Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    VWVortex


    Results 1 to 14 of 14

    Thread: so has anyone figured out how to get a proper tach signal?

    1. Member halchka99's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 18th, 2002
      Location
      Los Angeles
      Posts
      9,403
      Vehicles
      Evo IX MR: 1991 VW GTi 1.8T 20V: Mk6 GLI
      01-26-2013 12:15 AM #1
      Many moons ago, it was at the ecu, then it was at the injectors bla bla none of those are accurate signals.

      Has any progress been made?

      For Sale: SEM driver box.

    2. Banned
      Join Date
      Jan 16th, 2013
      Posts
      92
      Vehicles
      I own too many MK4's for my own good...
      01-26-2013 12:50 AM #2
      K-Line, Crank, coil, etc?

    3. Moderator groggory's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 21st, 2003
      Location
      Long Beach, CA
      Posts
      11,928
      Vehicles
      2002 VW GTI 1.8 BT
      01-26-2013 12:56 AM #3
      Really? Injectors aren't a good signal? What do they look like on the scope?

      Surely the crank would also work

      What is the method used by the standalone systems like vipec, and autronic?
      My Build
      My FAQ / DIY Thread -- Look here for 90% of the questions you have

      Welcome to the world of racing! Budgets are ALWAYS exceeded, deadlines are never meet, end-goals never reached, and wives always unhappy... it's all worth it though!

    4. Member Vegeta Gti's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 12th, 2003
      Location
      konoha village
      Posts
      17,085
      Vehicles
      1984 GLi 20v, '13 335is, '85 Golf, '10 Ninja
      01-26-2013 06:12 AM #4
      pin 9, orange connector. been working great for me since last June. solid as a rock.

      Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
      :HOMEGROWN MOTORSPORTS:1:4.9 SuaSponte #13Dead Rabbits. Ungluck on IG
      Quote Originally Posted by frechem View Post
      I like my women how I like my whiskey; aged 18 years and mixed up with coke.

    5. Forum Sponsor AL@PagParts.com's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 23rd, 2008
      Location
      NY
      Posts
      2,435
      Vehicles
      07 AUDI 2.0T 07 VW GTI
      01-26-2013 08:45 AM #5
      Coil signal has always worked for me
      Pag Parts
      Turbocharger Systems, OEM Parts / Fabrication
      Garrett / PTE / BW / TiAL / Clutchmasters / Southbend / Brute Con Rods / Wiseco / CP Pistons / Supertech / Ferrea / CatCams / Walbro / EV14 Injectors / Eurodyne Software / Much More... Pag Parts Facebook

    6. Banned
      Join Date
      Jan 16th, 2013
      Posts
      92
      Vehicles
      I own too many MK4's for my own good...
      01-26-2013 09:06 AM #6
      Quote Originally Posted by AL@PagParts.com View Post
      Coil signal has always worked for me

    7. Member Chickenman35's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 28th, 2006
      Location
      West Coast, Canada
      Posts
      2,910
      Vehicles
      1998 Audi A4 QT , 1976 Datsun 280Z ( My Mid-Life Crisis )
      01-26-2013 12:34 PM #7
      Quote Originally Posted by halchka99 View Post
      Many moons ago, it was at the ecu, then it was at the injectors bla bla none of those are accurate signals.

      Has any progress been made?

      Have you tried an MSD Tach Adapter? Model number 8913 should convert the ECU signal to something that an aftermarket Tach will accept. Some Tachs are more sensitive to the signal than others. An MSD Tach adapter should provide a clean and readable signal.

      http://www.msdignition.com/Products/...Ignitions.aspx

      MSD has several different Tach Adapters to solve different problems. Here is the link:

      http://www.msdignition.com/info.aspx...256&taxid2=267
      Last edited by Chickenman35; 01-26-2013 at 12:43 PM.
      "...I recommend books. People who don't know what they're talking about are less likely to write a book about the subject...."

    8. Banner Advertiser pete@integrated's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 1st, 2009
      Location
      Salt Lake City, UT
      Posts
      3,197
      Vehicles
      '92 Gti 20v, '96 M3, '10 Shop Van :)
      01-26-2013 03:32 PM #8
      Cam sensor has a 1 pulse per cylinder output if it's a DBW car- you still need an MSD box if whatever you are running is looking for a high voltage output.

      It's uneven, but you'll never see that in the data as almost all devices have some filtering or capacitance.
      .:IntEngineering.com:. .:Facebook:.

      Check out some cutting edge R&D Work on our blog! IE Behind the scenes Blog!

    9. Moderator groggory's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 21st, 2003
      Location
      Long Beach, CA
      Posts
      11,928
      Vehicles
      2002 VW GTI 1.8 BT
      01-28-2013 02:00 PM #9
      Added to the FAQ under electrical
      My Build
      My FAQ / DIY Thread -- Look here for 90% of the questions you have

      Welcome to the world of racing! Budgets are ALWAYS exceeded, deadlines are never meet, end-goals never reached, and wives always unhappy... it's all worth it though!

    10. Member Vegeta Gti's Avatar
      Join Date
      Feb 12th, 2003
      Location
      konoha village
      Posts
      17,085
      Vehicles
      1984 GLi 20v, '13 335is, '85 Golf, '10 Ninja
      01-28-2013 03:09 PM #10
      if your going to stock cluster, use a tach adapter 8920 MSD


      if your going to an aftermarket liek i did..no need. that's why i pulled it off of the orange connector, it is the most solid signal i have gotten over the years.
      :HOMEGROWN MOTORSPORTS:1:4.9 SuaSponte #13Dead Rabbits. Ungluck on IG
      Quote Originally Posted by frechem View Post
      I like my women how I like my whiskey; aged 18 years and mixed up with coke.

    11. Member l88m22vette's Avatar
      Join Date
      Mar 1st, 2006
      Location
      Chicagoland, IL
      Posts
      13,033
      Vehicles
      2003 TTq coupe, 2001 Forester L
      01-28-2013 09:41 PM #11
      Ok, so now how do I wire in speedo and fuel? Screw cluster problems, no cluster = no problem You could easily fit 2-3 more gauges in the center, at least on a TT...
      Last edited by l88m22vette; 01-28-2013 at 09:57 PM.
      Audi TT mk1 FAQ zero Fuchs given

      Quote Originally Posted by deucestudios View Post
      Portland didn't like the Hellcat. Mr Farrah should have put a bird on it.

    12. Member halchka99's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 18th, 2002
      Location
      Los Angeles
      Posts
      9,403
      Vehicles
      Evo IX MR: 1991 VW GTi 1.8T 20V: Mk6 GLI
      01-28-2013 11:21 PM #12
      Quote Originally Posted by Vegeta Gti View Post
      if your going to stock cluster, use a tach adapter 8920 MSD


      if your going to an aftermarket liek i did..no need. that's why i pulled it off of the orange connector, it is the most solid signal i have gotten over the years.

      ive tried it all including the ecu, but its not a clean signal, tach is jumpy specially at idle. it may just be that my tach needs the msd box like pete mentioned
      For Sale: SEM driver box.

    13. Banner Advertiser pete@integrated's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 1st, 2009
      Location
      Salt Lake City, UT
      Posts
      3,197
      Vehicles
      '92 Gti 20v, '96 M3, '10 Shop Van :)
      01-28-2013 11:33 PM #13
      For an OE mk2 tach you do need the msd 8920 and the "white wire" everyone says to tap does not work- gives jibberish.
      .:IntEngineering.com:. .:Facebook:.

      Check out some cutting edge R&D Work on our blog! IE Behind the scenes Blog!

    14. Member halchka99's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 18th, 2002
      Location
      Los Angeles
      Posts
      9,403
      Vehicles
      Evo IX MR: 1991 VW GTi 1.8T 20V: Mk6 GLI
      01-28-2013 11:49 PM #14
      ive got the mk4 cluster and of course the oem tach works just fine, its the aftermarket tach that isnt playing nice.
      For Sale: SEM driver box.

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •