Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Links back to The Car Lounge (opens in same window)

Thread: GM spot welding Aluminium

1. Member
      Vehicles
      1994 Land Cruiser
      09-27-2012 08:02 AM #1
      Just saw this article over at GMinsidenews and through it might be interesting to the more cerebral of our members.

The link...http://www.gminsidenews.com/forums/f...uminum-113610/

The gist.... GM can now spot weld aluminium reliably. It saves weight on rivits and glue and will probably allow further integration of aluminium structures into future GM vehicles (it is all ready used in some currently in production).

Cheers
      Chris

Vehicles
      2011 S4, 2012 S60 T6, 1980 911
      09-27-2012 08:17 AM #2
      Granted I'm not a structural engineer by any means but I thought bonded panels with "glue" was stronger than any spot weld. I can't imagine the weight of the glue adding much. If that's true, I'm confused as to why they even persued this
      '78 MGB for sale...contact me for details
      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...6#post82404306

09-27-2012 08:18 AM #3
      Yea, but they shouldn't say saving two pounds actually increases fuel economy...
      I sold my bagged VW and bought a 5.0?

Vehicles
      CTLS
      09-27-2012 08:25 AM #4
      Quote Originally Posted by sicklyscott View Post
      Granted I'm not a structural engineer by any means but I thought bonded panels with "glue" was stronger than any spot weld. I can't imagine the weight of the glue adding much. If that's true, I'm confused as to why they even persued this
      Welding is cheaper than adhesives, even though adhesives are now the preferred way to bond seams in body shells.
      Future Chevy Colorado buyer.

Vehicles
      '87 930 '77 Bronco '01 325iT '08 Xterra
      09-27-2012 08:36 AM #5