Forgot your password?

VWVortex

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Project Wolfsburg

1. Member
      Vehicles
      1991 Wolfsburg jetta
      10-15-2012 06:01 PM #1
      I know many of you will look at this and think "why did he start a thread on this." Some of you will think it's not a build thread at all. But I had a vehicle stolen a year back or so (never got it back) and luckily I had a build thread online. Having a record of how the vehicle was when I got it and everything I had done to it since really helped when I had to deal with the insurance company and I was able to come out almost even, money wise. So I'd rather be safe than sorry if that happens again.

I'm rather new in the vw world, i built a 1981 toyota pickup from stock to Rockcrawler (started when I was 15) got stolen when I was almost 17. Then I got a 94 Toyota pickup an built that up to Rockcrawler again, that's where I am now, I'm 18 with 2 major builds under my belt. But now I want a car to DD, so I got this last week. 1991 Wolfsburg Jetta, 193k miles, 1.8 8v and a 5 speed with a short shift kit, lowered about 3" with cut coils , tectonics 2 1/4" exhaust, and 14" snowflakes that the guy rattle canned.

So far I've only done a little bit of maintenance stuff, changed the oil, thermostat, coolant, brake fluid, power steering fluid. Later this week (hopefully tomorrow) I'm changing out the shift linkage bushings as they're worn pretty bad, cleaning the isv out along with some other miscellaneous things I can do for cheap/free. Getting a new k&n filter shipped in (2 3/4 flange which apparently is a really oddball size). Also ordering raceland ultimos tomorrow and putting those in as soon as they get here. This weekend I'll hopefully tackle the heater core and blend door foam so I can get my heater working good, as this is my new DD.

Future pland are tearing apart the tranny and replacing reverse (gear is chipped) along with my 2nd gear syncro
      Few pics

Pic with my truck