Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Wondering if I found a rare gem?

1. 07-31-2012 03:27 PM #1
      I've been reading around, and the thing I seem to see alot is that the 4motion 5spd passats are rare.

Now, I'm a noob to vw, but I know cars. I bought this car on the weekend thinking it was just a regular 1.8t 5spd FWD. When I went to check it out, I popped the hood and saw a longitudinally mounted engine, and cv shafts going to the front wheels. Now adding up two and two, I figured it was an AWD.

Now my question is that would this be a quattro like the audis, or a 4motion??

I wanted to take pics of it, but looks almost as if we're going to have a tornado!

It would be nice if this was a rare find. Would make up for all the bs and scams i've encountered over the years buying off classifieds websites lol

Should have mentioned its a 1998, and is immaculate condition, aside from little things to be fixed.

Vehicles
      static mk6 GTI/static mk2 Jetta Wolfie
      07-31-2012 04:12 PM #2
      4motion. idk what engine it really is, i don't remember a AWD passat w/ 1.8t
      Quote Originally Posted by NotLowEnough View Post
      I've seen hookers with less gap.
      Click here for lulz. ~
      mk6. | Instagram @fist_sluts | Chucktown Dubs.

3. 07-31-2012 08:42 PM #3
      Quote Originally Posted by rhodri45 View Post
      4motion. idk what engine it really is, i don't remember a AWD passat w/ 1.8t
      That's what I'm saying... I've looked around, but can't find anything on an AWD passat. Everything drivetrain related matches up to an A4...

Vehicles
      '03 BMP 20th GTI, '84 TD Jetta
      08-01-2012 01:09 PM #4
      I may be a bit confused, but you do know the Passat is FWD right?
      Quote Originally Posted by TM87 View Post
      VW-making mechanics out of owners since 1957.
      The project - '84 Jetta 1.6TD, 190k, fully rebuilt, Giles IP and injectors, 2.5" custom exhaust, 51mpg