Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 20 of 20

    Thread: How to Check if ECU Miles and Odometer Miles Match?

    1. Member aeffertz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 6th, 2009
      Location
      Ladysmith, WI
      Posts
      4,569
      Vehicles
      '84 Rabbit, 2012 GTI
      10-22-2012 12:26 PM #1
      Hey everyone,

      So apparently the car I purchased had the cluster swapped. The PO said the car has like 160,000 miles on it but the swapped cluster reads 220,000 miles. I've read that it's possible to check the ECU for rhe vehicle mileage but I'm unaware how.

      If they are indeed way off, is it possible to rollback the odometer to match the car? I've read a little bit about VAG-TACHO but that's over $400. Will VAG-COM/VCDS be able to read both mileages

      Any input? Thanks in advance!

      Alex

    2. Member mike4-vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 11th, 2011
      Location
      TX
      Posts
      976
      Vehicles
      MK4 Jetta VR6 / E46 M3
      10-22-2012 02:48 PM #2
      First off, if the cluster miles dont match actual miles it is highly illegal and it wont pass inspection.

      VAG-TACHO is the only thing that will adjust mileage and it will only roll it forward. Also, it is illegal to roll back mileage for any reason. Furthermore, the mileage on the ECU has to match the mileage on the cluster or it wont work.

      This is all information I got from the dealer.

    3. Member .:S's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 23rd, 2007
      Location
      Pacific NW
      Posts
      468
      Vehicles
      Two 8v's, 300SEL W126
      10-22-2012 02:50 PM #3
      I don't think mk4s stored this information in the ECU. I have not able to get the mileage on any I have ever scanned, but can from other cars (B6+, MK5+).

      VCDS does have a mode for checking this information if it is available.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    4. Member .:S's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 23rd, 2007
      Location
      Pacific NW
      Posts
      468
      Vehicles
      Two 8v's, 300SEL W126
      10-22-2012 02:52 PM #4
      Quote Originally Posted by mike4-vr6 View Post
      Furthermore, the mileage on the ECU has to match the mileage on the cluster or it wont work.

      This is all information I got from the dealer.
      When I got my new cluster, before I rolled it forward, it worked just fine despite having 5 miles.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    5. Member mike4-vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 11th, 2011
      Location
      TX
      Posts
      976
      Vehicles
      MK4 Jetta VR6 / E46 M3
      10-22-2012 02:54 PM #5
      Quote Originally Posted by .:S View Post
      I don't think mk4s stored this information in the ECU. I have not able to get the mileage on any I have ever scanned, but can from other cars (B6+, MK5+).

      VCDS does have a mode for checking this information if it is available.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      I was told that the origional mileage is checked during inspection.

    6. Member mike4-vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 11th, 2011
      Location
      TX
      Posts
      976
      Vehicles
      MK4 Jetta VR6 / E46 M3
      10-22-2012 02:54 PM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by .:S View Post
      When I got my new cluster, before I rolled it forward, it worked just fine despite having 5 miles.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      Was it new or used?

    7. Member Soundwave_vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2007
      Location
      Ontario
      Posts
      6,811
      Vehicles
      3.6 4mo
      10-22-2012 02:58 PM #7
      Quote Originally Posted by mike4-vr6 View Post

      VAG-TACHO is the only thing that will adjust mileage and it will only roll it forward. Also, it is illegal to roll back mileage for any reason. Furthermore, the mileage on the ECU has to match the mileage on the cluster or it wont work.

      This is all information I got from the dealer.

      cause the dealer knows best? all incorrect BTW


      vagtacho will do what ever you want.


      as for OP i don't think you can check one vs the other.
      Quote Originally Posted by Banana.Phone View Post
      mk4 kids are on their own. Remember, you guys ruined the scene.

    8. Member mike4-vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 11th, 2011
      Location
      TX
      Posts
      976
      Vehicles
      MK4 Jetta VR6 / E46 M3
      10-22-2012 03:00 PM #8
      Quote Originally Posted by aeffertz View Post
      Hey everyone,

      So apparently the car I purchased had the cluster swapped. The PO said the car has like 160,000 miles on it but the swapped cluster reads 220,000 miles.
      Sounds sketchy though. Was it an R cluster or just to replace a broken one or what?

    9. Member mike4-vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 11th, 2011
      Location
      TX
      Posts
      976
      Vehicles
      MK4 Jetta VR6 / E46 M3
      10-22-2012 03:05 PM #9
      Quote Originally Posted by Soundwave_vr6 View Post
      cause the dealer knows best? all incorrect BTW


      vagtacho will do what ever you want.


      as for OP i don't think you can check one vs the other.
      So what besides VAG TACHO can you use to roll back mileage?

    10. Member Einkaufswagen's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2009
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      7,571
      Vehicles
      2001 Baltic Green Jetta GLX, 2003 W8 Passat Wagon 6speed
      10-22-2012 03:07 PM #10
      Congrats OP you just bought a car with 220,000 miles on it! The cluster is the only thing that keeps track of the milage, and as stated before you can only roll forward not back on the miles.

      So even if your car does actualy have 160,000, the cluster is the only thing that matters and your car will now be considered a 220,000 mile car.
      My OEM+ Builds & Timelines Einkaufswagen's MK4 Build, Einkaufswagen's W8 Timeline
      Cars Owned: 1999.5 Jetta VR6 GLS, 2000 Jetta VR6 GLX, 2001 Jetta VR6 GLX, 2001 Jetta VR6 GLX, 2004 Jetta GLI 1.8T, 2000 GTI 1.8T, 2004 Jetta GLI 1.8T, 2003 Passat Wagon W8 6Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by VRPARTY View Post
      You don't drive vws if you have never blown a tranny
      Quote Originally Posted by Passattimmy View Post
      I'm strongly considering prostituting myself so that I can get euro recaros...

    11. Member mike4-vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 11th, 2011
      Location
      TX
      Posts
      976
      Vehicles
      MK4 Jetta VR6 / E46 M3
      10-22-2012 03:13 PM #11
      Quote Originally Posted by Einkaufswagen View Post
      Congrats OP you just bought a car with 220,000 miles on it! The cluster is the only thing that keeps track of the milage, and as stated before you can only roll forward not back on the miles.

      So even if your car does actualy have 160,000, the cluster is the only thing that matters and your car will now be considered a 220,000 mile car.
      Thought I was right. Everything I have researched confirms everything I said. I have an .:R cluster that is used that I have yet to install because I have tried all cheap easy ways to do it.

      From what I understand the only way to do it is to first send out cluster to have mileage moved forward or buy VAG-TACHO and then take the car to the dealer when the odometer on the stock cluster matches what the new cluster got rolled forward to and have key coded. (which is like 300 bucks or something).

      Also, there is no other way to install a different cluster unless it is a new one. If the replacement cluster he used was new, then that would put you at 220k mi. Sounds like you got screwed.
      Last edited by mike4-vr6; 10-22-2012 at 03:24 PM.

    12. Member Soundwave_vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2007
      Location
      Ontario
      Posts
      6,811
      Vehicles
      3.6 4mo
      10-22-2012 03:19 PM #12
      Quote Originally Posted by mike4-vr6 View Post
      So what besides VAG TACHO can you use to roll back mileage?
      i rolled back a gli cluster with 88000km on it down to 92km you can roll back no problem. (with vag tacho)


      there is a higher end one vag dash






      Edit : i have rolled back a cluster . swapped a cluster changed the hex coding for red needles


      i know what i'm fuking talking about. all the info is on these forums


      edit 2 : vagtacho is like 30 bucks on deal extreem
      Last edited by Soundwave_vr6; 10-22-2012 at 03:29 PM.
      Quote Originally Posted by Banana.Phone View Post
      mk4 kids are on their own. Remember, you guys ruined the scene.

    13. Member mike4-vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jun 11th, 2011
      Location
      TX
      Posts
      976
      Vehicles
      MK4 Jetta VR6 / E46 M3
      10-22-2012 03:37 PM #13
      Quote Originally Posted by Soundwave_vr6 View Post
      i rolled back a gli cluster with 88000km on it down to 92km you can roll back no problem. (with vag tacho)


      there is a higher end one vag dash






      Edit : i have rolled back a cluster . swapped a cluster changed the hex coding for red needles


      i know what i'm fuking talking about. all the info is on these forums


      edit 2 : vagtacho is like 30 bucks on deal extreem

      So you are telling me I can buy the $30 VAG TACHO, roll the mileage forward, then plug in the R cluster and the car will run? I wouldnt have to have a new key coded to the cluster?

    14. Member Einkaufswagen's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 25th, 2009
      Location
      Rhode Island
      Posts
      7,571
      Vehicles
      2001 Baltic Green Jetta GLX, 2003 W8 Passat Wagon 6speed
      10-22-2012 03:45 PM #14
      If your car is a 2000+ you will need the old clusters SKU in the new cluster to make the IMMO go away as far as I know.
      My OEM+ Builds & Timelines Einkaufswagen's MK4 Build, Einkaufswagen's W8 Timeline
      Cars Owned: 1999.5 Jetta VR6 GLS, 2000 Jetta VR6 GLX, 2001 Jetta VR6 GLX, 2001 Jetta VR6 GLX, 2004 Jetta GLI 1.8T, 2000 GTI 1.8T, 2004 Jetta GLI 1.8T, 2003 Passat Wagon W8 6Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by VRPARTY View Post
      You don't drive vws if you have never blown a tranny
      Quote Originally Posted by Passattimmy View Post
      I'm strongly considering prostituting myself so that I can get euro recaros...

    15. Member Soundwave_vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2007
      Location
      Ontario
      Posts
      6,811
      Vehicles
      3.6 4mo
      10-22-2012 03:51 PM #15
      Quote Originally Posted by mike4-vr6 View Post
      So you are telling me I can buy the $30 VAG TACHO, roll the mileage forward, then plug in the R cluster and the car will run? I wouldnt have to have a new key coded to the cluster?

      yes

      http://dx.com/p/vag-tacho-usb-2-5-fo...-126935?item=2

      http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthrea...ht=cluster+faq



      with vagtacho you can program your keys to the cluster.


      red needles




      get busy
      Quote Originally Posted by Banana.Phone View Post
      mk4 kids are on their own. Remember, you guys ruined the scene.

    16. Member aeffertz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 6th, 2009
      Location
      Ladysmith, WI
      Posts
      4,569
      Vehicles
      '84 Rabbit, 2012 GTI
      10-22-2012 04:35 PM #16
      Well, shoot. I don't know what I was reading, then. Maybe it was for a Beetle or something...

      If the computer doesn't also store the mileage and there's no other way to determine/confirm the car's actual miles, than I'm not going to turn it back to what the dude said the car has on it. Lame.

      Also, the little center screen in the cluster displays nothing. Is that called the MFA?
      Last edited by aeffertz; 10-22-2012 at 04:41 PM.

    17. Member Soundwave_vr6's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 30th, 2007
      Location
      Ontario
      Posts
      6,811
      Vehicles
      3.6 4mo
      10-22-2012 04:49 PM #17
      in Canada. well Ontario


      when ever you get new plate stickers/ sell the car ect you must state the mileage to the gov't. i know some states have inspections.


      do they record the millage?


      Edit: only early vr6's and gli/r32's had the mfa
      Quote Originally Posted by Banana.Phone View Post
      mk4 kids are on their own. Remember, you guys ruined the scene.

    18. Member aeffertz's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 6th, 2009
      Location
      Ladysmith, WI
      Posts
      4,569
      Vehicles
      '84 Rabbit, 2012 GTI
      10-22-2012 05:04 PM #18
      Quote Originally Posted by Soundwave_vr6 View Post
      in Canada. well Ontario


      when ever you get new plate stickers/ sell the car ect you must state the mileage to the gov't. i know some states have inspections.


      do they record the millage?


      Edit: only early vr6's and gli/r32's had the mfa
      Right. You have to state the miles when you register the vehicle, but the guy I bought it from said he's only had it for a short period of time and the owner before him was the one that did all the work. We don't have vehicle inspections here.

      So, that display never displays anything? It's just a '00 2.0 Golf.


    19. Member 24Vjrod1.8T's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 23rd, 2009
      Location
      Winter Haven, FL
      Posts
      760
      Vehicles
      2004 GTI VR6 2003 Jetta GLS 1.8t
      10-26-2012 09:43 AM #20
      Quote Originally Posted by K3ith View Post
      This has lasted tooo long.....the Vortex is WIDE OPEN
      Quote Originally Posted by ashley877 View Post
      well i am positive i dont, at least didn't i've gotten WAY better, but one time i kinda threw up on him so embarrassing can't believe i'm saying that on here
      Need VAG-com in central FL? PM me!

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •