Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Maybe it's me?

Vehicles
      98 Volvo V70 (Indigo Montoya) mk2 Jetta (the other woman)
      07-13-2012 08:52 AM #1
      I need some real talk.

Here is the situation - I work as an admin in a university research center. I started this job 4 years ago with the intention of getting my foot in the door with a great university where I would be able to eventually be a researcher, and have the benefit of them paying for my graduate studies. My graduate plans changed, but my desire to do research has not. I have had opportunities to do research assistant stuff, and have my name on a few papers, but when it is time to talk about a promotion there are always a million reasons that I have to stay an admin.

Now I am starting to worry that being in this position for so long, despite the things I have done that go above what an admin does, has really hampered my job search. It's sadly clear to me that though the group I am with are truly a joy to work with, they don't see me as anything more than what I am now so I need to look elsewhere. But I worry that the second "Administrative Coordinator" comes up on my resume I am just being rejected.

Could this be true? Would you hire someone for say a technical writer if they are an admin? Are they just not that into me?

2. Member
      Vehicles
      2001 Wolfsburg Jetta
      07-13-2012 09:07 AM #2
      Quote Originally Posted by ModestGirl View Post
      I need some real talk.