Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Engine's running hot

Vehicles
      2006 GLI and 1987 Scirocco 16V
      08-11-2012 03:30 PM #1

I've put in a new water pump, new radiator, new fan switch, and 'burped' the system after warm. Any thoughts?

Also noticed some squeeks from the belts when turning the steering wheel. Could the h2o pump belt be slipping?

Vehicles
      08-11-2012 03:32 PM #2
      The pic above shows the gauge when driving. Idling in stop and go traffic it can rise even higher than this. If I keep the car moving it stays in the range shown in the photo.

Vehicles
      1986 Scirocco 16v
      08-11-2012 03:54 PM #3
      Yeah I'm having similar problems as well. Mine while I'm driving over 40 mph stays generally in the middle, but when I come to a long stop light it shoots up to about 3/4 of the way. I'm to the point of replacing the whole system minus the water pump.
      I'm a mechanical engineer, not a mechanic. I know why it works, not how.

Vehicles
      88 golf gt, 92 gti, 83 rocco
      08-11-2012 04:55 PM #4
      have you verified that the fan is running?
      and that it is running at the right time?
      chevy runs derp.

Vehicles
      08-11-2012 05:18 PM #5
      I know the fan runs when I **** the car off. Not sure if it runs while in motion.

Vehicles
      88 golf gt, 92 gti, 83 rocco
      08-11-2012 07:32 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by silverspeedbuggy View Post
      I know the fan runs when I **** the car off. Not sure if it runs while in motion.
      let it idle till the fan comes on. thatll help narrow it down. im pretty sure the fan coming on after the car is off doesnt mean it works while running. since thats controlled by another sensor.
      chevy runs derp.

Vehicles
      08-11-2012 07:41 PM #7
      Drove the car around for a bit, got out with the car running and checked the fan: it was running.

Vehicles
      08-11-2012 07:43 PM #8