Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: mk3 stock height suspension refresh

1. 08-15-2012 09:04 AM #1
      Hi... New here... Great write ups on this site that have helped a lot in planning and product recommendations. Thanks in advance!

1998 TDI w/ 225K miles on stock suspension and stock steelies. New to me. I'm new to VW in general. So far love the mileage... handling sucks.

Goal:

Stock Height or slightly plus. I live on gravel road, have steep long unpaved driveway. I carry a heavy load in the trunk regularly and would like to pull a 500lb trailer at some point without sag. I want to be able to travel at highway speed ++ w/o roll when I need to. I live where winter snow gets nasty. Looking for widest stance w/o rubbing. I don't want wide wheels/tires because I don't want it to effect my awesome mpg and I need the snow traction of a narrower tire. I want to do my upgrade once so I can align / spin balance once. I most likely will bring it to a local garage that I have a good relationship w/. (I have no garage, gravel drive, no torque wrench, no spring compressor, etc. etc.) Looking for critique of plans and "you should do this too while you're there", or "wrong part number... that won't fit"

Parts in hand:

Honda FIT rims: 16 x 6J x E53 machined from 56.1 to 57.1
      hub/wheel centric Rear spacers 38mm x 57.1 bolt on w/ new studs and lug nuts (et 15 final)
      hub/wheel centric Front spacers 12mm x 57.1 w/ longer lug bolts (et 41 final)
      195-50-ZR16 Continental Extreme DWS x 4 (0.5cm over stock radius)
      Koni Yellow Sport Adjustable Shocks / Struts for 4 corners
      Retain stock front springs
      Eibach Front and Rear Sway bars

And this stuff from Germanautoparts.com

Suplex cargo control rear springs from
      1H5511115JHD
      Rear spring, heavy duty

1H0512149
      Rubber spring pad, upper rear

357498331AHD
      VR6 strut mount kit, HD

1H0412365A