Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: * Tips on getting your car in Photos and Videos at Events like H2Oi *

Vehicles
      Collection of German
      10-09-2012 09:34 AM #1
      Year after year, the pictures and videos start to get posted and people get butt hurt that their car didn't make it into any. So being a videographer myself I figured I would share some things I look for when picking cars to shoot so maybe it will help people out.

My video from H2oi http://youtu.be/96hSuYkA1EY?hd=1

1. Do something unique: Wheels, Paint Job, etc I know it's getting harder and harder to do something different when now weird and odd is the normal, and CCW classics are on every car, but do something you don't always see. (In a good way)

2. Be everywhere: With photographers and videographers coming out of the woodwork to try and capture their own experience you need to go to as many meets, as many events as possible. Increase the chances of the car being seen and you will increase the chances of pictures/video. Simple

3. Stage your own car: Parking lots are not the most photogenic places, photographers don't really want to shoot cars all lined up. Pick a spot against a wall, near a curb, under a creepy tree. Make sure your wheels aren't turned to really stupid positions, straight or wheel face slightly turned out is ok. Also if you can make sure the sun is exposing the side of the car, that would be photographed is a big help too

4. CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN: Not only the mods, but the paint, the wheels, etc. Yes photoshop is a great tool and can help fix certain areas on a photo or make a car look better then in person. But you can only polish a turd so much, CLEAN YOUR ISH!!