Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

The Car Lounge

Thread: $20-25k Non-Daily, but with reasonable practicality.

1. 10-03-2012 11:18 PM #1
      I currently own a '00 Accord 5-speed with 180k miles. Pic right beh-low:

This car has treated me exceptionally well, and I plan to drive it for at least another 100k miles as my daily driver. I am a very conservative driver, however I'd like to spice things up a bit and get a car I wont feel as bad hooning around a couple times a week.

My budget is between $20-25K and I'd prefer to get a slightly more expensive/well cared for example. Reliability is less of an issue since I have a perfectly good DD, however I don't want to be having to do costly repairs regularly.

Some ideal cars would be e39 M5, e55 AMG, e46 M3, B6 S4, C5 Z06, LSx Miata, 5.0 Stang... The Germans scare me from a maintenance point of view, and the miata will have a crappy resale value if I ever decide to sell. The Z06 and Stang are fast and cool, but I am not sure if I will want more refinement.

I'm not limited to those cars.

Any further suggestions TCL?

p.s. Hi, I've been a lurker for a while. Gotten a lot of enjoyment from this forum in the past!
      Last edited by shoeydude; 10-03-2012 at 11:21 PM.

Vehicles
      2005 Grand Cherokee Limited, 2003 Honda CBR600 RR
      10-03-2012 11:27 PM #2

S2000 is easily within your price range.

Early 90s NSX maybe? Not sure if you can get one for mid 20s. Maybe with higher mileage. There was a thread on here where a guy got one with like 100K on the clock for $20,000 or so. From what I remember it was very well maintained and he loved his life.

Vehicles
      '13 Focus, '00 Miata
      10-03-2012 11:52 PM #3
      Lots of good choices there. Maybe cts-v and GTO should be on your list too, and 3rd gen RX-7 ls1
      "If your car 'feels like it's on rails,' then you're going too slow."

Vehicles
      2004 Mazdaspeed Miata, 1994 B3000