Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Thread: Would you go "backwards"?

Vehicles
      93 corrado vr6, 95 golf race car, 05 trailblazer, 06 BMW 325ixT
      09-06-2012 10:36 AM #1
      So here's the deal. My wife and i are in pretty good shape $$$ wise. Debt free with the exception of a line of credit we recently opened for the express purpose of finishing the house renos. At current income levels and savings rate, we'll have it paid at some point next summer.

Once the renos are paid for, my wife and i are 100% debt free living in a home we want to start and raise a family in. Salaries at that point are for savings, kids and the occasional toy/replacement car.

That financial ability is because of my current position. I am a gov't contractor making an obscene salary for what the job actually entails (yaya sux to be me i know). Thing is that i freaking hate the environment in which i work. I am a mechanical engineer and i currently write proposals.... NOT even ClOSE to what i want to do with my life. Not to mention the fact that the environment i work in is absolutely terrible and full of crusty old people who don't wanna do squat. And then add the politics that comes with working with gov't workers.... I realize that i am in a pretty desirable position and the shyte gravy train that i am on is the one that has enabled that. I know i am lucky and so i cant complain toooo much

But I want to work as an engineer again godamnit! But to do so will undoubtedly result in a (probably significant) pay cut. Not to mention the fact thqt i haven't been doing it much flr the past 5 years... The result of this and the environment now is that i am likely getting dumber.

Would you do it?? Stick with the gravy train as long as you can even though you hate it and wanna shoot yourself by coffee time every day? Or find a job that makes you happier and hopefully provides a better career path at the expense of money?