Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: What should I do with these skis from the thrift shop?

Vehicles
      '09 GTI
      09-02-2012 07:03 PM #1
      I am not a pro skier, I go two times a year, more if I can make it, but I thoroughly enjoy the sport and I am trying to get better each time I go skiing. That being said, I am still fine with just renting whatever skis are at the slopes because I don't know that I can really tell the difference yet.

Anyway, I found these skis at the thrift shop, and figured I would buy them because A: they're brand new, and B: they were 15 bucks. I am not finding a lot of information about these online, apparently they are race skis from 2000 to 2002 or thereabouts.

I took them to a local ski shop, and the guy wasn't too particularly helpful, but basically he said it might not be worth buying boots and poles for these. Also, he wouldn't set the bindings because of "insurance reasons." At first I thought he was BS'ing, but it appears that some bindings do go on a black list as time goes on, for whatever reason. He called these skis and bindings "obsolete." To me that's like saying a 2000 Honda Accord is "obsolete" simply because there's newer stuff out there. Well, guess what, that 2000 Accord drove perfectly fine from point A to point B in 2000, and it probably drives perfectly fine now! So I don't much care for that argument.

But mainly, does anyone know anything more about these skis, and should I even bother with them? I am not a "race" skier, I prefer carving at a moderate pace much more than going fast, and I don't want to strap myself onto some skis that may be beyond my skill level. On the other hand, these are 10-12 years old and I may not find anyone to buy them off of me who would appreciate them. Maybe hold onto them until my skiing skills improve? Is there anything inherently unsafe about these skis?

-Triumph, the Insult Comic Dog