Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 35 of 40

    Thread: 05.5 Jetta 2.5 engine question.

    1. 07-23-2012 02:22 AM #1
      Hi, I just got a 2005.5 Jetta 2.5l with automatic. It made on 2/2005 which it very early made. So I brought as is which it not running. Owner said that mech told him that need new engine dues timing chain jumped which trash engine. I dont see no reason why mech say that to him because I opened engine hood and NOTHING have not been removed or open cover to check it. Still have engine cover on it. So I try start engine up that time but battery was dead that havent been replace since new. So Today I brought new battery and installed myself. So I pull up by VAG-COM and it show me code is

      3 Faults Found:

      16497 - Intake Air Temp. Sensor (G42)
      P0113 - 002 - Signal too High - Intermittent
      16486 - Mass Air Flow Sensor (G70)
      P0102 - 002 - Signal too Low - Intermittent
      16725 - Camshaft Position Sensor (G40)
      P0341 - 004 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent

      After that, I cleared it to see if it trown new code. It show only one code is

      16725 - Camshaft Position Sensor (G40)
      P0341 - 004 - Implausible Signal - Intermittent

      It only have about 89k on jetta which low miles I guess. I used have a 2005.5 jetta last 2 years ago which timing chain failed from previous owner and payed 1,230 to repaired and failed again. So dealer got engine fully fix and no problem uptill sold to me. It drove like new! Love it. Reason I sold because Valve body have issue and dealer wont cover because it passed 100k on it.

      Now, I try figuar out why it show Camshaft Position Sensor code and wont start the engine. Only I see RPM show like 200 or 300. Does it that mean Timing Chain failed or sensor failed? What best step I should start at before tear engine down. Thank you!

    2. 07-23-2012 09:39 AM #2
      It definitely sounds like a timing chain issue to me. The cam shaft position sensor would be unhappy because the cam isn't moving when the engine is being tuned over. Normally the best course of action when you have a failed chain is to put a whole new motor in. Just the parts to replace the timing chain is around 700-800 bucks not to mention you are going to have damaged valves and pistons to deal with. You can get a low mileage engine for less than 1000 bucks pretty easily.

    3. 07-23-2012 12:20 PM #3
      Quote Originally Posted by DerekH View Post
      It definitely sounds like a timing chain issue to me. The cam shaft position sensor would be unhappy because the cam isn't moving when the engine is being tuned over. Normally the best course of action when you have a failed chain is to put a whole new motor in. Just the parts to replace the timing chain is around 700-800 bucks not to mention you are going to have damaged valves and pistons to deal with. You can get a low mileage engine for less than 1000 bucks pretty easily.
      I'm planning to replace engine as what you say. I trying figuar out about 2.5 engine that have 2 different horsepower which is 2005 to 2007 is 150hp uptill 2008 to now become 170hp. My engine is BPG code. I found a 2008 Jetta 2.5l with 37,000 miles for $1,185 with shipping. I dunno if 2008 engine will work on my jetta. I wonder automatic will be okay with 2008 engine because horsepower increase 20 more. Thanks

    4. Member classicjetta's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 23rd, 2005
      Location
      Columbus, Ohio
      Posts
      9,559
      Vehicles
      2006 Volkswagen Jetta 2004 Ford Escape
      07-23-2012 02:32 PM #4
      Quote Originally Posted by VDUBVWJETTA View Post
      I'm planning to replace engine as what you say. I trying figuar out about 2.5 engine that have 2 different horsepower which is 2005 to 2007 is 150hp uptill 2008 to now become 170hp. My engine is BPG code. I found a 2008 Jetta 2.5l with 37,000 miles for $1,185 with shipping. I dunno if 2008 engine will work on my jetta. I wonder automatic will be okay with 2008 engine because horsepower increase 20 more. Thanks
      I don't know about configuring the 2008 engine to work with your car, but the automatic transmission can handle the additional power just fine. It's rated for over 200 lb-ft of torque.

    5. Member TylerO28's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 7th, 2008
      Location
      Mill Creek, WA
      Posts
      3,633
      Vehicles
      '08 2.5Turbo Rabbit
      07-23-2012 02:38 PM #5
      It'll bolt in no problem

      Sent from the bottomless pits of HELL!
      god i love my car. it may not be fast, but it's crazy fun!



      C2 stage 2 TURBO!!! ACHTUNG!!! 2.5liter 5cylinder contents under pressure!!!

    6. Member alwaysdutch's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 19th, 2011
      Location
      Canton, GA
      Posts
      358
      Vehicles
      2005.5 Jetta 2.5 Package 2
      07-23-2012 09:03 PM #6
      Yup, I did that and everything is the same. Just keep the old ECU unless you want to have flashed. Try to find an '08 or newer motor with ECU so that you get the additional 20hp (I believe it is all software)
      **- 2005.5 VW Jetta Package 2 with 2008 2.5L -**
      BFI stage 2 transmission mounts

    7. 07-23-2012 09:40 PM #7
      Okay, I saw your bottom quote or something. Your jetta are same as my jetta that year. If I put 2008 2.5 engine with 2005 automatic and it will be no problem? Only need to change 2008 ECU? How? My have package 1 which they dont make 2006 to 2008 manual ac and heat. Thanks

    8. Member LampyB's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2nd, 2007
      Location
      Boston
      Posts
      1,155
      Vehicles
      MKVI GLI + Rabbit
      07-24-2012 10:35 AM #8
      you seriously need to work on your grammar, it's extremely difficult to understand what you're saying.

      we're saying that you can swap a 2008 2.5l engine into the car without a problem. your automatic transmission will be able to handle the extra 20hp because it isn't achieved by changing the engine...VW just modified the ECU software to achieve more power in the newer models.

      you can use your 2005 ECU with the 2008 engine. if you wanted to tune the car with software to add more power, only then would you have to get new software flashed onto the ECU. as it stands now, you do not need to change software when you use the 2008 engine.
      2006 GLI / 2008 Rabbit - United Motorsports (used to be Flex Fuel)
      Quote Originally Posted by pete@blackforest View Post
      I remember when people modified their Volkswagen to enhance the driving experience. What ever happened to Fahrvergnugen?
      Bags are for kids that grew up watching Pimp My Ride. Turbo is for all of us that enjoy actual motorsport.

    9. 07-24-2012 01:36 PM #9
      You teach me how to get better grammar?

      Anyway, I found a 2007 jetta engine with 22k on it for 900 buck with shipping. It come out 6 month warranty. I wonder can I flash my ecu to gain 20 more horsepower on 07 engine? Thank you.

    10. 07-24-2012 08:39 PM #10
      Don't get an 07 engine. Get an 08 or newer, the 08 and newer engines have the revised timing chain parts to help keep the engine from self destructing again.

    11. 07-24-2012 09:38 PM #11
      Quote Originally Posted by DerekH View Post
      Don't get an 07 engine. Get an 08 or newer, the 08 and newer engines have the revised timing chain parts to help keep the engine from self destructing again.
      I did some research and and call dealer to pull up any recall and jetta have airbag wire need to replaced and they told me do not get 2008 to new engine and I kinda stuck now. What I can do? Still can get 2008 engine bolt up, plug, and drive it with no problem?

    12. Member classicjetta's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 23rd, 2005
      Location
      Columbus, Ohio
      Posts
      9,559
      Vehicles
      2006 Volkswagen Jetta 2004 Ford Escape
      07-25-2012 08:46 AM #12
      Quote Originally Posted by DerekH View Post
      Don't get an 07 engine. Get an 08 or newer, the 08 and newer engines have the revised timing chain parts to help keep the engine from self destructing again.
      The 07 engines have slightly revised parts so that instances of timing chain problems are very rare although not non-existent. The 07 engine doesn't have the characteristic whine from the chain that mine has had since new.

    13. 07-25-2012 09:39 AM #13
      I have an 07 and i am having issues with it... My mechanic says its not that uncommon either.

    14. 07-25-2012 11:58 AM #14
      Now I stress between 2 years of 2007 and 2008 2.5 engine. Some parts store said no and yes blah blah. What I can explain clear before I can get it. I would like more power out 2008 engine.

      I don't know how I can explain clear, lol.

    15. 07-25-2012 02:42 PM #15
      My 5th digial letter of vins is F. I dont see anything that go "F"?

    16. 07-25-2012 04:12 PM #16
      all the 2.5L engines are the same mechanically from 5.5 to current. You only get more power with different ecu programming.

      Some of the extraneous parts are different like intake and exhaust manifolds as well as maf and map versions. But any engine will bolt in if you put the correct parts on it from your current one.

    17. 07-25-2012 04:54 PM #17
      Quote Originally Posted by DerekH View Post
      all the 2.5L engines are the same mechanically from 5.5 to current. You only get more power with different ecu programming.

      Some of the extraneous parts are different like intake and exhaust manifolds as well as maf and map versions. But any engine will bolt in if you put the correct parts on it from your current one.
      I found Brand new 2011 jetta engine only have 15 miles, yes only 15 miles for $1,500. It that sound good deal? Will 2011 jetta engine will fix with no problem?

      Thanks

    18. 07-25-2012 08:58 PM #18
      Anyone?

    19. Member TylerO28's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 7th, 2008
      Location
      Mill Creek, WA
      Posts
      3,633
      Vehicles
      '08 2.5Turbo Rabbit
      07-26-2012 04:24 AM #19
      Yes
      As long as you can get the switch to map vs. maf figured out.i would assume you'll be able to just run it with your maf, but unfortunately i dont know for sure. If you bought that motor, and ran what you have for the intake plumbing i would assume it would be ok.but to avoid potential problems with that, I'd find an 08 or older.09's and up have maps not maf's

      Sent from the bottomless pits of HELL!
      Last edited by TylerO28; 07-26-2012 at 04:27 AM.
      god i love my car. it may not be fast, but it's crazy fun!



      C2 stage 2 TURBO!!! ACHTUNG!!! 2.5liter 5cylinder contents under pressure!!!

    20. 07-26-2012 12:30 PM #20
      Quote Originally Posted by TylerO28 View Post
      Yes
      As long as you can get the switch to map vs. maf figured out.i would assume you'll be able to just run it with your maf, but unfortunately i dont know for sure. If you bought that motor, and ran what you have for the intake plumbing i would assume it would be ok.but to avoid potential problems with that, I'd find an 08 or older.09's and up have maps not maf's

      Sent from the bottomless pits of HELL!
      I planning buy new engine from VW yard. Not gernal junk car. What is different between Map vs maf?

    21. 07-26-2012 12:36 PM #21
      Plus one of customer brought brand new 2011 jetta engine to install their 2007 jetta. They reported to them that they drove it with no problem. I should be fine with 11' engine.

    22. Member itskohler's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 7th, 2011
      Location
      Jacksonville, FL/Dallas, TX
      Posts
      4,426
      Vehicles
      2012 Jetta, 2008 Jetta RIP
      07-26-2012 01:00 PM #22
      I'd try to find an 09 and save a few hundred bucks.

    23. 07-26-2012 04:06 PM #23
      Quote Originally Posted by itskohler View Post
      I'd try to find an 09 and save a few hundred bucks.


      I got a 2008 jetta with 34k for $900 with shipping from CA to NC. 6 month warranty.

    24. 07-26-2012 05:55 PM #24
      I couldnt find engine hook. I have a engine lifter. I only found one on passage side front head. Where I can hook another chain to tranmission?

    25. Member TylerO28's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 7th, 2008
      Location
      Mill Creek, WA
      Posts
      3,633
      Vehicles
      '08 2.5Turbo Rabbit
      07-27-2012 12:32 PM #25
      There is a small provision for a hook on the transmission case towards to back of the Trans. Its a loop that sits near the firewall.keep looking its there

      Sent from the bottomless pits of HELL!
      god i love my car. it may not be fast, but it's crazy fun!



      C2 stage 2 TURBO!!! ACHTUNG!!! 2.5liter 5cylinder contents under pressure!!!

    26. 07-27-2012 06:15 PM #26
      Quote Originally Posted by TylerO28 View Post
      There is a small provision for a hook on the transmission case towards to back of the Trans. Its a loop that sits near the firewall.keep looking its there

      Sent from the bottomless pits of HELL!
      It little black tab that bolt attach into? Pics will be great! :-)

    27. Member alwaysdutch's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 19th, 2011
      Location
      Canton, GA
      Posts
      358
      Vehicles
      2005.5 Jetta 2.5 Package 2
      07-27-2012 08:10 PM #27
      You can also use the transmission mount bolts and create a 90 degree metal plate with a few holes. Bolt the plate back in the transmission hookup with the bolts and you have a hookup
      **- 2005.5 VW Jetta Package 2 with 2008 2.5L -**
      BFI stage 2 transmission mounts

    28. 07-27-2012 10:56 PM #28
      Quote Originally Posted by alwaysdutch View Post
      You can also use the transmission mount bolts and create a 90 degree metal plate with a few holes. Bolt the plate back in the transmission hookup with the bolts and you have a hookup
      .'

      I call one guy who owned vw yard in CA and he told me same answer as what you say! :-) So, I checked myself and duh that is easy! lol

    29. 07-28-2012 08:42 PM #29
      Hi guy, I got engine and tranny out today and it is so easy to take out front! I took starter off and I don't see any bolts to disconnect between flywheel and TC? What can I do? I need to take engine and automatic apart so I can put automatic attach on new engine. Thank you...

    30. Member TylerO28's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 7th, 2008
      Location
      Mill Creek, WA
      Posts
      3,633
      Vehicles
      '08 2.5Turbo Rabbit
      07-28-2012 10:56 PM #30
      There are a handful of 16mm bolts on both sides.a few up top on the Trans going into the block.and below near the oil pan going into the Trans from the motor.I'll get you a pic
      This shows a few. The starter has 2 and then there are a few more around below the differential
      Sent from the bottomless pits of HELL!
      god i love my car. it may not be fast, but it's crazy fun!



      C2 stage 2 TURBO!!! ACHTUNG!!! 2.5liter 5cylinder contents under pressure!!!

    31. Member TylerO28's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 7th, 2008
      Location
      Mill Creek, WA
      Posts
      3,633
      Vehicles
      '08 2.5Turbo Rabbit
      07-28-2012 10:58 PM #31
      Another pic of my old trans

      Sent from the bottomless pits of HELL!
      god i love my car. it may not be fast, but it's crazy fun!



      C2 stage 2 TURBO!!! ACHTUNG!!! 2.5liter 5cylinder contents under pressure!!!

    32. 07-28-2012 11:37 PM #32
      Quote Originally Posted by TylerO28 View Post
      Another pic of my old trans

      Sent from the bottomless pits of HELL!
      Your transmisson look like manual are they? My is automatic. I think I found another small hole behide engine block which that bolts for disconnect TC from flywheel, it that right? It have small black tab to cover hole. Not the tanny case.

    33. 07-28-2012 11:53 PM #33
      http://[/IMG]



      It that place to take bolts off between flywheel and TC? Thank you
      Last edited by VDUBVWJETTA; 07-28-2012 at 11:56 PM.

    34. Member alwaysdutch's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 19th, 2011
      Location
      Canton, GA
      Posts
      358
      Vehicles
      2005.5 Jetta 2.5 Package 2
      07-29-2012 12:25 PM #34
      Correct. You need to turn the shaft to remove the bolts from the TC and flywheel....

      Just make sure that when you put the trans back on the new motor, you have the TC all the way back in, otherwise it won't fit and damage the seal. Second, check the trans seal and replace it while you have it off. Mine was leaking a little so i replaced it.
      **- 2005.5 VW Jetta Package 2 with 2008 2.5L -**
      BFI stage 2 transmission mounts

    35. 07-29-2012 12:32 PM #35
      Quote Originally Posted by alwaysdutch View Post
      Correct. You need to turn the shaft to remove the bolts from the TC and flywheel....

      Just make sure that when you put the trans back on the new motor, you have the TC all the way back in, otherwise it won't fit and damage the seal. Second, check the trans seal and replace it while you have it off. Mine was leaking a little so i replaced it.
      Ok, you saying that once I install transmission back on new engine and make sure TC all the way back in to touch flywheel then bolts tight? Then bolts the case? Which seal you talking about?

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •