Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 16 of 16

    Thread: Anyone with some Windows XP knowledge to lend a hand?

    1. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 29th, 2007
      Location
      Chicago
      Posts
      1,560
      Vehicles
      2013 Volvo C30 6mt
      09-15-2012 09:52 PM #1
      So today I took a barebones PC and installed Windows XP w/ Service Pack 3 DVD on it (the SP3 is part of the installation.)

      So far so good except for one problem: The internet does not work.

      Previously this PC used various versions of Ubuntu, Lubuntu, and Linux Puppy - all of them had no issues getting on the Internet.

      I've gone online and searched for all possible resolutions to this issue.

      First, I tried resetting Winsock - this did not work.

      Next, I tried uninstalling the Service Pack 3 updates. Unfortunately there is no entry for uninstalling them likely because it was embedded during the installation process.

      Has anyone run into this situation before? The box connects directly to a router and requires no user id/password and like I've said, several other versions of Linux had no issues with connecting straight after installation.

      Another oddity surfaced also - which is probably not affecting this - but I noticed that Windows decided to reformat / relabel the C:\ drive as the I:\ drive now for whatever reason. Anyway of changing this back to C:\?

      The only other thing I can think of is going to Fry's and purchasing a wireless adapter and see if I can connect that way. I'd really hate to do if a direct connection is already available.
      Last edited by dirtyfingers; 09-15-2012 at 09:58 PM.

    2. Moderator DanG's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 16th, 2000
      Location
      Winnipeg
      Posts
      10,957
      Vehicles
      2014 Wrangler
      09-16-2012 01:43 AM #2
      Obvious question you didn't mention anything about, did you load the drivers for the network card? They're not build into windows.
      Does the computer get an IP address? Can you ping the gateway? If you log into the router, do you see the MAC in the DHCP table?

    3. Member georgekelp's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 15th, 2005
      Location
      Arizona
      Posts
      6,656
      Vehicles
      1998 Volkswagen Golf
      09-16-2012 08:09 AM #3
      You didn't mention, but do you have other computers that are able to get on the internet via the router? Have you tried bypassing the router and going directly to the modem?

      It was mentioned above, but make sure the drivers are correct. Even if device manager says there are no problems, it may have used the incorrect drivers for the install. Try going to the motherboard or NIC manufacturer's website (whichever the LAN port is on) to get the latest network drivers.

      As far as changing the letter of the root drive, it isn't possible without a reinstall. That being said though, since you did just install, it might not take too much of your time to reinstall and make sure it installs as C.

    4. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 29th, 2007
      Location
      Chicago
      Posts
      1,560
      Vehicles
      2013 Volvo C30 6mt
      09-16-2012 10:11 PM #4
      Quote Originally Posted by DanG View Post
      Obvious question you didn't mention anything about, did you load the drivers for the network card? They're not build into windows.
      Does the computer get an IP address? Can you ping the gateway? If you log into the router, do you see the MAC in the DHCP table?
      I did not load the drivers because I couldn't find them - the PC is ancient. I figured that since three different distributions of Linux could figure the network card out so could Windows. I could not ping anything.

      Quote Originally Posted by georgekelp View Post
      You didn't mention, but do you have other computers that are able to get on the internet via the router? Have you tried bypassing the router and going directly to the modem?

      It was mentioned above, but make sure the drivers are correct. Even if device manager says there are no problems, it may have used the incorrect drivers for the install. Try going to the motherboard or NIC manufacturer's website (whichever the LAN port is on) to get the latest network drivers.

      As far as changing the letter of the root drive, it isn't possible without a reinstall. That being said though, since you did just install, it might not take too much of your time to reinstall and make sure it installs as C.
      I couldn't find the drivers. This is a fairly old PC (512MB maximum allowed memory)...

      After 3 hours messing around with it I stopped by my local Fry's and picked up a $10 Wifi USB card and that worked just fine.

      One thing is for sure: I am not alone. There are a lot of users with the same problems with the XP distribution that includes Service Pack 3 on the same DVD.
      Last edited by dirtyfingers; 09-16-2012 at 11:32 PM.

    5. Geriatric Member BRealistic's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2005
      Location
      Tennessee
      Posts
      64,831
      Vehicles
      88 F150, 04 RX8
      09-16-2012 11:17 PM #5
      Quote Originally Posted by dirtyfingers View Post
      I couldn't find the drivers. This is a fairly old PC (512MB maximum allowed memory)...
      .
      Good gravyville.
      Pentium III?
      What are you using this beast for?
      Just an email machine?
      |˙˙ʇǝuɹǝʇuı ǝɥʇ uo ʇxǝʇ uʍop ǝpısdn ɯopuɐɹ pɐǝɹ noʎ :ǝɯıʇ ǝǝɹɟ ɥɔnɯ ooʇ ʎɐʍ ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ןןǝʇ oʇ ʍoɥ˙˙˙|http://hotlinktest.com/

    6. Member
      Join Date
      Apr 29th, 2007
      Location
      Chicago
      Posts
      1,560
      Vehicles
      2013 Volvo C30 6mt
      09-16-2012 11:31 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by BRealistic View Post
      Good gravyville.
      Pentium III?
      What are you using this beast for?
      Just an email machine?
      It's one of the first Pentium 4's; this particular configuration seems pretty rare for the strict memory limitation. This was probably used to encourage people to upgrade to the next more expensive model.

      My dad uses it for paying bills, playing solitaire - and when my mom isn't looking - looking at porn.

    7. Geriatric Member BRealistic's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 16th, 2005
      Location
      Tennessee
      Posts
      64,831
      Vehicles
      88 F150, 04 RX8
      09-17-2012 12:18 AM #7
      Quote Originally Posted by dirtyfingers View Post
      It's one of the first Pentium 4's; this particular configuration seems pretty rare for the strict memory limitation. This was probably used to encourage people to upgrade to the next more expensive model.

      My dad uses it for paying bills, playing solitaire - and when my mom isn't looking - looking at porn.
      What was it rocking originally- Windows 98 or Windows 2000?

      Gateway?
      Last edited by BRealistic; 09-17-2012 at 12:45 AM.
      |˙˙ʇǝuɹǝʇuı ǝɥʇ uo ʇxǝʇ uʍop ǝpısdn ɯopuɐɹ pɐǝɹ noʎ :ǝɯıʇ ǝǝɹɟ ɥɔnɯ ooʇ ʎɐʍ ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ןןǝʇ oʇ ʍoɥ˙˙˙|http://hotlinktest.com/

    8. Member NOTORIOUS VR's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 24th, 2002
      Location
      Toronto
      Posts
      3,973
      Vehicles
      E36
      09-17-2012 11:31 AM #8
      Quote Originally Posted by dirtyfingers View Post
      I did not load the drivers
      That's your problem.
      E36 · VEMS · TUNING
      Google Talk: NOTORIOUS VR

    9. Moderator DanG's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 16th, 2000
      Location
      Winnipeg
      Posts
      10,957
      Vehicles
      2014 Wrangler
      09-17-2012 11:35 AM #9
      Linux may have had a generic built in driver that will work with pretty much any network card. Windows does as well, but may just not have the right one.

      Right click on my computer and go into device manager. Under network adapters, does the network card show up in it, or is it a yellow exclamation or question mark for unknown device?

      What brand of PC, or network card is it?

    10. 09-28-2012 01:06 AM #10
      You also need to install the drivers for the motherboard

    11. 10-02-2012 12:53 AM #11
      yeah, i think so ,Linux may have had a generic built in driver that will work with pretty much any network card. Windows does as well, but may just not have the right one.

    12. Member WD-40's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 9th, 2005
      Location
      Midwest USA
      Posts
      2,281
      10-02-2012 04:39 AM #12
      Quote Originally Posted by dirtyfingers View Post
      Another oddity surfaced also - which is probably not affecting this - but I noticed that Windows decided to reformat / relabel the C:\ drive as the I:\ drive now for whatever reason.
      Did you remove all of the Linux partitions before installing Windows?

      If not, Windows might have installed over just one of the existing partitions, leaving others on the disk wasting space (unless you have it set up to dual-boot)...

    13. Senior Member F1_Fan's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 16th, 2001
      Location
      Victoria, BC
      Posts
      20,075
      10-08-2012 07:58 PM #13
      Quote Originally Posted by stevenjoywell View Post
      yeah, i think so ,Linux may have had a generic built in driver that will work with pretty much any network card. Windows does as well, but may just not have the right one.
      Oh good... all is normal here. I don't visit this forum for a few months and when I do, I see the Indian/Asian tech support crew is still active.
      There's always money in the banana stand.

    14. 10-08-2012 09:38 PM #14
      This seems like L1 tech stuff. If it's some knockoff brand hardware and you didn't install the drivers yourself, it's probably not going to work.

      Buy Intel next time. I wouldn't expect Microsoft to slipstream drivers in XP for the no-name Huayang-Chuyang chipset your mobo has.

      edit- I sound like a d-bag in my post, and I apologize. MS has a finite amount of financial and human resources and they're not going to devote those to providing built-in support for hardware with a tiny user base.
      Last edited by Angry_Birds; 10-09-2012 at 10:17 AM.

    15. Senior Member Hostile's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 29th, 2002
      Location
      NoVA
      Posts
      29,652
      Vehicles
      '15 STi & '13 GTI
      10-09-2012 08:04 AM #15
      Edit- nevermind
      Last edited by Hostile; 10-09-2012 at 08:09 AM.

    16. Member x047x's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 16th, 2004
      Location
      Pittsburgh
      Posts
      2,813
      Vehicles
      '08 335xi
      10-25-2012 12:30 PM #16
      is picking up a cheap NIC an option?

      Something like: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833156107

      eBay even has stuff for like $5

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •