

    5. Member VWKYLE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 14th, 2007
      Location
      Burien WA
      Posts
      560
      Vehicles
      89 jetta coupe
      06-20-2012 12:29 AM #5
      I'm kinda new . Where are they located

    6. 06-20-2012 10:36 AM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by VWKYLE View Post
      I'm kinda new . Where are they located
      Gooseneck flange; front of the head.

      Swap out the wires to each harness with the car at running temp to check to see if only one is the culprit.

      They're the same sensor - just feed to diff things.

    7. Member VWKYLE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 14th, 2007
      Location
      Burien WA
      Posts
      560
      Vehicles
      89 jetta coupe
      06-20-2012 01:46 PM #7
      I might sound dumb but yesterday while the car was running, I unplugged each one and it still did nothing.

    8. Junior Member EmeraldCityOutlaw's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 24th, 2012
      Location
      Issaquah
      Posts
      67
      Vehicles
      92' Jetta
      06-20-2012 05:35 PM #8
      Buy a Bentley, replace both of them and I'll bet the light will go off. Mine did the same thing, never overheated but would flash. Found that one of the wires was broken, so I spliced a new wire in and replaced it. No more flashing light.

    9. Member VWKYLE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 14th, 2007
      Location
      Burien WA
      Posts
      560
      Vehicles
      89 jetta coupe
      06-20-2012 05:41 PM #9
      do i need to drain the coolant?

    10. Member
      Join Date
      Aug 22nd, 2004
      Location
      clifton, Nj 07011
      Posts
      3,176
      06-20-2012 07:10 PM #10
      Take the wire off the sensor and hold it to ground (anything metal on the engine) and if the gauge goes all the way up; sensor is bad. If the gauge doesn't move, you have the wrong sensor or something is up with the wiring.

      The coolant will drains just enough by itself once you remove the sensor Or move faster.

      Never a bad idea to drain and flush the coolant if it hasn't been done in a while

    11. Member Black92EightValve's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 23rd, 2003
      Location
      Phoenix, AZ
      Posts
      7,038
      Vehicles
      92 GTI 16V, 88 Scirocco 16V (sold), 20th AE GTI #2269
      06-20-2012 07:16 PM #11
      Quote Originally Posted by Gasfarmer View Post
      They're the same sensor - just feed to diff things.
      Then why are they different colors and have different part #'s

      pretty sure they have different resistance values..

    12. Member Greg_J's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 30th, 2005
      Location
      Grand Bend ON Canaduh
      Posts
      13,718
      Vehicles
      '03 Wagon TDI 6spd
      06-20-2012 08:21 PM #12
      set the car on fire and never look back
      Quote Originally Posted by ennui_delphian View Post
      Don't anger canadiun lesbian...

    13. Member VWKYLE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 14th, 2007
      Location
      Burien WA
      Posts
      560
      Vehicles
      89 jetta coupe
      06-20-2012 09:07 PM #13
      i changed the black sensor and now my temp gauge works! but the light still flashes

    14. Member Greg_J's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 30th, 2005
      Location
      Grand Bend ON Canaduh
      Posts
      13,718
      Vehicles
      '03 Wagon TDI 6spd
      06-20-2012 09:15 PM #14
      if gauge works, the light is flashing because coolant level sensor is detecting low coolant. so either your coolant is low, or the sensor is bad (sensor = the coolant bottle itself)
      Quote Originally Posted by ennui_delphian View Post
      Don't anger canadiun lesbian...

    15. Member VWKYLE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 14th, 2007
      Location
      Burien WA
      Posts
      560
      Vehicles
      89 jetta coupe
      06-20-2012 09:18 PM #15
      ok yeah its full so ill check that one next

    16. Member Greg_J's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 30th, 2005
      Location
      Grand Bend ON Canaduh
      Posts
      13,718
      Vehicles
      '03 Wagon TDI 6spd
      06-20-2012 09:23 PM #16
      have car off. unplug sensor. put a piece of wire between the ends on the harness. start car. see if it still blinks.
      Quote Originally Posted by ennui_delphian View Post
      Don't anger canadiun lesbian...

    17. Junior Member EmeraldCityOutlaw's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 24th, 2012
      Location
      Issaquah
      Posts
      67
      Vehicles
      92' Jetta
      06-21-2012 02:39 PM #17
      The black plug/sensor runs the temp gauge in you cluster, which you fixed and works now…. the blue plug/senor sends a message to your ECU, which will then trip the coolant light on if something is wrong. And yes they are different sensors so make sure you get the right part #. Either the blue sensor is bad and or like Greg_J said, the sensor in the back of your coolant bottle could be bad. Unplug it and see if it’s got any corrosion on it, if so clean it off and plug it back in. But Like I said before, be sure to check the wires into the plugs/sensors, if they are broken and not completing the circuit it will send a false signal.

    18. Member VWKYLE's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 14th, 2007
      Location
      Burien WA
      Posts
      560
      Vehicles
      89 jetta coupe
      06-21-2012 04:53 PM #18
      aw i hope its not the blue one. more coolant came out then i was expecting when i took out the black one lol

    19. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 5th, 2012
      Location
      VWoodinville, WA
      Posts
      793
      Vehicles
      91 Golf 16vT
      06-25-2012 12:22 PM #19
      I've had good luck when replacing these sensors to uncap the coolant reservoir and then cap it again to release back pressure. When you recap it, it creates a vacuum so that when you take the sensor out, it only drains a little as the pressure is holding the coolant in the hoses...

      I put a blue sensor where the black one was supposed to be and plugged it in. Exploded! Twice!! (I did it again because I thought the problem was something else). So yeah... don't do that.

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •