Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: 1.8l 16v performance parts

1. 07-05-2012 11:44 PM #1
      im new to the VW scene and i wanted to know what i can do to my engine to get some more power out of it and its my daily so i cant get to crazy. im just looking for a little more and still be reliable to drive everyday thanks

Vehicles
      1991 Jetta 16v, 1986 Jetta 8v, 1998 GTI VR6, 2003 GMC 1500
      07-06-2012 01:39 AM #2
      K&N airfilter
      drill the air box
      remove snorkle piece in front of airbox (if somebody hasn't already)
      lightened flywheel
      peloquin limited slip kit
      short shifter
      intake cam or cam set
      tuned exhaust
      header
      adjustable aluminum cam pulley
      fuel enrichment module (You can't chip a 1.8 16v unfortunately)
      low temp thermostat and thermostat switch (colder motor makes more power)

Vehicles
      MKII Race Car
      07-06-2012 01:43 AM #3
      Quote Originally Posted by 91JET16V View Post
      K&N airfilter
      drill the air box
      lightened flywheel
      peloquin limited slip kit
      short shifter
      intake cam or cam set
      tuned exhaust
      header
      adjustable aluminum cam pulley
      low temp thermostat and thermostat switch (colder motor makes more power)
      K&N airfilter yes
      drill the air box useless
      lightened flywheel might as well add a nice clutch
      peloquin limited slip kit no point with low power and cheap tires
      short shifter wont make the car any faster
      intake cam or cam set full set
      tuned exhaust not the cheap crap
      header tt catless
      adjustable aluminum cam pulley no point
      low temp thermostat and thermostat switch (colder motor makes more power) cools yes, more power-no

my advice: head work, cams, full exhaust, strip the car to remove weight, nice tires and light wheels.