Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

The Car Lounge
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 640WHP and 40MPG. Direct injection ftw.

1. 07-31-2012 03:58 PM #1
      One of the tuners over at the COBB forums has been putting some effort into making big power, while still pulling close to 40MPG. The direct injection allows him to lean out the AFR at low load/crusing, without increasing EGTs/cylinder temps. I haven't seen proof, but from what I've read he seems to be a pretty reputable tuner. It's like having your cake and eating it too

https://forums.cobbtuning.com/forums...st-plain-crazy!

More discussion here: https://forums.cobbtuning.com/forums...7-Economy-Tune

Direct injection really is the future.

Vehicles
      2010 Toyota Prius V, 1996 Nissan Pathfinder LE 4x4
      07-31-2012 04:05 PM #2
      I'm not an engine engineer but I'm thinking there has to be a good reason OEMs haven't done such a thing. So I'm going to take a wild guess and says "engine longevity" without any specific reason why outside of "something has to give with that setup".
      Esi ϟ Disi

Vehicles
      E36
      07-31-2012 04:06 PM #3
      No one builds a car like that to drive around like a ***** to say he gets 40MPG.

A few quick pulls and you can kiss that 40MPG figure right out of the window.
      E36 · VEMS · TUNING
      Google Talk: NOTORIOUS VR

Vehicles
      91 Audi D11 V8, 71 Super, 07 E320 Bluetec, 05.5 Jetta 2.5
      07-31-2012 04:11 PM #4
      Quote Originally Posted by VarianceVQ View Post
      So I'm going to take a wild guess and says "engine longevity" without any specific reason why outside of "something has to give with that setup".
      thats my guess too

Vehicles
      Current: Audi S4, Q3 2.0T quattro, Porsche Boxster S, Dodge Dakota 4x4
      07-31-2012 04:18 PM #5